We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great brunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #27 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

So, my review is not for the hotel rooms, but for the restaurant. I went to their brunch (a new thing for them) on March 30th, and it was great. I love the idea of doing a mix of buffet and passed food items. The food was tasty. The dessert buffet for the lunch was amazing - especially the panna cotta and the doughnut holes. Oh my goodness, those homemade doughnut holes - I could make a meal on those alone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJ0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your great comments regarding our new Sunday Brunch Buffet that recently debuted at 10 Thomas Restaurant. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great experience and glad you enjoyed our Chef’s delicious items. I must agree that the dessert buffet is amazing. My personal favorite is the crepe station. We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    868
    242
    73
    70
See reviews for
495
753
210
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, PA
Level Contributor
203 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I didn't run into the problems other reviewers did at the Plaza. Room was nicely updated, large and clean. Bed was super comfy and my room was perfectly quiet. AC worked fine too. My only complaint was the internet connection was very slow later in the evening (google maps wouldn't even load). The hotel is in a decent location - about a 15 minute walk from the mall - I was lucky enough to be there for the cherry blossoms. Driving in and out was pretty convenient too - although not the cherry blossom traffic. Still prefer my other go-to hotel in DC (Hilton Garden around H street), but if the price was right, I'd stay in the Plaza again and would definitely recommend it to colleagues.

Room Tip: I was on the 9th floor, not facing the pool and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frieda-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. I’m glad that you found our hotel convenient for your needs, and that your accommodations were satisfactory. I apologize for the slow WiFi connection during your stay. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed 2 days for the Cherry Blossom, which I highly recommend. The staff were very friendly, never meet a mean or rude person. Our room was nice and clean, but the noise of sirens were unreal. Our last night some people decided to party on balcony below or above us until the wee morning, which was very unpleasant. Informed the front desk upon leaving that we should have taken our pillows and blanket out to the front sidewalk because of the noise that's where we thought we were sleeping. She gave us her business card and apologized for our stay and stated she would upgrade up the next time. I will try this hotel one more time just because of the staff. They really made you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbirdbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Washington Plaza Hotel. I am pleased to hear you were so impressed with our friendly team. My apologies for the neighboring noise you experienced. As with most busy hotels, noise disturbance from other guests can cause problems. It is rewarding to know our Front Desk team tried to make it up to you before you departed. We look forward to your return visit!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
367 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Arrived to find we had been upgraded to a king room-the room was huge. They left water each day.
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.The Metro is a 10-12 min. walk, but there were many close restaurants. The internet worked well and was free. You can conveniently self- park in the basement for $25 a day(there is NO free parking in DC). Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kagatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I’m delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found our team extremely friendly and helpful. It’s great to know that they were able to give you a complimentary upgrade to a King room. We are all looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Was staying in this hotel in december 2013 just few days before Christmas. It was a business trip. Had a good rest after long flight from London. Rooms are bright and clean. I loved the bathroom and wardrobe. Very comfortable stay. Business Centre is always opened and you can find wifi for free which is rare for other cities in US. Breakfast was delicious. Location is perfect to reach everything you came for. Shop 24 hours downstairs where you can find anything you need (medicine, food, drinks, make up, sim card). Felt upset to leave the hotel after 2 nights of my stay. Staff is very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for the 5-star review! I’m delighted to hear you had such a comfortable stay at our property. I’m glad that you enjoyed our convenient location and the breakfast from 10 Thomas Restaurant. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Maybe we'd been spoiled having come from The Sheraton in Chicago but this hotel was a bit lacking.
On arrival my work colleague was told he had no room reserved and that he should call his travel agent (it was 23h in the UK).
Another staff member heard and sorted this for us.
Previous reviews have said how noisy the rooms are and were right. Deafening air-con. I can sleep through most things but not that! I had to crank the window open and was woken by the sirens instead!
My bed was squeaky, every time I rolled over it's like a violin tuned up and my coffee maker didn't work.
The swimming pool was a building site, but, as a work colleague (from DC) pointed out, this hotel is known locally as not being renovated for a long time.
Great location however, the bars, restaurants and cafés just down from us on 14th were amazing, try Church Key if you like your real ales!
In my opinion, the hotel has a funny atmosphere. The staff are bordering on rude but not in a malicious way, more of a lack of training way.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank antoinetteforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you weren’t delighted with our property. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

What a pleasant surprise! Honestly I was a bit apprehensive booking a rez here as I remember the state of the property years and years ago. The hotel was convenient to where I needed to be, so I took a chance. What a treat to self park underneath and walk wherever. Check-in was easy and uncomplicated as was checkout.

I've been a fan of the architect (Morris Lapidus) and stayed at many other hotels he designed. The WP has been restored to a hip, modern - dare I say - swanky hotel, with a Mad Men vibe. My room was uber clean and overlooked the pool and Thomas Circle. The room was smallish, but if you're gonna stay in your room, that's your problem. The bed was comfy with decent linens and good HVAC. Here's a little touch that made me smile - 2 packs of caffeinated coffee in the room. Even 5 star hotels give you only one! Plenty of coffee and a strong hot shower make me happy for the day.

So yes, I'll be returning.

Room Tip: Ask to face the circle. Lower floors have small balconies. Avoid rooms beside the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucky1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Washington Plaza. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like our accommodations and service all exceeded your expectations and I couldn’t be happier to hear it! We look forward to welcome you back to our property in the near future!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#59 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Property: Washington Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing