We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
Ranked #84 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel located at 9th Street and New York Ave NE Washington was a great experience. Since they knew it was my birthday they treated us royally with a better room, and wine. This hotel is managed by Marriott and we always stay at Mariotts due to their service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsmchugh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at the Renaissance for 2 nights in May for a conference there, and was pleasantly surprised by the nicely-updated guest room and lobby areas. My room was fairly spacious, great desk space to work, good wifi, nice HDTV and comfortable bed. Nicely renovated bathroom with excellent shower. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Good location for business by K Street and by the convention center. I would strongly consider staying here again when in DC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Love this spot - trendy and modern lobby great for informal business meetings or to just catch up with fellow travelers. Service was excellent and I will certainly return. Walking distance to the arena which was another plus for this visit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Was in for a quick business trip for the Craft Brewers events. This property was just a short walk to the National Building Museum where the SAVOR tastings were held and very close to Chinatown where I love to eat in DC. The room was nice. Appreciated the firm mattress and the ergonomic lounge chair. the in room coffee was nice but the product was sad. Overall I enjoyed my visit and would stay again providing price was right.

Room Tip: Best views are exterior rooms, quietest are interior, facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSPhilbyLawrence_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance in DC during our roadtrip up the east coast! We spent four days at the hotel and were very satisfied! The rooms are very big, and are equipped with very modern furniture! The bathroom was also up to date and more than satisfied our needs. The rooms were very clean and had a coffee maker, a refrigerator and a large flat screen TV. The staff was polite!
One negative aspect of the hotel is the price for parking, $42 (+tax/day) is just too expensive! You can avoid these costs by using a large parking lot right across the street from the hotel, which costs $24/day.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here last month for a student conference and had a great experience.

Pros:
Clean, spacious rooms
Lots of mirrors
Great location - close to lots of restaurants and entertainment
Hotel staff was phenomenal

Cons:
No wifi in conference area
Blankets were really thin
AC went on the fritz one night

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for 3 days here for business - it is situated right downtown DC, it was a convenient place to stay and it's close by to many of the museums and DC sights. Rooms were great (love the bed and sheets!) and people were friendly. Internet connection is a little expensive at $13.00 for standard speed and $17 for high-speed but internet is free in the lobby. I noticed lots of people would just hangout in the lobby to get things done. Otherwise, nice hotel.

Room Tip: If you ask for rooms on the 2nd floor, you might be able to get lobby wifi for free. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexFIssaquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
1,802 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Henley Park Hotel
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
826 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Address: 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £132 - £734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the culture of DC while experiencing true sophistication at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel. When you arrive at our hotel in Washington, D.C., you will feel as if you have found a hidden gem amongst everything that makes the area so exciting. Boutique shopping, CityCenterDC, Verizon Center, Spy Museum, Chinatown, National Portrait Gallery and the world-famous National Mall are all steps from our stylish hotel but will feel worlds away once you experience everything we have to offer. Our newly renovated hotel offers five dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, a vibrant lounge, an onsite day spa and Vida fitness center. Uncover the best of DC with Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, a luxury hotel in downtown DC that strikes the perfect balance of style and substance. Our hotel will leave you wondering how you can be so close to the Washington DC Convention Center, CityCenterDC, and Penn Quarter yet feel as if you've found your next great escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc Hotel
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing