We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable rooms - Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
Ranked #76 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is the first time I’ve stayed at Marriott’s Renaissance hotel chain, but it was nice and I recommend the hotel! Of the Marriott chains, I think it is nicer than the Marriott brand, right up there with the JW Marriott brand. I see it as: Fairfield Inn < SpringHill Suites < Residence Inn < Courtyard < Marriott < Renaissance < JW Marriott. So needless to say the hotel was great!

Rooms:
• Very clean and a good size.
• Bathrooms were modern and the tub was very clean with no signs of weird mold cracks in the grout.
• Had a small fridge, room safe and ample counter space for my suitcase, two backpacks and a bunch of tourist stuff.
• The only weird thing is that the hotel rooms that face inwards, directly face other rooms or an office building. Very close, but just close the curtains!
• Beds were VERY comfortable and used a duvet, so I knew they changed it every time.

Amenities:
• It is a higher end hotel, so there are higher end restaurants. Don’t fret, there is a Starbucks in the lobby to grab something quick, and right next door, connected to the building but not the hotel, is City Tab, a pretty good bar, and I’m sure less expensive than the bars at the hotel.
• Free computer/printer in the lobby to print boarding passes. Very handy.
• Free wifi, but only in the lobby! Disappointing that a nice hotel like that wouldn’t have free wifi in the whole hotel. This is something they should really change. Although they accommodate patrons by having a few tables with charging stations in the lobby, where people can do work, who wants to trek downstairs to use the wifi?
• Parking is $35/day for self parking. Due to the location, we just used Uber around town. It was so convenient and much cheaper than normal taxis, or even rental car + parking at the hotel. USE UBER!

Location:
• I was hesitant to stay at this hotel because of the neighborhood when I found out it was next to Chinatown. But in reality, it was a very safe, clean neighborhood. Being next to Chinatown was actually nice because there are a lot of restaurants and stores. (The Chinatown there is nothing like San Francisco’s.) Many different options within a 5 minute walk, ranging from quick fast food to nicer restaurants. For breakfast we went to Panera, 2 block away.
• Uber rides to the typical sightseeing locations: White House, Smithsonians, Washington Monument, Capitol, Lincoln Memorial, etc, are all under $10 per ride. Much cheaper than taking the Metro and walking the rest of the way, especially if you have 4 people in your group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street for any kind of view. Inward rooms face each other, like a square.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FCExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,445)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Was on a business trip and got bumped to this hotel when the hotel I had a reservation for was overbooked. Was not a happy camper about being bumped but happy that I ended up here...it was lovely, upbeat, modern, clean and very convenient to most all restaurants.

Room Tip: I was lucky to secure a room under the circumstances and I was happy...so I can't really help on...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbi1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great hotel with amazing hosts. It was my second time there for a conference and they sure outdid themselves. Rooms were clean amd the house keeping ladies were very nice. The food at the conference was amazing. Felt like a 5 star hotel experience. It is about 5 blocks from the white house and right near Chinatown. There's great restaurants nearby as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacationer55229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is perfectly located if o are attending a conference at the Washington Convention Center and is also conveniently located just a short distance from many trendy restaurants in the Chinatown environs.

The rooms are good size with very comfortable beds with fine sheets and pillows. While the bathrooms are small there are fine bathroom amenities provided including adequate towels. The maid service is good. The heat in the room is excellent during winter.

The staff at the concierge and reception desks are very helpful. Overall a very good choice for lodging when in Washington, DC.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipmillermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Allthough the location of the hotel ( 20 minutes walking distance to the White House ) is great the rooms are spacious and clean, and the hotel seems inmaculate and brand new, you have the feeling of a good hotel but very basic at the end of the day since all extras should be paid, wifi for example. You can get free wifi in the lobby, but not in the rooms. If you want to have Internet access in your own private room you will have to pay, and bearing in mind that this is not precisely a cheap hotel, it does not make sense such thing ... This is one of the thing I really dislike abou the hotel... To pay for getting wifi ... Unthinkable in Europe!

Staff is OK, not specially friendly or warm in their attitude, but at least helpful when asking directions.

Overall, the hotel is good and brand new but you get the feeling of flying in a flag carrier but with service and attitude as a low cost carrier ...

For its price there are better options in DC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dea procopeo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am thrilled that you thought the hotel was immaculate and in a great location close to everything including the White House.

I apologize that you thought the hotel was "no frills" since the hotel and most of America still charges for wifi in guest rooms, even though most of Europe does not charge for this service. As you mention, we do offer complimentary access in our lobby where you can meet friends, set up office and enjoy a Starbuck's coffee or cocktail.

I do hope that when your travels return you to the United States, you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stay here periodically for business because it is where I'm placed, but wouldn't choose it personally. There is nothing bad about this hotel, but also nothing great. The best things are the location, which is somewhat close to restaurants and attractions, and the lobby, which has great work and meeting space. The rooms have been upgraded since last time there, but still very mediocre. Also the side of the room that didn't have the heat vent was so cold. I could never get the whole room comfortable, even as small as it was. Actually heard that from someone else too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear CRMays,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

I certainly understand your concern that you could not regulate your heat effectively in your guest room. Although I am not certain of the room you were in, I have asked our Director of Engineering to have his team, on their travels to our guest rooms, test all heating units in the hotel.

I apologize that our guest rooms are not up to your standard but do appreciate that you enjoy our location and lobby.

When you return to our hotel in the future, please do reach out to me so I can personally take care of your arrangements.

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I checked in this hotel after the original hotel I was in was under construction. I was actually stuck in DC (one of my fav cities) due to the winter vortex as I was trying to get home to NC from Chicago. This hotel was awesome - the men at the front desk were always extremely nice. And as you can see from the view I had of President's Park, it was just a great place to get "stuck!"

Room Tip: Ask to face President's Park - you can see the Washington Monument.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingoutofNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
1,684 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
4,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Address: 999 9th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4427
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £96 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the culture of DC while experiencing true sophistication at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel. When you arrive at our hotel, you will feel as if you have found a hidden gem amongst everything that makes DC exciting. Award winning restaurants, boutique shopping, CityCenterDC, Verizon Center, Spy Museum, Chinatown, National Portrait Gallery and the world-famous National Mall are all steps from our hotel but will feel worlds away once you experience everything we have to offer. Our newly renovated hotel offers five dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, a vibrant lounge, an onsite day spa and Vida fitness center. Uncover the best of DC with Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, a luxury hotel in downtown DC that strikes the perfect balance of style and substance. Our hotel will leave you wondering how you can be so close to the Washington DC Convention Center, CityCenterDC, and Penn Quarter yet feel as if you've found your next great escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc Hotel
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing