We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, friendly staff, hard beds, great location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
Ranked #84 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights during a conference. Very friendly staff. Great location - during conference breaks I walked to the Mall, China Town and up to Union Station. Surrounded by lots of restaurants.

I found the beds to be extremely hard. I took the feather comforter from the other bed and slept on top of it to add a little cushion.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here because it was the conference hotel but the cost of the rooms are way over priced for a basic room. I went to have lunch at the hotel restaurant at 1:30 pm and it was closed. The sign said if you wanted to eat you had to go to the bar. I thought this was the top of the line for Marriott but I guess I was wrong. Helpful and friendly staff but I don't I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Phil B,

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel. I certainly understand your concern that room rates in Washington, DC are high during certain times of the year - especially during convention and Cherry Blossom season. Prices of guest rooms do vary throughout the year and during the slower summer season, you can find quite reasonable hotel rates in our Nation's Capital.

I do apologize that our restaurant was not open at 1:30pm when you were looking for a dining option. Our President's Sports Bar also has dining tables and is our second restaurant in the hotel with wonderful food options such as crab cakes, variety of salads, sandwiches and entrees. Also, as we are located in the heart of Penn Quarter, there are over 20 amazing restaurants within a two block radius of the hotel.

I certainly hope that if your travels return you to Washington, DC you will give us another chance and stay with us. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Close to the metro and was able to walk down to the National Mall. National Portrait Gallery is a few blocks away as well. Great restaurants close by. If going to the convention center or a game, cannot think of a better location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is the first time I’ve stayed at Marriott’s Renaissance hotel chain, but it was nice and I recommend the hotel! Of the Marriott chains, I think it is nicer than the Marriott brand, right up there with the JW Marriott brand. I see it as: Fairfield Inn < SpringHill Suites < Residence Inn < Courtyard < Marriott < Renaissance < JW Marriott. So needless to say the hotel was great!

Rooms:
• Very clean and a good size.
• Bathrooms were modern and the tub was very clean with no signs of weird mold cracks in the grout.
• Had a small fridge, room safe and ample counter space for my suitcase, two backpacks and a bunch of tourist stuff.
• The only weird thing is that the hotel rooms that face inwards, directly face other rooms or an office building. Very close, but just close the curtains!
• Beds were VERY comfortable and used a duvet, so I knew they changed it every time.

Amenities:
• It is a higher end hotel, so there are higher end restaurants. Don’t fret, there is a Starbucks in the lobby to grab something quick, and right next door, connected to the building but not the hotel, is City Tab, a pretty good bar, and I’m sure less expensive than the bars at the hotel.
• Free computer/printer in the lobby to print boarding passes. Very handy.
• Free wifi, but only in the lobby! Disappointing that a nice hotel like that wouldn’t have free wifi in the whole hotel. This is something they should really change. Although they accommodate patrons by having a few tables with charging stations in the lobby, where people can do work, who wants to trek downstairs to use the wifi?
• Parking is $35/day for self parking. Due to the location, we just used Uber around town. It was so convenient and much cheaper than normal taxis, or even rental car + parking at the hotel. USE UBER!

Location:
• I was hesitant to stay at this hotel because of the neighborhood when I found out it was next to Chinatown. But in reality, it was a very safe, clean neighborhood. Being next to Chinatown was actually nice because there are a lot of restaurants and stores. (The Chinatown there is nothing like San Francisco’s.) Many different options within a 5 minute walk, ranging from quick fast food to nicer restaurants. For breakfast we went to Panera, 2 block away.
• Uber rides to the typical sightseeing locations: White House, Smithsonians, Washington Monument, Capitol, Lincoln Memorial, etc, are all under $10 per ride. Much cheaper than taking the Metro and walking the rest of the way, especially if you have 4 people in your group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street for any kind of view. Inward rooms face each other, like a square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FCExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Was on a business trip and got bumped to this hotel when the hotel I had a reservation for was overbooked. Was not a happy camper about being bumped but happy that I ended up here...it was lovely, upbeat, modern, clean and very convenient to most all restaurants.

Room Tip: I was lucky to secure a room under the circumstances and I was happy...so I can't really help on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbi1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great hotel with amazing hosts. It was my second time there for a conference and they sure outdid themselves. Rooms were clean amd the house keeping ladies were very nice. The food at the conference was amazing. Felt like a 5 star hotel experience. It is about 5 blocks from the white house and right near Chinatown. There's great restaurants nearby as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacationer55229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is perfectly located if o are attending a conference at the Washington Convention Center and is also conveniently located just a short distance from many trendy restaurants in the Chinatown environs.

The rooms are good size with very comfortable beds with fine sheets and pillows. While the bathrooms are small there are fine bathroom amenities provided including adequate towels. The maid service is good. The heat in the room is excellent during winter.

The staff at the concierge and reception desks are very helpful. Overall a very good choice for lodging when in Washington, DC.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipmillermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#63 of 141 in Washington DC
1,771 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Wink
The Wink
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
5,077 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Address: 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £100 - £735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the culture of DC while experiencing true sophistication at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel. When you arrive at our hotel in Washington, DC, you will feel as if you have found a hidden gem amongst everything that makes the area so exciting. Boutique shopping, CityCenterDC, Verizon Center, Spy Museum, Chinatown, National Portrait Gallery and the world-famous National Mall are all steps from our hotel but will feel worlds away once you experience everything we have to offer. Our newly renovated hotel offers five dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, a vibrant lounge, an onsite day spa and Vida fitness center. Uncover the best of DC with Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, a luxury hotel in downtown DC that strikes the perfect balance of style and substance. Our hotel will leave you wondering how you can be so close to the Washington DC Convention Center, CityCenterDC, and Penn Quarter yet feel as if you've found your next great escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc Hotel
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing