We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, stylish hotel, slightly spoiled by rude staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #61 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Elegant, stylish hotel, slightly spoiled by rude staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

The Mayflower is a super hotel, with well-appointed rooms, spacious entertaining areas and an elegance that makes you feel that your stay is truly special .....
We spent a week at The Mayflower, using it as a base to visit the local sites of this splendid US capital city. Our only criticism is the rudeness and unhelpfulness of 'Laverne', one of the staff on the concierge desk, which was noted by a number of people travelling in our party. Perhaps he was having a bad week. The Mayflower is a place that is definitely worth considering if you are looking for a Washington hotel steeped in history ....

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankiepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    814
    329
    139
    88
See reviews for
530
556
111
826
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Comfortable, spacious room. Very quiet and clean. Beds were very comfortable. Best of all was the location. Longish walk to the National Mall (but definitely doable in nice weather), but easy to use the metro if you don't want to walk. Great neighbourhood for restaurants and shopping. Will definitely return if rates are competive and reasonable (which they often aren't unless you can get a special deal). Nobody told me about the $1.00 Circulator bus to get around the sites, including Georgetown. Be sure to ask specifically if you want to check out the Georgetown area (which you should because it's lovely).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyTWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Given the price of the room I expected something far better than what I got. The tub had mold around the tile, the room was not as clean as expected and really no amenities. You are paying for the property and that's it. Very disappointing experience and I wouldn't recommend staying here. Wait staff in restaurant grouchy until it was time to leave the check. Poor, poor, poor.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfnrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level Contributor
341 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed at the Mayflower in order to attend a wedding held at the hotel. The rate offered to wedding guests was well within reason and the room was clean, comfortable, and well designed. The rooms that were used for the wedding were elegant and both the service and food were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonthecellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

Stayed here in late September ,first time in the capital .Check in very smooth room ready fridge supplied immediately( i need it for medication) staff very friendly and helpful .will stay here again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

I visited your hotel previously and was impressed with my surroundings and your customer service. This visit October 18 & 19 I was shocked to see that when I entered my room I was in a handicapped room. After showering and got ready to watch the NFC game on Monday night football I had to go back to the bathroom and turned on the light and saw bugs running fast around the bathroom floor. I stepped on several before they escaped and decided to leave all the lights on in my rrom with the TV all night. I got little sleep and slept in my clothes until day. I started to call down stairs but at the check-in counter I was informed that the hotel was booked. It was after 9:00 pm when I went back in the bathroom and noticed the bugs running around. I reported the incident when I checked out the morning of October 18. If I had to stay another night I would have checked out. I explained to the check-out employee that the room needed spraying and cleaning. Like I stated I have stayed here before without any incident. This time was very different.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sexxygapstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Stayed at the Mayflower one night recently on a business trip and enjoyed everything about the property. The public areas are beautiful and well maintained. My room was modern and comfortable. The furnishings were in good shape and representative of what I would expect in a four star property. Attended a meeting on site and the meeting room was beautiful as well as functional. Throw in the hotel's history and great location and I would recommend this for anyone looking for a unique downtown DC experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DineOutOften10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#108 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Loews Madison Hotel
#74 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-4301
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing