We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #60 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here overnight after a company party. The first room we were given faced the interior of the hotel, was dark, and was next to the vents on the top floor. I called the guest services line and asked to be changed to a quieter room. They were extremely polite and accommodated my request. The bellhop who guided me to the next room was also very nice. Our new room was smaller but had a great view and was quiet. The furniture is a little worn but the bathroom is upgraded with nice features. The only complaint was that it needs to be recaulked or scrub the tile a little more. The hotel common areas are beautiful and was very nicely decorated for the holidays. Also appreciated the hot cider in the lobby upon check-in and coffee service in the morning. Location of hotel is also very convenient and walkable to many places.

Room Tip: They may offer you a room on the top floor saying they have few rooms with a good view. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gointochile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    842
    341
    143
    91
See reviews for
547
580
116
868
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scoopest2
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Wife and I just stayed for a weekend. Terrific hotel from top to bottom. Check in procedure was very smooth. Our room was well appointed and we did not feel it was outdated in the least. Bathroom was clean and well-lit. Bed was comfortable -- you may want to use the extra blanket in the closet though if you are a person that gets cold easily.

Lobby is well appointed and clean. Front desk and concierge personnel were friendly and very helpful. They put out free tea and coffee each morning and free cookies at night as well for a late night snack.

Don't sleep on the restaurant (Edgar) attached to the hotel - we got in late and just decided to eat there for dinner the first night. Nothing fancy, but the food was very, very good. Lively scene at the bar on both weekend nights. They do a breakfast buffet as well, but we didn't try it.

Can't really beat the location of this place in DC. One block away from Farragut North metro (Red Line), and walking distance to the White House/Ellipse, as well as the Spy Museum and downtown area. Everything else is a short Metro or Cab ride away. In nicer weather, the Mall would be a very nice walk of a mile or so.

One note: valet parking was very expensive, and it takes a little while to get your car back as they park it well offsite.

Overall, though, we really liked it and would gladly stay again. It's perfect for a weekend excursion or a couple nights on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoopest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This place has a GREAT location, with many sites so close! The hotel itself is beautiful, too. The staff is very professional and helpful. I definitely would recommend staying here if you're coming into D.C.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kristy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed at property for a business meeting. Arrived and was greeted by helpful folks curbside and very pleasant and efficent front desk associate. Lobby and main hall were all decked out for the holiday. Very well done. I was booked into "executive" room due to my Marriott status. Room was on 9th floor. It was large and well appointed. The gym was large and well equiped.

Here comes the down hill part...

- While spacious the room furnishings were dated and worn. The bedding was old and stained, and did not really fit on the bed. As soon as I layed down the sheets came undone. The comforter was flat and not up to the standards you typically find in a Marriott property. The bed was ok - but surely not comfortable.

- There was no water in the room - unusual for a Marriott property. I called down to ask for a few bottles of water to be sent up - they never arrived.

- I went to make a cup of coffee only to realize that there were no cups in the room and there was a used coffee pod left in the coffee maker (wonder how long it was there?!?).

- The bathroom fixtures were ok - dated - but light fixtures were rusting and there was mold in the shower grout.

- Heater was old and noisy.

- Windows must be vey old because even 9 floos up the street noise was quite noticable.

- Asked and was granted a late (1:30) checkout. However, the door lock system apparently is automatic and locks you out of the room anyway. Not sure what the point of requesting a late checkout if they can't update key card system.

Ok, so none of these issues were overly troubling, but in the aggregate, surprising for a hotel that brands itself as an upscale property. I appeciate its a historic property but expected better. The rooms require a renovation and the houskeeping services need to be improved.

I would not rush back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mharad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from staying in DC for 4 nights. Stayed at the Mayflower Renaissance. This was my second stay at this hotel. Arrived at check in 4 hours early. I was expecting to just leave luggage with the bell hop, but the desk made sure I had a room to go to. It was a cold and rainy day and the kindness shown at the front desk was greatly appreciated. Service staff made sure my wife and I had enough in room coffee packets and bottled water. The room was extremely spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. I look forward to staying here again in the future.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank supt5225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Booked reservations for Tea at the Mayflower which we had done several times over the last few years. Baby Shower for a dear friend - so embarrassing that they "remodeled" and eliminated the Tea Room. Did anyone bother to mention that when I booked the reservation? NO! We had "TEA?" in the room behind the bar. Really? I was mortified as guest were lead through the bar into the back room. No flowers, no harpist, NO ELEGANCE!!! Fine, you don't want to do Tea anymore- but be fair and let your customers know! Typical marriott service- go to the RITZ!



!!! Typical marriott customer service. Go to the RITZ!

Room Tip: stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mfriend211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joecardone, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We are disappointed to read about your experience at Edgar’s in The Mayflower Renaissance Hotel. The hotel has received positive feedback from the majority of our guests. We regret that our upgrades to our Edgar Bar and Kitchen did not meet your expectations. We understand that the new room is a different experience from what you had prior. We have taken your feedback to heart, and are working on plans to keep our very loyal guests informed.

Since you have taken the time to write about your experience, please reach out to me so we may personally discuss your experience. I can be reached at joe.cardone@renaissancehotels.com. Once again, thank you so much for your feedback we look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Nice hotel, the lobby looks posh! room is small but big enough as I was travelling alone. Not very sound proof so could hear neighbour next door going in and out. If you don't mind walking a little bit, most of the places of interest are within reach. The subway station is just a stone throw away. Got sick of the breakfast after 4 days, the spread was very limited. Maybe I am too used to the big spread of international bfast buffets at Asian hotels :)

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the lower floor esp 2nd level where the meeting rooms are located. Noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinusLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,143 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#106 of 141 in Washington DC
43 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing