We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room, great location and free wine .... what more do you want?!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #33 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Huge room, great location and free wine .... what more do you want?!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Palomar DC is very conveniently located on Dupont Circle. The main tourist sites are all within walking distance but if you don't want to walk there is also a metro station very close by and from there you can easily get about the city.
The hotel allows pets which we were concerned about as my husband has a pet hair allergy but we needn't have worried. We were given a huge room on a pet free floor and on the one occasion in our 6 night stay that we were disturbed by barking dogs from the floor above it was dealt with very quickly by the reception staff.
The nightly free wine reception is great as it is a fantastic way of meeting other guests and we met some lovely people during our stay. There are lots of nice eating places within easy walking distance and we'd advise a stroll to Georgetown to visit Thomas Sweets ice cream shop .....yummy!
This was our first experience of a Kimpton hotel and we have to say that everyone we have dealt with has been lovely, from the initial booking team to the staff in the hotel and to Nabeel the Front Office Manager who very quickly responded to the feedback we posted on the hotel site.
We loved our stay so much we are already arranging to go back again next year and we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor overlooking P street and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeandWendy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,783
    1,084
    299
    113
    45
See reviews for
946
1,604
280
1,021
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and celebrated 3 yr anniversary so I called ahead and had champagne and roses put in room.The room was awesome spacious. If you have any special requests talk to Phillip the concierge am amazing hotel employee that will get or give any and all information that you will possibly need in your visit to DC.The only problem was the elevator.Long lines waiting.Hotel did state at check in but was very in convent thank God I was only on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Another great stay at a Kimpton property. We got a good rate for 4th of July weekend and the executive suite was spacious, although a bit dark. The location was excellent--across the street is a fantastic bagel place. The pool was small, but a welcome respite from the hot day. Urbana restaurant had excellent food and tasty cocktails. The staff was friendly, and tried to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Palomar for four nights as a family of four (two adults and two small children). We chose the Palomar because of its convenient location right in Dupont Circle, as well as the pool for our kids. Overall, we found the hotel to be a comfortable and convenient place to stay, and we thought it represented a good hotel value in DC.

The hotel is located five minutes away from the Dupont Circle Metro station, and is conveniently located on a commercial street. There are multiple restaurants, a little grocery store, banks, and chain drug stores all minutes away on foot. I found the neighborhood to be one of the highlights of the hotel.

We had the executive room with the two beds. The room was sufficiently large even for our family of four, with a lot of storage space. It was clean with very modern furniture which was all generally in good shape. The bathroom is average sized, with a combination tub shower. The room may not be memorable, but it definitely is a comfortable, spacious, and clean place to call home.

There’s only one dining option at the hotel, and that’s OK since there’s so many places in the neighborhood. We ate dinner at the Urbana restaurant one night, and it was a fine experience though slightly pricey as you would expect in a hotel restaurant. There’s a pretty good kids menu, and the happy hour special is a pretty good deal if you can get a seat in the bar area.

For the kids, the pool was definitely the highlight of the hotel. Located in a courtyard on the second floor, the heated pool was the perfect place for the kids to play and get active after a day of sightseeing. The hotel also provided a ton of pool toys which made it for a very fun space beyond just paddling around in the water.

A few other pointers.
- Definitely sign up with the Kimpton hotel loyalty program. You get free wi-fi for the stay and a mini-bar credit.
- And yes, the elevators were challenging as many others have stated. We were on the 9th floor (out of 10), so we didn’t find it too terrible, but if you were on one of the middle floors, you definitely will have a more difficult time getting space on the tiny elevator on the way down – especially during peak times.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better while the elevators are being renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoodleRank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms for our family of 6. The views were awesome! The staff was super friendly and helpful. The hotel free happy hour is a treat. Local wines and a handcrafted cocktail were on the house from 5-6 pm every afternoon.
The location was excellent- DuPont Circle.
We are always happy with the Kimpton hotels. We will definitely come back to the Palomar!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CathyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

From the in-house restaurant to the luxe and perfectly appointed rooms to the incredibly welcoming and friendly staff, the Palomar Washington D.C. really stands out even amongst its crowded Kimpton competition in Washington D.C.

Rooms were spacious and perfectly appointed. Very nice toiletries, plenty of space and of course those fantastic Kimpton animal-print robes! The pool was busy with vacationing families when I visited, but the staff had been keeping the towels flowing and when I came out I found an inviting chaise lounge with a towel already rolled up and placed on it waiting for me.

Restaurant is large enough to spread out in. After giving the patio a shot, I let the mosquitos drive me indoors and found a quiet space inside. A great variety of seating options, including large booths and small tables. Food is delicious! My only (minor) gripe is that the mushroom pizza mushroom pieces were a bit too large to be easily eaten in a bit requiring some knife-work.

Highly recommended, one of my new favorites in D.C. Easily matches the Mandarin for customer service and delivers style and comfort while still being super-welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueBear92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I returned to this hotel for the first time since 2010, and while I was pleased with the room size (superior king), I was disappointed in the fact that I was unable to sleep well. Room was located at the back of the hotel, and there was apparently a party out back that was quite loud (we were on the 5th floor). Guest noise from the hallway was also loud and woke me thrice, despite being located at an end of a hallway.

Staff at the desk was friendly and helpful, and they are making an effort to improve by working on the elevators that have received complaints - and the wine happy hour is always nice - but I'm disappointed that I wasn't able to sleep well on what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend away.

Perhaps request a quiet room - if there is one. And skip the restaurant.

Room Tip: Superior kings are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
Green Features: Honestly, I didn't see any evidence of this, but I only stayed one night. Any hotel that uses tiny plastic bottles of shampoo and plastic cups for water in the lobby isn't very environmentally friendly, in my opinion.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_fr0m_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
2,034 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,041 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,610 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
404 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing