We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Timeless Elegance”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The madam and I (ok, my wife and two kids’ twins 5 years old) enjoyed three nights in a Congressional suite. We loved the older lobby, wide hallways and crown molding in all the rooms.

Yes the rooms are dated and bathrooms are small but it has character which we love. Beds good, room clean. Room service mediocre, had breakfast ($90 for 4, remember two are kids) two of the days. Food was cold.

Location good.

I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busdevoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    842
    342
    143
    91
See reviews for
548
581
116
868
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Well placed hotel for visiting Washington landmarks. Room is quite big enough, bed is comfortable and shower adequate. Staff are friendly, doormen knowledgable. The only real negative is the restaurant where the meal served topped the stakes of the worst we have eaten in the US.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your positive and constructive feedback! We will be sharing your feedback regarding your dining experience with our Food and Beverage Team. If you can share any specifics during your dining experience, I would love to pass that along as well.

We hope you stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Darcy Roberts
darcy.roberts@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a weekend when he was in DC for business. The hotel is in a good location, very close to Dupont Circle and very close to the DC metro. The hotel building is old (in a good, vintage way : )) and has a lot of history associated with it. The interior of the hotel is decorated modern and was very pretty and welcoming. We stayed on the 7th floor. Our room consisted of a Queen Bed, a small desk, TV, mini fridge (not stocked), amoire and bathroom. The room was a bit small, but I would image that is to be expected in DC. The bath was fairly specious. The bed was comfy and I have no complaints there. I ordered room service one day for lunch, and while the food was just fair, the service was quick (about 20 mins) and very friendly. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel puts out good tea and coffee in the morning near the check in/out desk. I liked this feature.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staying here for a conference. Lobby is beautiful but room is very disappointing, very small, no view, and the smallest bathroom I have ever used. When we checked in I asked for a room away from the large air conditioning unit so they gave us a higher floor but you almost fall into the bed from the door.

Room Tip: Avoid 621 unless you like sleeping in a shoe box
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGNY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. During your stay we strive to provide clean and attractive facilities that also encompass our historic charm. We do hope that you might reconsider staying with us again in the future.

If you wish to discuss this further I can be reached at the email below. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Darcy Roberts
darcy.roberts@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great charm and location, rooms are so small, Motel 6 would be a suite. Room has no place for a chair so the put a slip cover over the desk chair. Traveling alone for business, if anyone else had been there one bag would have been in the hallway. When you pay 300 plus a night you can and should do better.

Room Tip: Pick a different place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay at The Mayflower Renaissance Hotel. It is our goal to provide clean and attractive facilities that also encompass our historic charm. We do hope you visit us again, and I would love to know when are to make sure you have a flawless stay.

Sincerely,
Darcy Roberts
darcy.roberts@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

After staying at a variety of
Hotels in the DC area I was astonished at the beautiful setting and spacious room. I would highly recommend this hotel. The concierge was fantastic and the valet very helpful as I had to take advantage of the in and out parking privilege several times. I have to say though that the front desk staff could be a bit friendlier! I am a regular at Marriott properties and this group overall did not meet my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville, NY
Level Contributor
424 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Three minor improvements would turn an average hotel experience to an above average one (from a business traveler's perspective: (1) Put a safe in the room. This is standard equipment these days and very useful. (2) Stop charging for Internet usage. Think of it in the same way as electricity or the TV - a basic amenity. (3) Do basic equipment checks every day. Two of the three lamps in my room weren't working. The Mayflower aims to be a high-end hotel with high-end prices. Its rooms need to reflect that aim. Right now, they simply don't.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much for your constructive feedback. Your information regarding the lamps in your room and internet have been shared our management team. During our renovation at the end of the year, we will be installing in room safes! We are very much looking forward to this. We hope you might stay with us again and if you do, please reach out to me.

Thank you,
Darcy Roberts
darcy.roberts@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,147 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#106 of 141 in Washington DC
43 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing