We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #64 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This hotel is just like the old hotels in London, having older furniture and carpets...
It’s location in the downtown (a 10 min walk from the White House) made it ideal for us, for travailing by foot. However, for those who do not like the idea of old or even a historical places, i suggest you to look for a different newish hotel.
Upon our arrival to the hotel, we were welcomed by a very friendly staff which made the check in quickly and to arrive to our room. The room was consist of older version of furniture that made the room the appearance of an old hotel. The beds were comfortable and the washroom was large and well organized. The hotel's surrounding, as well as the Washington downtown's area were very clean that create the feeling of nice and comfortable.
There were few open restaurants nearby for breakfast and lunch.
Since we came by car on Saturday evening, i had to park the car in the parking areas nearby. Beware of those parking who propose you cheap price ( it was written 10$ for Saturday-Monday), ask them for the overall price (10$ for a day and 31$ for a night...). We learned it later that we could park outside by free until Monday morning (at 07:00 sharp!!).
There is a well organized Metro train system and it was so clean, just like the downtown. We used the Metro for visiting the Air and Space Museum and after that we took the car from the parking area for visiting the other monuments in Washington and later parked outside. Thus, we had to make an early check out (at 06:40), in order to reach to our car before 07:00. We asked the staff to do so and by night we got our receipt.
So if you like some authentic hotel , try this hotel in Washington.

Room Tip: the only free WiFi is located in the Lobby, in the room there are no free WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hezkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 2,646 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend a few nights at this lovely, old hotel in July. The beautiful structure is on the National Historic Register. It has an elegant lobby where coffee was served in the morning, and where we were treated to lemonade and macaroons one afternoon. The location is great and we walked to the White House, the Mall, the memorials, Foggy Bottom, and Dupont Circle. The metro is just down the block for those who do not love to walk. The rooms were large and well appointed. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. There was very good quality coffee and tea in the rooms and nice toiletries. The towels were of excellent quality. What a grand stay we had at the Mayflower Renaissance!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
Thank andreamontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great classic hotel with a storied past, close to White House and most of the monuments within walking distance. Great food in Lobby restaurant and great service. Concierge arranged for a car for us to see memorials at night. Great value given the bus options if you are a party of 4 to 6. Our girlfriends getaway to see our nations many treasures was made more accessible by staying here....and we saw LOTS!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in mid-July on my first trip to DC and would definitely go back - lovely historic hotel in a nice location!

Great location (very close to Metro station, and Dupont Circle with lots of bars and restaurants), decor in the main lobby area is grand, hotel's Edgar bar is open until late (with post-dinner snack options), room was clean and well laid out (bathroom was huge!), extra toiletries provided promptly upon request.

My room on the 8th floor was facing a back alley so not much of a view - however, it was quiet and allowed for a restful night's sleep so did not mind too much.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_czarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed here in June 2014 for a weekend following a week of meetings at another hotel on the basis that this was a top notch hotel. It's slogan: "The second best address in Washington" is from another time. This is a classic old-school hotel with a renovated lobby that is living on its former glory. Not all of the rooms are up to the same standards. I was first given an extremely small narrow room that looked like it had original fixtures. It was horrible. I was able to change rooms received a renovation much more recently but sadly not in this decade.

That aside, the service was excellent - front desk, concierge, bar, and restaurant. The location is fantastic.That said, the place is showing its age. I would not stay here at the weekday prices that were three times the price of the weekend prices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheVancouverites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. Due to the historic nature of our property we do have various room layouts some of which are larger than others. If you return we would be happy to work with you to make sure you are in a larger room that meets your needs. Also, thank you for sharing the positve feedback regarding our staff. That is delightful to hear! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Darcy
Darcy.roberts@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

stayed with with hubby and 2 teenage lads - staff in reception very busy but super helpful / friendly and bent over backwards to accommodate us. Room was great.Good location although takes about 30 - 40 minutes to get to museums etc.Having said that lovely location and plenty to see around and about.Would recommend. Took about 35 - 40 mins to get to airport by shared shuttle bus.Cost us $12 each to get to airport

Room Tip: may be lucky to get a room upgrade cheaper we did and it was worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I went with my son to Washington, D.C. and we checked In ok. The room was nothing to write home about. We only had a fast breakfast there and it was okay. However, and this is a big however, the maids for both my son and myself, on 2 separate floors were extraordinarily rude.

My son spoke to the manager about our treatment and he was very accommodating. I have never in all my years, experienced service people who were that rude.

Unless they have changed that, I would never recommend going there.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nicepeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent experience on TripAdvisor. We regret that your stay fell short of your expectations (and ours) and we would like to address your main concern. Your feedback will with shared with our Housekeeping management team. We truly hope for the opportunity to serve you again.

Thank you,
Darcy Roberts
darcy.roberts@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,170 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,274 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
3,150 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,381 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-4301
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £108 - £500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in the nation's capital since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel in Washington, D.C. newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing