We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant hotels, nice updates” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #61 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Elegant hotels, nice updates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel has changed since the Grand old Mayflower days, but still has a great deal of elegance. Staff are very helpful, rooms small but lovely with comfortable beds. Nice concierge lounge with excellent food selection. Near the Metro and shopping and restaurants, so a great location for a great DC hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank docmom3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    814
    328
    139
    88
See reviews for
529
555
110
824
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Ourr large droup had a very enjoyable time of meetings and Capitol Hill visits based at this fine Renaissance hotel. THe staff were courteous and accomodating. I am reminded that the the Marriott empire began in Washington with a popcorn store on H Street, so the Capital City is really the home form the chain,
I am a Marriott frequent stayer and have stayed at them all around the world. The Marriott brand and the extras impled by the Renaissance brand are really epitomized here. The value is good for the service rendered. The meals we had on-property were all outstanding, served on time and with graciousness. My suite had less than adequate airconditioning but two pleasant men replced the unit pronto. There was none of the denial about the adequacy of ventiationg systems I hear from lesser hotels.

Room Tip: I do not know if there are rooms with views, but you should ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph43206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We decided to surprise our 11 year old twin granddaughters with a flight to Washington and three days of sightseeing. Mayflower was wonderful. Employees were very accommodating.
Doorman, Carlton, was wonderful. He was always waiting to greet us and give very helpful advice on any request we had. Thank you for a great get-away

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorisM515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Yes, the lobby is fabulous. Yes, the rooms are a bit dated but in a nice, sedate, stylish way in keeping with its history. We asked for a larger room and were accommodated: our room was lovely with a lounge area. We loved this hotel and as other reviewers have said, it is very close to the Metro and a 10 minute walk to the White House. Continental breakfast is $20 but there is a Pret a Manger round the corner. There was an iPhone charger on the alarm clock and the hotel has wifi in public areas. The room was quiet, comfortable and clean with coffee machine and a fridge. But the best bit about this hotel is Azi, the amazing concierge: I've never come across one better. She is worth her weight in gold. The hotel is 5* in my view. I'd love to see this place when it has had its refurb later this year!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room. They can only say no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauran1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My friend and I shared an overnight stay for a concert at The Howard Theatre. The room was nice and spacious, but someone's food was in the fridge. We had multiple windows in our room; the beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was awesome, double vanity sinks and a separate shower! The fitness center was one of the best I have visited out of all of the hotels in which I have stayed, you are supplied with bottled water and fresh fruit. Metro is only a few steps from the hotel's entrance which makes it very convenient when you are on the go and being in the heart of DC, there are many great restaurants in walking distance. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjones621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Big, elegant hotel. It is nice, but it needs some TLC. I tried asking two concierges for help, but they were both unhelpful. There was some big event going on in the hotel that seemed to take everyone's attention. Never got turn down despite request. Found an old Coke can in the fridge. If you need to be at this location, it is probably your best bet. If not, I'd look around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We appreciate the opportunity to understand we have opportunity to make improvements. We will share your feedback with our various managers and hope this will not prevent you from staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Darcy Roberts
darcy.roberts@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

stayed her for three nights in May 2014. We had a double room with 2 twin queen beds - adequate for 4 people Bathroom was well equipped. Location wise it gets an A+ being literally outside the Farragut North subway station. Walking distance to the White House. A number of reasonably priced restaurants situated around the hotel for breakfast, lunch and dinner..Worth staying in if you get a special deal - not at the regular Mariott prices

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luverboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#109 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-4301
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing