We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mid range hotel in washington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights whilst visiting washington.The experience was a good one and staff were pleasant throughout our stay.It was a good price for washington it is walkable to the centre although it is about 10 minutes to the nearest metro station.
The free wi fi worked well throughout our stay. I would stay here again if visiting Washington.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chellisa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We're glad that you found our hotel convenient for your needs, and that your accommodations were satisfactory. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,399 - 1,405 of 2,742 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is an older hotel that has had some recent upgrades. The common areas have been spiffed up, and my room was modern, large, clean, comfortable bed. Its location is "OK"--a few blocks from Metro, sights etc, so not bad, but not the greatest either. 14th street north of the hotel has a number of good restaurants, also a Whole Foods if you want to shop, get takeout etc. Fitness center is in the basement, basic but large, bright. While they've done a good job renovating, a number of small things went wrong--in-room coffee maker didn't work, business center printers didnt work, iron didn't work. So overall, I'd stay here again, but they need to fix the little things.

PS-looks like a nice outdoor pool (closed during my stay).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for your honest review. It was great to learn that overall, you were pleased with your accommodations and services provided. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you due to the coffee maker and iron not working in your guestroom. Please know that we did address your concerns with our Engineering Department and our Executive Housekeeper. It is encouraging to hear that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed here for a night when I visited America. Which I regret, we should have stayed longer!
We were very surprised with the room and the service for they were only rated 3.5 at that time.
The room was spacious and the bed was really comfortable. The pillows were heaven too!
The front desk was very helpful, they have us a map and circled all the attractions near by.
The hotel is in the middle of the attractions, its very convenient!
We did however get lost getting there, the CAB driver took us to the incorrect place, our 15mins ride took about an hour because he kept going around the whole city!
BUT, all that was forgotten when we arrived in our room. Its very modern as well, which is great!
Highly recommend staying here if you are travelling from overseas. I know i would come back here again :)

Room Tip: Cant remember our room number but ask for a high level room with a pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJnAlex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for your recent stay at the Washington Plaza Hotel and your praise of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that our accommodations, location, and service all exceeded your expectations. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is average, service is average, rooms are small. Location you will probably need taxis everywhere you go unless you are very young. The biggest frustration so far is being sold as quality, complimentary WiFi? However, it will only WORK in your room? They disable your password when you are in the on premises conference rooms and try to double sell it to conference organisers? An obvious double dip... as I sit here with my disconnected wifu they inform me to just go to my room to access WiFi service lol. I would not stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terraserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here for one week for work in January after getting a deal through Hotwire. Decent hotel, really great location not far from the metro (10-15 min walk to Union). The people who work here are very friendly and approachable (it was nice to be greeted arriving back to the hotel), and I was able to check in slightly early. Beds are very comfy, the bathroom is clean, and each room has fridge, TV, desk, coffee maker. Bottled water was brought to the room each day. It was nice to have the choice of heating or cooling in the room.

The restaurant has a relaxed ambience, and simple but tasty menu (one thing I noted was that the salads were very well dressed). When I checked in I also received a voucher for a free glass of wine (and they have happy hour from 4-7pm). However, one evening I ordered the goat cheese tart, but when it arrived it was actually a slice of toast with all the toppings (?). I guess they ran out of pastry but it would have been nice to be told about this when I ordered (I did notice that I was charged less for the item).

One day there was an issue with the Wi-Fi (it was down for half a day), and it turned out to be a frozen pipe that burst (which actually disabled some elevators too). Within an hour there was a letter from the manager under the door explaining the situation, along with a $25 voucher to use at the restaurant!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for staying at the Washington Plaza and for sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate when guests take the time to provide feedback about their experience at our hotel. It was great to read you found our team friendly and approachable, your guestroom clean and well-appointed and the beds comfortable. I apologize for any inconveniences you experienced due to the broken water pipe. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Great Stay,Caring and well informed Staff ,Excellent Food. Walking distance to all the attractions. I was greeted every time i walked through the lobby and it made me feel very special. We stayed here for the first time and will definately return on our next trip to DC.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the circle have a great view. I was in a room with a balcony and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for the 5-star review! I’m so pleased to know we made such a favorable first impression on you and that you would definitely return on your next trip to Washington, DC. We look forward to your next visit so that you may enjoy another stay with us.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with wife and 3 kids. Shame the pool isn't open yet. Room was great as was the service.
Breakfast was awesome. The location is perfect for doing the tourist thing. The tv and channel selection was par or better. Wi Fi was easy to access and had good signal strength. It was nice to have choice of heating & cooling this time of year.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrabbyDaddy423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for providing such wonderful feedback on your recent stay at our property. I am glad you enjoyed your room and found our location perfect for your needs. I’m delighted to learn that you enjoyed the breakfast from the Ten Thomas Restaurant. It may interest you to know that starting April 6, our Ten Thomas Restaurant is serving brunch every Sunday from 11:00am-3:00pm. Perhaps during your next stay you can try some of our chef’s delicious brunch items. Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
1,589 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,726 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,917 reviews
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 Thomas Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £70 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the fresh new feel of the Washington Plaza. Designed in 1962 by world-famous architect Morris Lapidus, this recently renovated Washington DC hotel near the White House offers an engaging balance of cosmopolitan ambiance and unpretentious hospitality – perfect for international business trips, romantic getaways, and once-in-a-lifetime family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing