We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #60 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel is in a really great location, convenient to all the sites and metro. The lobby was really quite beautiful. I enjoyed having a bite to eat in Edgar's and talking to some of the regulars. This hotel has a lot of neat history! The room is pretty average, but I did have an amazing nights sleep. The bed was comfortable, lots of pillows and quiet! The ballrooms are absolutely stunning as well - some of the nicest I've ever seen.

Room Tip: My room faced the interior (no view), but it was quiet - no road noise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRoad2Nowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    825
    332
    140
    90
See reviews for
538
559
112
844
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel was a wonderful conference site. It was very close to two metro stations for guests who chose to stay elsewhere.

The food and beverage service was great. The staff was helpful and not intrusive. all of the rooms were clean and beautifully outfitted.

I would love to visit this location again as a guest or a conference attendee.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCCU_MPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
166 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Really a fine place to stay in walking distance to terrific restaurants, museums, and shops. We had an enormous and well-appointed room. Service was good except for loud conversations in the hall among staff (daytime) and too small a restaurant to serve the conference crowd and regular guests. 8th floor lounge was wonderful for late checkouts.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was my first stay at the Mayflower Renaissance, and it was wonderful. My room was large, nicely furnished (although maybe the upholstered chairs could benefit from a re-furb soon), quiet, and clean. The lobby and public areas are gorgeous and historic. On my first night, I arrived after a long flight, with a 3 hour delay sitting in a plane on the tarmac, feeling especially tired and frazzled. Everyone I encountered, from the doorman, registration desk, and restaurant folks, were just so welcoming and friendly, I was feeling better in no time.
Very comfortable bedding and linens, fluffy towels, aveda bathroom amenities, plenty of coffee/tea in room, and a small empty mini bar frig that was perfectly cold. I could easily switch from A/C to heat in the room, and the windows actually could be opened, which I love. Lots of elevators and they were fast. Despite many meetings going on in the public areas, I never had to wait more that a few seconds for one. My room was on the third floor, but I heard minimal noise from outside (other than the occasional sirens). I am going back to DC in a few weeks, and I actually changed my reservations from another hotel to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAYCEE19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed at the Mayflower for a conference in the city and it was a great choice. The room was very spacious and clean (stayed at the club floor, very convenient) the location was a plus, close to the metro and a short walk to nice restaurants in dupont circle. Special thanks to Kelly, the nice Brazilian girl who checked me and my wife in and the following day helped us getting around the city. We would definitely stay at the Mayflower again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukke121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Great location for exploring DC. Most things are walkable. Good selection of restaurants nearby. Concierge very helpful and can book most things for you ahead. Convenient for metro and city tour buses leave from outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Clean but bed a bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Justy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I was delighted to return to DC after being away a year and planned to stay at one of my old favorites, the Mayflower. Unfortunately, it is not the same as it used to be. The rooms are still lovely and clean, and the effect of the grand lobby is still breathtaking. But the old amenities that made it world class are lacking. The biggest issue is the lovely Promenade Restaurant has now been turned into meeting space/"ballroom." This leaves the Edgar Bar as the sole restaurant in the hotel. It is inadequate and totally without charm, dishing out the usual "Marriott food" of average burgers and French fries and very boring flatbread pizza, served less than warm. Worse, I was unable to find a quiet table for myself or for a party of two on three occasions during my 4 day stay. Just about every table in the restaurant is in or very near the bar, televisions, etc. There is a back room that is quiet but it was closed/unavailable the whole time I was staying at the hotel - apparently the staff does not like to serve in the back (quieter) rooms. If you want a quiet meal, you will want to stay in your room and order room service from a not very creative menu.

The staff complained to me about their work hours, and the hotel ran out of clean linens during my stay (they let the guests know this by putting a flyer announcing the linen shortage under the doors of all the guest rooms).

You might want to stay at the Mayflower for the grand lobby and lovely room, but don't expect an exceptional world -class experience. Now it is just a plain old Marriott "Courtyard," albeit with a stylish wrapper.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJEBDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We appreciate your review of The Mayflower Renaissance and apologize that several aspects of your stay fell short of your expectations. All of your concerns will be shared with our management team as we are always working to enhance our facility. If you would like to further discuss your stay, I can be reached at darcy.roberts@renaissancehotels.com

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Darcy Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#108 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-4301
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing