We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The River Inn
Ranked #10 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My family and I attended a wedding in Georgetown (late October) and we chose to stay here since we waited until last minute to get a room for a couple nights and this hotel is in a great location. We were able to walk to Georgetown, which worked out perfectly. Our room was comfortable and clean. The staff was nice too! Service calls, could be a little more prompt. We called for towels and it took about 20 minutes! Other than that, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harpertcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Yes, Georgetown is right around the corner from our location in the Foggy Bottom neighborhood, making travel to Georgetown on foot very easy! We are also happy you found our staff nice, and will be sure to pass it along to our entire staff. We apologize that your request for towels took longer than expected. Our goal for service requests is no more than 15 minutes. Again, our apologies for not meeting that expectation. Nevertheless, we thank you for deciding to stay with us when you return to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,255 - 1,261 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

The Potomac suite was perfect for our family. Great kitchen, lounge and huge bedroom.The pullout sofa was even comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly, the cleaning staff always had a smile and greeting as we ran into them. Pleasant walk to the river and the sightseeing bus. Would definitely stay there again if we get back to Washington DC.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

It’s always great to hear about a family vacation going well. We are overjoyed our Potomac Suite was perfect for you needs and most importantly, clean and comfortable. Receiving a smile is always a good thing, and we are happy to hear how welcoming our staff is even when you’re just passing by. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Washington D.C.!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is a lovely small hotel in the Foggy Bottom neighborhood with GWU a few blocks away. Location is prime. We walked to Georgetown for dinner, walked down to the Lincoln, WW II and MLK memorials; and for the attractions at the other end of The Mall, the Foggy Bottom Metro stop is steps away. Best value if you can take advantage of the full kitchenette and Trader Joe's is 3 blocks away if you want to stock up. Friendly staff. Didn't try the in-house restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

We are flattered at your description of us as a neighborhood gem, as well as your feedback regarding our convenient location. Being able to walk around to most of the attractions in addition to having a full kitchen is great, especially when on a budget. We hope the next time you visit us; as a suggestion, try our in-house restaurant, Dish+drinks, at least once when you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Boy is this place ready for a fix up - worn out and boring.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naturegirlcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We had a faultless stay at the River Inn (room 605), we were given free wine upon arrival, a free copy of the Washington Post every day, and generally left alone to our own devices (which we like).
Room was spotless, large and fully appointed. Reception desk was very efficient, location is excellent - no more than 20 minutes to the White House or Lincoln Memorial. Close to Kennedy Center and two blocks from a brand new "Whole Foods" and "Trader Joes". Both these shops are not exactly supermarkets as the British would understand (think Waitrose, rather than Aldi), but they had everything we needed for our 8 night stay.
Can I thank the management of the hotel for one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. Yes, it's not The Ritz, but for the price it simply cannot be bettered in a major capital city.

Room Tip: Go for a room above level 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noggin1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Older historic building in quiet residential neighborhood near George Washington University. Very clean, comfortable room with nice kitchenette. Little worn around the edges (chipped furniture; a couple stains here and there) but it did not detract from the experience. Staff was very friendly and professional. Only a couple blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro station and then just a short ride to all the main attractions. Whole Foods was also a short, convenient walk. Near the George Washington University Hospital so there were a few ambulance runs during our visit but it was not disruptive. Overall, very quiet. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thank you for your kind words. While we are not the newest hotel in Washington DC, we pride ourselves on our service and can do attitude. We are thrilled your experience at our hotel was good and that you found our location convenient to your needs. We are glad to hear you would stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

About half an hour walk to the main sites of DC and over the bridge to Georgetown. Room was clean with all amenities. Restaurant open for all meals although we didn't use this as ate out and had out own kitchen. Friendly staff who willingly helped us get around etc. Very close to bus and train.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madjik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

We’re very happy to hear your felt our staff to be friendly and more than happy to help you get around DC. We always love making our guests feel welcome. Our restaurant, Dish+Drinks, is an excellent choice to dine in for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and we hope that next time you visit us you try it out at least once. We look forward to your next visit to Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#8 of 142 in Washington DC
1,518 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
482 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#59 of 142 in Washington DC
1,441 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,246 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £89 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing