We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost There”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #27 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel was ok. Price was good especially for dc. When you walk in you see a nice lobby and eatery. It seems as if the hotel is in the middle of a major renovation. Customer service excellent from the time I stepped foot on the property to the time I checked out. However, entire hotel looks unfinished. Old1980's ceiling tile at front desk but in an updated modern decor lobby. Rooms: Plush beds and updated modern decor but again half done renovations. You see old school popcorn ceilings. Room and Bathroom was clean. Balcony was ok. View was great. Room service very fast. They had a person deliver ice and bottled water to each room that evening. I liked the hotel for the price and location. If your into aesthetics, I have mixed emotions. I think operations dept need to rethink where to cut corners for cost purposes but the hotel has potential to be so much more.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanaMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I appreciate that you recognized us as a good value and location. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,385 - 1,391 of 2,673 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel during our recent trip to Washington from Queensland. All facilities are great and I was thoroughly spoilt by the staff when they found it was my birthday - special thanks to Stephen, Front desk staff and Sade. We had a yummy evening meal in the hotel restaurant (mussels are to die for). Hotel is located in a very central spot. We hope to return to Washington one day and will most certainly be choosing the Washington Plaza as our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raewinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for the 5-star review! I am delighted to hear you had such a great experience at our hotel and glad you enjoyed the delicious meals from Ten Thomas Restaurant. I’m also proud to know our team made your trip so memorable. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our colleagues and the excellent service they provide. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Washington, DC!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This was our 3rd stay...1997--2013. Each time the hotel delivered excellent services for very reasonable prices. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful...we cannot imagine staying anywhere else in D.C. We have recommended it to several family members and they are SO HAPPY! What else can you say? Mampefrey

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. I am so pleased to know that our team and accommodations keep you returning to our hotel each time you are in Washington, DC. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located, walking distance from all major attractions in Washington; rooms are clean and even though they are small, you will be comfortable. We had a balcony view and that didn't seem to up the charges, can't complain about the price either!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Marianita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m delighted that you enjoyed our central location and you found your room clean and comfortable. I also appreciate that you recognized us as a good value. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed for one night on Dec.21st.They have good location White House is only 1km and US Capitol 2km away so if you do not want to drive still you can go all places by walking.They have good size bed and room with all amenities except Micro.But in 5 minutes walk you can find Dunkin Donuts,Au Bon Pain which is famous for different kind of Bagel.Even CVS farmacy is also very close to this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Washington Plaza and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased to see that the location of the hotel suited your visit to Washington, DC and our hotel rooms and amenities were to your liking. When you return, please don’t hesitate to let us know what we can strive to improve upon to better serve you and our other guests.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. It's in a good location about 10 minutes walk to the White House. Other attractions are easy to reach on foot too. The Capitol Building is about an hour's walk away, as is Arlington Cemetery. There is a 24 hour CVS pharmacy/store across the road and a Whole Foods supermarket three blocks away, although I didn't like walking in this part of town due to the number of homeless there. The staff are helpful and friendly. There's an evening service which leaves bottled water, ice, closes the curtains and puts a light on, which is a nice touch. Morning papers are provided free, as are toiletries. The room was average size, and equipped with iron, ironing board, hairdryer and fridge, plus TV. I had a lovely view of Thomas Circle but the road can be noisy, with lots of fire trucks / sirens. I also found the fridge was noisy in the night. The heating is fully controllable, but it's a dry heat which made my nose bleed. They offer a free luggage room too and overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzyDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm so pleased to see that you enjoyed our fantastic location and the ease of walking to all the popular city attractions. I am glad you found our team helpful and friendly as we strive to make every effort to ensure the satisfaction of all our guests. On behalf of our team, we look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel upon your return to Washington, DC.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I have been 3 nights 19-22 Dec.
Everything was good. A young lady in reception when I check in 8pm 19 Dc. was very kind and friendly ,I appreciate her.
A little noisy for party 21Dec night
Everything was good.

Room Tip: Look first room some are acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sorena2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for posting your comments on your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. I’m glad to hear that everything went well with your stay and you found our Front Desk team kind and friendly. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#49 of 142 in Washington DC
685 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#17 of 142 in Washington DC
357 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 Thomas Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £80 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the fresh new feel of the Washington Plaza. Designed in 1962 by world-famous architect Morris Lapidus, this recently renovated Washington DC hotel near the White House offers an engaging balance of cosmopolitan ambiance and unpretentious hospitality – perfect for international business trips, romantic getaways, and once-in-a-lifetime family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing