We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great staff and location”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here for one week for work in January after getting a deal through Hotwire. Decent hotel, really great location not far from the metro (10-15 min walk to Union). The people who work here are very friendly and approachable (it was nice to be greeted arriving back to the hotel), and I was able to check in slightly early. Beds are very comfy, the bathroom is clean, and each room has fridge, TV, desk, coffee maker. Bottled water was brought to the room each day. It was nice to have the choice of heating or cooling in the room.

The restaurant has a relaxed ambience, and simple but tasty menu (one thing I noted was that the salads were very well dressed). When I checked in I also received a voucher for a free glass of wine (and they have happy hour from 4-7pm). However, one evening I ordered the goat cheese tart, but when it arrived it was actually a slice of toast with all the toppings (?). I guess they ran out of pastry but it would have been nice to be told about this when I ordered (I did notice that I was charged less for the item).

One day there was an issue with the Wi-Fi (it was down for half a day), and it turned out to be a frozen pipe that burst (which actually disabled some elevators too). Within an hour there was a letter from the manager under the door explaining the situation, along with a $25 voucher to use at the restaurant!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for staying at the Washington Plaza and for sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate when guests take the time to provide feedback about their experience at our hotel. It was great to read you found our team friendly and approachable, your guestroom clean and well-appointed and the beds comfortable. I apologize for any inconveniences you experienced due to the broken water pipe. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    885
    254
    74
    71
See reviews for
509
778
213
585
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Great Stay,Caring and well informed Staff ,Excellent Food. Walking distance to all the attractions. I was greeted every time i walked through the lobby and it made me feel very special. We stayed here for the first time and will definately return on our next trip to DC.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the circle have a great view. I was in a room with a balcony and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for the 5-star review! I’m so pleased to know we made such a favorable first impression on you and that you would definitely return on your next trip to Washington, DC. We look forward to your next visit so that you may enjoy another stay with us.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with wife and 3 kids. Shame the pool isn't open yet. Room was great as was the service.
Breakfast was awesome. The location is perfect for doing the tourist thing. The tv and channel selection was par or better. Wi Fi was easy to access and had good signal strength. It was nice to have choice of heating & cooling this time of year.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrabbyDaddy423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for providing such wonderful feedback on your recent stay at our property. I am glad you enjoyed your room and found our location perfect for your needs. I’m delighted to learn that you enjoyed the breakfast from the Ten Thomas Restaurant. It may interest you to know that starting April 6, our Ten Thomas Restaurant is serving brunch every Sunday from 11:00am-3:00pm. Perhaps during your next stay you can try some of our chef’s delicious brunch items. Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at the Washington Plaza this weekend. Our Room was very comfortable, spacious, clean, and nicely appointed. The hotel staff was extremely friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The best part about the hotel is it's location: about a five minute walk to the metro stations, and a short taxi ride to the various attraction, museums and monuments. The hotel is located in the middle of plenty of restaurants in a range of prices. The restaurant at the hotel is also really nice and decently priced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Washington Plaza and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased to see that the location of the hotel suited your visit to our beautiful city. I appreciate your kind comments regarding the friendliness of our team as we pride ourselves on providing positive and memorable guest experiences. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Baki, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I was staying with them from 15th-19th of March 2014.

Got bitten on the first night and asked to change the room. They gave me a much better room.

Then again bites. I am asking to clean all clothes and change the room again. The hotel manager Christine rejected saying 'I was somewhere else'. The bites are clearly fresh.

I understand the bugs can come from other guests.

But the reaction of the hotel to this case - that is something I believe they can control.

Check the photos.

Thanks!

Elchin Abdullayev,
17.03.2014

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are better. Ask for them. Some of them have balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Elchin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Recently stayed here for a girls' weekend and had an absolute blast! From the helpful & friendly hotel staff to Washington Plaza's spot on location to everything, it put the cherry on top to our already great weekend. Rooms are very clean & beds are very comfortable. Park can be valeted or self, reasonable price per night. Chinatown is couple blocks away. We were able to walk to everything, but the metro is also a close option. Didn't experience the breakfast, but the bar downstairs was great. Wish it was warmer out so we could have enjoyed the outside patio/pool, maybe next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EFouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Washington Plaza and for taking the time to share your experience. It sounds like you had a wonderful time during your stay and I couldn’t be happier to hear it. I am delighted you were so impressed with our accommodations and our friendly team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, hopefully this summer poolside at the Washington Plaza Hotel! The pool will open on Saturday, May 17th and will remain open until Sunday, September 7th.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Daughter lives nearby .Very convenient to many restraurants. Staff great!! Although rooms are small they are clean and recentally updated.Nice parking,,, make sure that they are aware of you wanting to park there so it can be added to your key it was kind of confusing to us at first!!! Can't wait until nice outdoor pool opens!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharman h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for the 5-star review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and found our team great. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, hopefully this summer poolside at the Washington Plaza Hotel! The pool will open on Saturday, May 17th and will remain open until Sunday, September 7th.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,607 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,777 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
657 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Property: Washington Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing