We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to DCs main attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Clean room, friendly service, reasonable parking fees, convenient location, quiet room, rates very reasonable, comfortable bed.
The Plaza is a few blocks from the Whire House. Many restaurants within 10 min walk (Georgia Brown, Churchkey, Casa Luca, The Pig).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I appreciate all the compliments, direct and to the point. We look forward to your next visit to Washington, DC and the Washington Plaza Hotel!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,331 - 1,337 of 2,691 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

My friends and I were looking for a hotel in DC during April. We didn't realize how hard it is to find a nice hotel during Cherry Blossom season! We booked our rooms and we pleasantly surprised! I have been a hotelier for over ten years, so you can imagine how critical and picky I can be when staying at any hotel. Many hotels now a days lack the customer service and staff presence that make guest feel so welcome. The bell staff welcomed us before we reached the door and even opened our doors and helped us with our luggage. The front desk staff were Amazing! You rarely see many people greeting and or behind the desk greeting guests. As many times as we entered and left the hotel we were greeted with a warm hello every time! The rooms were large, clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable!!! But, my absolute favorite part of out stay was their hidden gem of a restaurant. We ended up eating there almost every night! Their executive chef Luca De Marchis, who opened the Padella Restaurant at The Westin in Dulles, did amazing job. He came out to greet our party and explained the authentic Northern Italian dishes! They even hand make their pasta everyday! Truly awesome meal! And to top it all off we went to their brand new Sunday Brunch!!! Hello D.C., you should be here every Sunday! The pricing is incredible and there is so much good! You get bottomless mimosas and bloody Mary's ! They have so many options. Everything from kale and cashew salad, smoked salmon, smoked trout, Italian sausage and polenta, hummus, artichoke dip, an insane omelette station, pork belly, beef, roasted bone marrow, chicken, ham, and pork and my favorite the fresh pasta bar. They even have passed plates of beignets, mini pancakes, and yummy mini Reuben sandwiches. Really awesome find!!! And an excellent example for a passionate and customer oriented hotel! Seriously you need to try their brunch!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you so much for such a glowing review of our hotel. I’m delighted to know you were so impressed with our accommodations and our team. I greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding our delicious Sunday Brunch Buffet that recently debuted at 10 Thomas Restaurant. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We are very pleased with the staff and property of this hotel! We stayed at the Four Season's in STL for our wedding night and the staff/service was just as strong here at the Plaza! We will come back again! Great location for seeing all the DC sights and there is a capital bike-share station right in front of the hotel which makes it easy to get around!!!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong! Worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cutcomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to start your honeymoon at the Washington Plaza and for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. I am delighted to hear that you were so pleased with our guest service and location. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was my third stay at this hotel; perhaps the best value for money in the area. Location is convenient, room and bathroom very clean and quite spacious, very comfortable bed, wifi was fast, staff was ok, some street noise did not bother me. I had lunch and dinner a couple of times and it was fine, not great variety for breakfast though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you very much for the 5-star review! I was pleased to read that our convenient location and comfortable and clean accommodations keep you returning to our hotel. We look forward to your next visit so that you may enjoy another stay with us.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a older hotel so if you're ok with little things like a sink in the bedroom and a few stains on frayed carpet this works. It worked fine for me. Bed was comfortable. Water was hot. Last minute upcharge from a king to a double at $30/night was disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moeniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. My apologies for any inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. I was glad, however, that you found the bed comfortable and hopefully you were able to have a rejuvenating sleep. While I am sorry to hear not everything was to your liking, I sincerely hope you return to the Washington Plaza Hotel in the future so that we may improve upon your impression of our hotel.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a great hotel to stay at while visiting DC. We visited for the weekend (3 nights) as a couple. The hotel staff are friendly. The room was great - nice modern look, nice size HD TV, very large bathroom (ours seemed to be the exception though), and a great view of the Thomas circle. Five stars for pillow quality - I don't have pillows that good at home. It is about 10 minutes to the white house and 15 to the mall. Everything else is close - within 30 minutes walking distance. Subway is close as well (2 min walk) and the subway lines are fairly developed. Georgetown is about 40 minutes away walking distance and the walk is nice. There are a couple of cafes nearby, including one serving crepes, and A Pon Pain, all of which are great breakfast places. Parking is $25 for self-park, which we used, and a bit more for valet. Self-park is very convenient - like any underground garage. The garage itself is well lit and in a good condition. The pool outside was under construction in early April 2014. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Thomas Circle for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petochok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great stay at our hotel and our rooms and amenities were to your liking. It's so important to us that you are comfortable while staying with us. It was a pleasure to have as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Clean room. Comfortable bed. Local shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Short cab ride to the Verizon Center if your attending an event there. Enjoyed the balcony. Not many hotels have them any more unless you're on the beach.

Room Tip: King bed with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am delighted to read that our location was the perfect spot to compliment your travels to Washington, DC. I’m glad your enjoyed the balcony. We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#48 of 142 in Washington DC
694 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#18 of 142 in Washington DC
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
1,611 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
3,285 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 Thomas Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £74 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the fresh new feel of the Washington Plaza. Designed in 1962 by world-famous architect Morris Lapidus, this recently renovated Washington DC hotel near the White House offers an engaging balance of cosmopolitan ambiance and unpretentious hospitality – perfect for international business trips, romantic getaways, and once-in-a-lifetime family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing