We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #59 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Mayflower for three nights at the end of July. The room was a very good size, with decoration and furniture in very good condition. We were towards the back of the hotel and, although this meant we didn’t have any sort of view, the room was very peaceful. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The location was excellent, being just a short walk from the White House. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    825
    332
    140
    90
See reviews for
538
560
112
844
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Perhaps it wasn't the best time to stay - the weekend of the 4th July. The hotel was very busy and there were long queues at the reception area. There was a slight mix-up with our reservation which had been made through a travel agent here in the UK. It was sorted out relatively quickly though.
Our suite was large and tastefully furnished, with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was also large and had a separate (nice deep) bath and shower. Some attention to detail was missing though - toiletries were average and not replensished daily. Bathrobes were provided but were not of the best quality and no slippers were provided. There was also no turn down service. The room also had no safe. The explanation for this was that "the hotel is very old". We've stayed in older hotels which have room safes. The alternative is to hire a safety deposit box in the reception area. This is both inconvenient and time-consuming, particularly when the hotel is very busy.
The food in the bar/restaurant was so-so. Nothing to write home about.
Service was, overall, of the standard expected in such a hotel but again, nothing to write home about. We've encountered friendlier staff in different hotels but, staff here were pleasant and polite.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Mayflower Renaissance Hotel. We appreciate the opportunity to understand what you enjoyed about your stay and like to hear how our guests perceive our service, as it allows us to find areas improvements. All of your concerns will be shared with our management team. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

If you would like to discuss anything further, please feel free to contact me directly.

Adam Grode
Guest Relations Manager
Adam.grode@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Washington
Level Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Mayflower Renaissance is a great place to stay while in Washington, DC. It is incredibly close to a Metro Station so you are just a train ride away from everything you would want to see while in DC. There are also plenty of things to do within walking distance of the hotel, including the National Geographic, Ford Theatre and a Nordstrom Rack store.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Was honored back in Fall 2011 to get to stay at this historic "Grand Dame," as Presidents used to refer to this hotel. It was perfectly vintage looking on the outside, but with all the modern comforts of home in the room. The food at the breakfast buffet option was pricey, but laid out so gorgeously, and deliciously worth every bite. It was almost in walking distance to many interesting sites, and we took in every one we could when not working. I for a photo shoot, my partner for some p.r. work. Hope to re visit this historic hotel again, but am glad I got to have this experience I can tell future generations about.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiffMateas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our family absolutely LOVED this hotel. We managed to get a wicked deal through Hotwire and I'm so glad we got this hotel! The staff is top notch, very polite, will always help and smile, I haven't seen a single frowning face, they all looked happy to be part of that hotel.

The location is amazing and pretty central, a quick walk/drive to all major attractions - the White House, all the museums etc.

The room was so beautiful and the beds/pillows were super comfy (and I'm usually quite picky about the pillows!) - they also had a very nice and clean bathrooms with great set of toiletries.

But the best thing about them is that when my son accidentally left his favourite stuffy they sent it back to us to Canada!!! I would definitely stay there again when I get a chance!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have stayed at the Mayflower and attended events there for many decades. I was stunned to enter the hotel on my last visit. They eliminated the charming lobby bar area, as well as the charming old bar that was on the left as one entered, and replaced both with a tacky, noisy space on the right hand side of the lobby. My husband and I endured one visit to the new bar, and never went back. Previously, we delighted in meeting friends in the old bar. I also found that the lobby bar area was a great place to people spot, and more than once ran into friends there by chance. This was an ill-judged renovation which has taken much of the charm and fun out of a Washington classic. The effect is to make the hotel colder and less welcoming. The rooms do not appear to have changed, but the attraction of the Mayflower was primarily the public spaces where one could see and meet friends and spot famous faces.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KasiaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We appreciate knowing what you enjoyed about your stay and where we have area for improvement. I will forward your concerns to the hotel manager. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any further concerns.

Adam Grode
adam.grode@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a week for work. I found the staff very helpful and the location was perfect. Literally 5mins from the Farrgot North Metro which is 3 stops from Union Station. Also very close to DuPont Circle with lots of restaurants and night life. Rooms are also quite spacious, modern and clean.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#108 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-4301
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing