We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd return again, for sure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #26 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I'd return again, for sure!”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The good - This hotel stands up very well to some of the better-known hotels in DC. I really liked the "feel" of this hotel - it's slightly modern, but still comfortable and very welcoming. The service seemed more personalized than other hotels I've stayed at while in DC. Perhaps the biggest draw at this hotel is the pool with poolside/patio dining -- very fun, very relaxing.

The bad - Admittedly, this hotel does not have the best rooms in town. The rooms are not huge and they are beginning to show their age (the bed was missing a sconce on the right side of the headboard, for example). I also found the climate controls to be a little difficult to set properly. But my room was quiet (I was far from the elevators and not facing the pool) so I was able to sleep relatively well.

Services - There's free wireless internet, which worked fine, a gym, and turn down service with complementary water bottles in the evening. My room had a coffee maker, iron/ironing board, and a safe. I also enjoyed dinner at the bar, which I preferred to the restaurant for its laid-back atmosphere, and breakfast by the pool.

Location - The hotel is a bit farther from the main sights than other hotels (around 15 mins to the White House), but this was fine for me.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    879
    250
    73
    70
See reviews for
501
770
213
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The outdoor pool was fabulous! Very refreshing after touring the sites and museums all day. Pool staff was very friendly and courteous. Rooms were clean and our room had a view of the pool. Closest metro is .3 miles away. Bring your walking shoes! Make sure you have a safe in your room because some of the rooms don't have them. Complimentary bottled water each evening was great too. I got a king superior room for 129$ a night so for location, amenities and value, I think this place is great. Next door is the Donovan House that has a rooftop pool and loud music. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper - Thomas circle had lots of traffic 24/7!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Washington Plaza Hotel. We are always happy to hear that our guests had a great stay! We’re glad that you appreciated our convenient location, your guest room and our beautiful pool. We are working with the Donovan House on the loud music coming from the rooftop. We strive to recognize all our guests and make sure that they feel like our hotel is a “home away from home”. We hope you have the chance to stay with us again in the near future!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay,

The highlight of the hotel was the swimming pool and it was lovely to cool off after sightseeing in temperatures of 90F,

The hotel has great friendly and helpful staff, check in was really slick,
We found the prices very reasonable for a big city hotel, and the quality of food was excellent.

The rooms were clean and well fitted, slightly small, but for a city hotel totally acceptable, the maids were efficient and provided water bottles in the room every day. The bed was comfortable but could be bigger, however the linen was excellent

The hotel is located not far from the White House, and public transport is close by, including the Metro, which enables visitors to this hotel to travel easily around the city.

Room Tip: rooms over looking the pool have a better view than the rear rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holodocUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights while taking in the sights of DC. We arrived early and was pleasantly surprised to find that they had a room ready so we could check in and start the vacation immediately! The front desk was helpful, but really the shining stars were the bellmen, they held the doors and greeted you with a smile each and every time we came and went. This hotel is about a 12 minute walk to the McPhearson metro stop, even less to a circulator bus stop. The delivery of nightly water bottles was great(even better if they were cold) especially with the heatwave we were having while there. The trolley tours pick up at the Westin across from hotel right on the Thomas Circle, which was convienent. The lights around the circle was the biggest draw back, it takes a little extra time to cross all of the streets of the circle. There is a CVS within walking distance as well, so you don't have to worry if you forget something. The hotel is clean, and the pool is really great, was a nice way to end the day each night. There is even a lifeguard on duty. We never ate at the restaraunt so I can't comment on that. But for the price, the hotel is perfect. We walked everywhere and never felt unsafe in the area at all. I would reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbkb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay. I am thrilled that you had a great experience during your stay. With our great location, beautiful renovated rooms and friendly associates, you are guaranteed to have a memorable experience. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon!

Sincerely,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Nice hotel in good location. Staff is helpful and prices are acceptable. Unfortunately beautiful swimming pool has too much chemicals! Almost poisoning. Coninctivitis you will get for sure. I would come back here for sure but never yse the pool again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominikdytfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience our friendly guest service! However, I certainly apologize that you were not happy with our swimming pool. The pool is maintained by an outside company that complies with the standards required by the DC law. We keep a log of all the chemical readings in the pool area. Next time you visit us, please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally and I can show you the procedures that are in place.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Travelling from New York we found this hotel absolutely perfect. Swimmingpool, good air condition and very good space in our rooms and a very good restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngerStaahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you for posting your comments about our hotel on Trip Advisor. It was great to hear that everything went perfect with your stay. It was a pleasure to serve you here and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We were here 2 nights and enjoyed every second.Nice rooms, very friendly staff and nice pool.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justice010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you for kind review. I am delighted that you had an excellent stay at the Washington Plaza and look forward to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#36 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#59 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Property: Washington Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing