We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cool neighborhood and convenient to the metro.”
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The River Inn
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really cool neighborhood and convenient to the metro.”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I recently stayed with my two daughters for a girl's birthday weekend. The rooms were spacious and the hotel was located in a quaint neighborhood. Everything was in walking distance or a short cab/metro ride away. Staff was friendly and professional. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Hello!! Great words about Foggy Bottom and the River Inn. We are very proud of our neighborhood too. We are also proud of our staff which you mentioned with kind words. For all this we thank you and hope to see you back again soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    511
    93
    37
    19
See reviews for
538
463
81
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Really great stay! I would definitely stay here again. Beds were comfortable. Sofa bed comfortable. Small kitchenette. Close walk to Metro(couple blocks) or dining in Georgetown or Foggy Bottom. Very safe neighborhood. Ample parking for cheaper rates at local parking garages or pay for the convenience of parking at the hotel. Very happy with helpful staff. Price is great and affordable. It doesn't feel like you are staying in the city.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adriaan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Hello There!! Great to read that you had a wonderful stay!! It is even better to hear you were content with our great staff. We agree that staying in a city without having that noisy feel of a city is always a plus. The next time you are in town give us a call and we will be happy to offer you a great rate. Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We were happy with the River Inn. The Potomac Suite layout was great for traveling with young children (ages 5 & 3) because the bedroom was around a corner and had a door, making it easy for us to watch TV & relax in the living area after our kids went to bed. Staff was friendly. Downsides: Bathroom was small, and the room needed updating--some cosmetic flaws and wear and tear, particularly in the kitchen. Sofa bed was thin and uncomfortable. However, it was a great price for a suite in DC, had a decently equipped kitchen, was an easy walk to the Foggy Bottom metro stop, and the Potomac view from our 7th-floor room was great. I would stay there again & recommend it to families. A bonus: a 7-11 and a Trader Joe's within blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiddlechip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our property and furthermore, that you enjoyed staying in one of our Potomac Suites. The words "friendly staff" always make us feel great and we are glad that left an impression on you.We are aware of the wear and tear mentioned in your feedback and are working diligently to get them renovated shortly. We hope to see you the next time you are in DC and thank you for recommending us!! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldens Bridge, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

After reading contradictory reviews of The River Inn I was uncertain what to expect. The hotel was on a quiet street lined with townhouses and their flowering gardens. The room was spotless and comfortable. The kitchenette was well-stocked with dishes, cutlery and pots and pans. Neutrogena bath products were a nice plus. The room had a full length mirror and a sitting area with large mirror outside the bathroom which was perfect for two females getting ready at the same time. Garbage collection on Monday morning was loud and disruptive, but it was 7:30 and I was already awake. The following morning was quiet. It was convenient to George Washington University and the Kennedy Center.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpreiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your last stay. We are glad that you gave us a chance and enjoyed yourself in the midst of mixed reviews. We are very fond of the Neutrogena products and it is good to hear that you enjoyed them as well. Come back and see us upon your return to D.C. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at The River Inn. The room was large and comfortable. The windows opened to let the fresh air in as the room felt very warm. Loved having the kitchen and separate dressing area. The location was close to everything...walk to Georgetown, river, White House, museums and George Washington University.
The only complaint that I could think of was the shower wasn't that hot, or much pressure to it.
We didn't go to the restaurant but it was busy every night which makes me think that it was good. There were a stack of restaurants of all varieties within walking distance.
Late checkout was a bonus.
Overall, our stay was fantastic. Thankyou River Inn

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Hello there:

We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us. The only downside was the shower which we have informed our maintenance staff about. We apologize it was taken care of more efficiently. For your next visit we really recommend our restaurant. We will be happy to make reservations for you. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Lovely small hotel. Although we arrived early we were able to check in before noon. Rooms are large, clean, and with comfortable beds and pillows. In room kitchen with full fridge, two burners, microwave, coffee beans and grinder. My tall (6'4") husband found placement of toilet a bit cramped. Nice big towels. Staff were hard working and friendly. Location is amazing-- can walk to the Kennedy Center, Georgetown, and Metro in a few minutes. Plus it's very close to I-66 so if you are driving it's easy to get in and out of the city. Not luxurious in terms of level of staffing and amenities, but certainly above average for overall experience. And you just cannot beat the price for what you get. Valet parking. Had an excellent lunch at the in-house restaurant, Dish. Breakfast was fine but not exceptional. We will stay there again as it makes a great base for enjoying the city by day and going to concerts at the Kennedy Center in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaGoThere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Thank you for your positive review. We always do our best to offer early check-in and we are glad we could accommodate you. We are sorry about the positioning of the toilet. It is good to know that our guests value our hardworking staff. We hope to see you the next time you are in town. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Great quiet location was the highlight of this hotel. Everyone says it is the little things and in terms of a great hotel experience it couldn't be more true. I'm actually typing this from the hotel room as we just back (3:30) from a long day of seeing the sights. Needless to say our room is in the same condition as we left it. We did get fresh towels and the nice house keeping staff did let us into the room since our keys failed to work everyday since we arrived 5 days ago.

Warning. The hotel restaurant doesn't open up before 8 am on weekends so if you plan to get out early there is a hotel up the street that has a great breakfast. When we had breakfast yesterday morning we had zero refills and had to beg for our bill so we could leave. Not all bad as we did have a fabulous dessert here the other night.

All in all we won't be back at the River Inn anytime soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copyrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Hello there:

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience endured during your stay. I feel we should address your concerns as we value all our guests' feedback. We have addressed this review with our housekeeping department. I understand from your comments, that there were fresh towels given to you, only when encountering the housekeeper who let you in to your room. If this was the case this was a major failure on our part and we have spoken about this with housekeeping to ensure this does not occur again.The issue with the keys may or may not have happened due to the fact that key cards tend to get demagnetized going through security checkpoints and putting them in the same pockets as credit cards and cellphones. We have also contacted the restaurant manager and relayed your comments regarding the breakfast. Please feel free to contact us if any further comments or concerns should arise. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to hear from you. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Property: The River Inn
Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing