We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DC with Teens”
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The River Inn
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
156 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“DC with Teens”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My children (11 and 14) and I recently stayed at the River Inn. The biggest plus was the great location near GW and Foggy Bottom Metro and the kitchen in the room. It's on a residential street and in a charming neighborhood. There is a Whole Foods and a Trader Joe's very nearby to stock up on breakfast items/snacks,etc. We took the metro everywhere, it's close to Georgetown and the waterfront and just a few stops on the metro to the National Mall. Lots of restaurants nearby too.
We had a queen bed with sleeper sofa so it was fine for us. The room was a bit small and a little worn, but overall very satisfied with cleanliness, convenience and the great location. We did have dinner at the restaurant, (DISH+Drinks) one night and it's a bit upscale for family dining. I used the gym one morning and had it to myself. Basically just cardio machines but all up to date and clean.
I'd probably go back.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably have a view, we were on the second floor overlooking the street. Noise not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JenMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you found our location great for your family needs and that you were able to take advantage of both grocery stores and our fully equipped kitchen. Being only two blocks from the Metrorail is extremely convenient for our guests, as you can venture almost everywhere in DC with ease.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    511
    93
    37
    19
See reviews for
538
462
81
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

What a great place to stay when visiting the DC area! Close to the Metro but quiet, tree lined and peaceful. Nice place to unwind after a day of Smithsonians and monuments. The hotel is older so a random carpet wrinkle or a knick in the wallpaper but a VERY spacious room. We were here for our 25th wedding anniversary and were upgraded to a king suite. Nice kitchenette so we could eat breakfast in our room every morning before heading out for the day. Super quiet, professional staff. Use their bikes for free to ride up to Georgetown, etc. Walking distance to Kennedy Center, Georgetown, Metro. Beautiful neighborhood, felt like our little home away from home. Trader Joe's nearby for groceries.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank woolnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
We are honored and thrilled you chose our hotel to celebrate such a wonderful anniversary. Congratulations!! We hope you stay with us again the next time you visit Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I am currently staying here for 2 weeks with my wife and 10-month old baby in a "Corporate Suite" that has a separate bedroom. Points raised in other reviews are accurate: the rooms are large but worn, the Internet is very slow, the proximity to Trader Joe's is a plus, and the view from higher floor rooms is not bad.

I have one overwhelming complaint. It was just a few degrees above freezing last night, and the hotel has no heating. I only discovered this after I turned on the heat in our room, and waited 20 minutes for it to warm up, as the room turned into an ice cellar. Finally, I called the front desk and was told the entire building's heating system was turned off in March. I can't believe no one on the hotel staff thought to mention this to us at the point we made the reservation a few weeks ago (and requested a crib for our baby) or when we checked in with our infant in arms.

When I complained and said we couldn't stay in the hotel with our baby without any heat, the management sent us a small space heater. This is sufficient to heat the bedroom, but it leaves us confined there with the door holding back the cold air outside, and the whole reason we stayed at this hotel and are paying for the large suite was to allow our daughter to sleep while we used the rest of the suite.

I complained again today and requested a second heater to make the rest of the suite tolerably warm. I was told they would look into and get back to me, whichever they never did. I just called the front desk again and was told they don't have any more space heaters.

A good, acceptable space heaters goes for less than $20, 1/2 of 1% of the nearly $4000 we will spend if we stay here for 2 weeks as originally planned.

I am furious that we were not warned ahead of time that the hotel had no heat, particularly in light of the fact that we have a small baby, which the hotel knew about about beforehand. The hotel manager should have apologized to us before we discovered the situation ourselves and then sent one of the staff out to spend a few hundred dollars on heaters.

We are now on the fence about staying for the full 2 weeks, but I am too busy with work tomorrow to be able to move. We are going to wait to see if the weather warms up before deciding.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whirled_traveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
We apologize for any inconvenience you incurred due to the abnormal weather in April, but we are happy we were able to accommodate you with an extra space heater the next day. Please be informed, local stores do not sell space heaters in late April. We have unsuccessfully looked everywhere on multiple occassions. We truly hope this experience does not deter you from returning to us or recommending us to friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Walk to the Kennedy Center, shops, restaurants, GW University, the State Department, and a Metro stop. If you drive to DC but don't need the car, avoid the $40.12 a day valet parking fee by parking at the R Regan Airport economy lot for $12.00 a day plus cab fare. Fine staff, tree lined street, coffee beans and grinder in the room, fruit bowl awaiting your arrival. We recommend Suite 811.

Room Tip: It is a quiet neighborhood block so facing the street is not a problem. Suite 811 has top floor, cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Isadora6332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you found our location ideal for your needs, and for the helpful tips on how to save some extra dollars! While we do understand parking costs can seem a bit steep, these are fairly standard for the Washington DC area. The room you stayed is our Potomac one bedroom suite, which is one of our bigger suites containing a large king size bed along with a separate living room. We look forward to seeing you the next time your visit our Nation’s Capital!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the River Inn. We had a great time and the Inn was a great part of it. The location could not be better - it is in a safe, residential neighborhood near GW. There is a Trader Joe's 2 blocks away, the Metro 2 blocks away and a Whole Foods just past the Metro. All easy walking - plus you could actually walk to many sites as well - and it's just up the street from the Kennedy Center (which has free concerts every night at 6pm 365 days a year!). Our room was excellent - a queen bed, a full-sized pullout couch and a kitchen with full fridge, a stove top, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. All plates, silverware, pots etc. were supplied as well (if you have more than 2 in the room, then you need to request more towels and place settings as well). It was so key for us to have the kitchen - it made things so much easier, especially for breakfast. And the rooms are so much bigger than a regular hotel room so we weren't tripping over each other. Yes, there are a couple of minor upkeep type things you can find in the room, but overall the room was very nice, modern and clean. We couldn't hear any others in the rooms next door. The staff was very friendly and helpful - they even let us store our bikes in the storage room each night. They were very good with our 2 boys (ages 9 and 12) as well. Overall a great stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors, preferably in a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravlrFromMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
It’s great to hear your family had a great stay with us and took advantage of the large room. We’re glad to hear that our staff was able to take care of your needs. We believe Foggy Bottom is the perfect spot to stay in. It’s nicely tucked away from the hustle and bustle of DC, and just has a certain charm about it. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Old and worn out hotel, good location. Escpacially the beds are extremely worn out, but i have to say it has given me a good night sleep, where it not that we could hear everything what was happening in the room next door. Going to the bathroom, having sex, southing profanities or just walking around the room, we heard everything during our stay.

Had also a bad experience when we needed a taxi extremely early in the morning. The boy at the desk asked his "buddy" who was waiting outside with his towncar to drive us. It was the same as a taxi he said. We ended up paying 20 dollars for a trip which was 8 dollars earlier that week with a regular cab.

This is why i am not recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPMPmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear of your bad experience with your stay and shocked over the noise you heard from your neighbors, and wished very much to have been made aware of any issues concerning the noise level so that we might have taken the appropriate action. Typically our concrete-based walls reduce noise levels, and we rarely get complaints about our noise unless someone is playing loud music, and even then, we immediately address complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We got a great last minute deal for the River Inn so we cancelled our reservation at the Marroitt and stayed here instead. We were glad we did! While the hotel is not located in the middle of the action it was close enough and it was super easy to get everywhere (like the monuments, national mall & smithsonian). The foggy bottom metro is a 5 minute walk from the hotel (if that). If you'd rather walk everywhere, it takes about 20 minutes to the Lincoln memorial. The hotel is located on an adorable residential street right off the GWU campus. We felt very safe walking around here day and night (two females).

The hotel itself has a boutique feel to it. The rooms, while not luxurious, were more than adequate. The room was very clean and spacious. I agree with other reviewers about the age of the furnishings but that didn't bother us because it was neat and clean (I.e., leather headboard peeling, kitchen needs an update) I'll take a clean bathroom over modern furnishings any day if I had to pick.
The staff was always helpful in giving directions or getting us a cab. Check in and valet are very efficient. My one gripe is about the cost of parking- $41.00 a night with tax, but this seems to be par for the course for hotels in DC.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenniferlynne21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMgrWas, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
We are delighted that you were able to find a great last minute deal with us. We’re even more excited you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location close to all the attractions you were interested in. We are aware that it’s time to touch up some of our rooms and will be addressing the headboards this month. Thank you for your wonderful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Property: The River Inn
Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing