We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #61 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a weekend when he was in DC for business. The hotel is in a good location, very close to Dupont Circle and very close to the DC metro. The hotel building is old (in a good, vintage way : )) and has a lot of history associated with it. The interior of the hotel is decorated modern and was very pretty and welcoming. We stayed on the 7th floor. Our room consisted of a Queen Bed, a small desk, TV, mini fridge (not stocked), amoire and bathroom. The room was a bit small, but I would image that is to be expected in DC. The bath was fairly specious. The bed was comfy and I have no complaints there. I ordered room service one day for lunch, and while the food was just fair, the service was quick (about 20 mins) and very friendly. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel puts out good tea and coffee in the morning near the check in/out desk. I liked this feature.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    814
    328
    139
    88
See reviews for
530
555
110
825
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staying here for a conference. Lobby is beautiful but room is very disappointing, very small, no view, and the smallest bathroom I have ever used. When we checked in I asked for a room away from the large air conditioning unit so they gave us a higher floor but you almost fall into the bed from the door.

Room Tip: Avoid 621 unless you like sleeping in a shoe box
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGNY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. During your stay we strive to provide clean and attractive facilities that also encompass our historic charm. We do hope that you might reconsider staying with us again in the future.

If you wish to discuss this further I can be reached at the email below. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Darcy Roberts
darcy.roberts@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great charm and location, rooms are so small, Motel 6 would be a suite. Room has no place for a chair so the put a slip cover over the desk chair. Traveling alone for business, if anyone else had been there one bag would have been in the hallway. When you pay 300 plus a night you can and should do better.

Room Tip: Pick a different place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay at The Mayflower Renaissance Hotel. It is our goal to provide clean and attractive facilities that also encompass our historic charm. We do hope you visit us again, and I would love to know when are to make sure you have a flawless stay.

Sincerely,
Darcy Roberts
darcy.roberts@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

After staying at a variety of
Hotels in the DC area I was astonished at the beautiful setting and spacious room. I would highly recommend this hotel. The concierge was fantastic and the valet very helpful as I had to take advantage of the in and out parking privilege several times. I have to say though that the front desk staff could be a bit friendlier! I am a regular at Marriott properties and this group overall did not meet my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville, NY
Level Contributor
423 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Three minor improvements would turn an average hotel experience to an above average one (from a business traveler's perspective: (1) Put a safe in the room. This is standard equipment these days and very useful. (2) Stop charging for Internet usage. Think of it in the same way as electricity or the TV - a basic amenity. (3) Do basic equipment checks every day. Two of the three lamps in my room weren't working. The Mayflower aims to be a high-end hotel with high-end prices. Its rooms need to reflect that aim. Right now, they simply don't.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much for your constructive feedback. Your information regarding the lamps in your room and internet have been shared our management team. During our renovation at the end of the year, we will be installing in room safes! We are very much looking forward to this. We hope you might stay with us again and if you do, please reach out to me.

Thank you,
Darcy Roberts
darcy.roberts@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semiahmoo, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

From the moment of checking in with Lea Gunderson, the experience at the Mayflower was exceptional. The front desk staff and door people truly treated us to a great experience. Beautiful hotel and nice rooms. No complaints at all.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wineoh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Mayflower has been a mainstay in Washington DC for decades. It does not rest on its laurels, and delivers good value and a good night's stay. All the aspects of a hotel experience are well honed, professional and reliable. And what a pleasure it is to find a place like this today!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#108 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-4301
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing