We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Reasonable hotel with outdoor pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #27 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is in Thomas Circle within 1 mile of downtown, Within 1/4 mile or less to great eateries. The rooms were a little tired, but very reasonable for Room with 2 comfy double beds. Service was decent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritacain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,572 - 1,578 of 2,721 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is almost cool. It's a little strange around the edges. You feel like you've walked into the 1960s when you come in the door. Same with your room. They haven't updated at all, which is odd given their nice location. It is close to the action, though. Stay here if your alone or a couple traveling light to DC.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhD_Jacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed here for a convention at the hotel. The room was very comfortable - especially the bedding (the duvet and the sheets were better than a name-brand hotel that sells its bedding!); but the room also looks right into the apartment building next door, within 30 ft. The location is good (close to Metro Station. The pool area is nice but it is on a terrace overlooking Thomas Circle; so traffic noise is severe. The meeting room amenities and the food service were good; but i was annoyed that the free WiFi is available in the lobby, and in the guest rooms, but NOT in the meeting rooms?!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed two nights. Well furnished, modern, quiet rooms. Turn down service at night. Room service was prompt. Great, well priced breakfast buffet. Within walking distance (5 blocks) of the White House and the Mall. Good price for the location and quality of the accommodations. Would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel in DC for 3 nights in June 2013. Hotel was very clean and very well kept.
Beds were comfortable and room was a decent size (we had just come from New York City where our hotel room was tiny!) Two double beds, flat screen TV, in room safe, mini-fridge. We also liked that the tub/shower and toilet were in a separate room from the sink. This just made it easier for the rest of the group to get ready while someone was in the shower.

Our room was also very quiet. We never heard anyone in the hallways. There was outside traffic and noise but it was very minimal.

We also spent one afternoon at the pool. There were only about 4 other people at the pool at that time, so it was very enjoyable and relaxing. Pool was very clean. The only disappointment was there is no hot tub.

This hotel is located approximately 1 mile from the White House and National Mall. If you don't mind the walk, it's very doable. But, don't think that you are "right across the street" from the historic sites. The National Mall is still very large and a lot to walk around in itself. We choose to drive and park near the National Mall and then walk around the monuments/memorials.

Our only issue during our stay was that we had problems getting in and out of the parking garage. Upon check-in at the hotel, we had told the front desk we would be utilizing self park. Therefore, we should have been able to use our room key to swipe in and out of the parking garage (prompting the daily $25 parking charge to our room). Apparently there were problems with the self park machines because they never worked. Each time we attempted to leave the parking garage, one of the valet staff members or a manager had to come over and swipe us out. It was only a minor inconvenience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view. This will not only give you a view of the pool area but also of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srcrmcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just held a professional gathering at the bar. It is large, quiet and had good service and nice food. That was my experience last year as well. The outdoor pool is one of the nicest in DC area, large and pretty, good for a swimmer like me or for kids. Saw the rooms. Not huge, true, but recently renovated and up to date. This hotel is much closer to the White House and Mall than most of the others, and most of the others that are close by are very expensive. I live here and I know them all. I will be recommending this to my friends.

Room Tip: Personally would like to face the pool but the other views would be fine too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank DCtravelin'girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel is about 4 blocks from the Mc Pherson Metro station so it's very convenient. Also it's on the 14th Street Restaurant and theater area so you can walk to some of the best restaurants in the city. The room had a nice size. It was very clean. The beds were very comfortable. Wi-Fi worked perfectly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#50 of 141 in Washington DC
703 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,899 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
386 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 Thomas Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £72 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the fresh new feel of the Washington Plaza. Designed in 1962 by world-famous architect Morris Lapidus, this recently renovated Washington DC hotel near the White House offers an engaging balance of cosmopolitan ambiance and unpretentious hospitality – perfect for international business trips, romantic getaways, and once-in-a-lifetime family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing