We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
333 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great Value & Location!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Hotwire selected this hotel for me since I was in need of a good deal. And it was! It is near other hotels at 3x or more per night. The Washington Plaza offered a spacious, clean and very nice room in a perfect location. It is easy to walk to the White House or the Capital from here. I do not remember taking a cab during my stay. 14th Street and a lot of other neighborhood restaurants are a short walk away as well. I did not have time, but the pool looked big and very nice as well.

Room Tip: It is a habit to request a top floor, but I did not have any problems with a second room floor at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredOH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for the great comments, especially pointing out our value and location. I'm glad to hear that our location helped you find the time to do some exploring and eating at the abundance of downtown DC restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    885
    254
    74
    71
See reviews for
509
778
213
585
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Great hotel not far away from White House. Very helpful and friendly staff. Check-in and check-out was fast. Was able to check in early. Reasonably priced about five blocks from the subway. Complimentary WiFi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous-AV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the Washington Plaza. It was wonderful to read that you found our team helpful and friendly and we were able to accommodate an early check-in. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed at the hotel together with 3 friends during a big conference. The distance to the convention center is great, just a few blocks, and you are also a few blocks from the White House if you have some free time. We selected the hotel because of the location and the price (cheaper than most other hotels during the conference period) and were surprised by the quality. Here are my notes:

Pros:
- Very big rooms
- Clean (don't take it for granted in many hotels...)
- Great big window yet you can make the room completely dark
- Coffee maker with real mugs
- I liked the bathroom toiletries (I'm a woman)
- everybody was very nice, from check in to opening the front door when we arrived each day to the restaurant

And 3 things that I notice very much being a woman that travels much for work:
- very good lightning in the bathroom (for make up)
- Multiple plugs available around the room for phone/ipad/computer.... (at the desk, small tables...)
- Internet worked very well in the room (and it is free throughout the hotel)

We also ate twice in the restaurant downstairs and found the food very nice. Had the club sandwich, burger, crabcake burger, and some seafood fritters that I can't remember the name for. This is very convenient when there is a snow storm outside!

Cons:
- Noisy road. One of my friends with a room to the back of the hotel didn't hear much external noise so maybe keep this in mind if it is a problem for you (not for me)

Overall:
- Excellent value and will certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_cheese_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you so much for the 5-star review and detailed feedback! I am delighted to learn that you had such a great stay at the Washington Plaza during your conference. It sounds like our accommodations and location fit your needs perfectly. I was glad to hear that you took advantage of the food and beverage from the Ten Thomas Restaurant and enjoyed our Chef’s delicious meals! We are looking forward to welcome you back for another conference, or more preferably a leisure getaway.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Washington Plaza is one of the best value full service hotels in the center of Washington DC. We searched for a reasonably priced hotel to accommodate visitors coming to the city for a small conference and the Washington Plaza was the best price we could find. I have stayed in Washington DC many times and at $179 (pre-tax) this was a deal.Rooms are comfortable, service is great and the rooms came with free wifi. There is a very nice bar and lounge area where the homemade chips (crisps) served with a beer were most welcome. The only downside to the hotel is that it's placement on the North side of Thomas Circle puts it is a good 10 minutes walk from the nearest Metro station (McPherson Square) so if you have lots of luggage or a meeting to get to across town you may well end up taking a cab.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grassland88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I’m delighted to hear that you were happy with our accommodations and service. Thank you for recognizing us as a good value. We take pride in providing a comfortable hospitality experience in the heart of Washington, DC. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed here on business in December, 2013. I was in a suite on the 6th floor, and the room was in excellent condition. The suites have a fairly spacious living room with comfy furniture that's in great shape. There's a TV in the living room as well as one in the bedroom, and there are two bathrooms in the room with one being en suite. When the living room doors are closed, the bedroom stays pretty quiet, allowing two people to be on conference calls in the room at once which is a major plus.

The staff is extremely helpful and attentive; best service I've received on any visit to DC in recent memory. The hotel's location is obviously great, right on Thomas Circle, only a couple blocks to the metro.

I didn't eat at the restaurant, but colleagues have and found it quite good. Definitely recommended for business travel, and would probably be great for tourists as well given the proximity to the metro and some great restaurants and bars on 14th st.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Washington Plaza Hotel. I am thrilled to know our hotel and team made such a favorable impression on you. We strive to make our business and leisure guests equally comfortable, and I am pleased you recognized and appreciated both aspects of our hotel. We look forward to your next visit to the Washington Plaza.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A reasonable hotel 5 blocks from the White House so good for the average tourist.
It is situated on a busy roundabout so it can be noisy if you get a room on that side of the building.
Breakfast is a buffet style or to order. The buffet style is good in both standard and price - with a chef available to cook your style of eggs, omelettes etc.
Rooms are a good size as is the bath room and are kept clean and tidy.
Most of the tourist attractions are within walking distance although there is a metro station within a block. If you are going to the Verizon Centre for an event this is also within walking distance

Room Tip: make sure your room is not on Thomas circle side of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinDCwmbran_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your honest review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and the breakfast from the Ten Thomas Restaurant. I see that you experienced some issues with outside noise, and I apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. We are located in a central area in a very active city. However, it is very important to us that you are comfortable during your stay, and perhaps during your next visit we can find a room better suited to your needs. Your feedback is much appreciated and we hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I stayed for five nights on our sightseeing trip from Scotland the Washington Plaza was an excellent base for our stay . The staff were very helpful and keen to help . Value for money was great . We would certainly stay there again if we are lucky enough to return to this great city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front . Ours had no view but we were out ALL day
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you so much for the 5-star review! I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your trip to Washington, DC. It’s wonderful to hear that our hotel and team made such a favorable impression on you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,607 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,777 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
658 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Property: Washington Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing