We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in Washington”
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The River Inn
Ranked #17 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Loftus. England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our stay in Washington”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Its our 40th wedding anniv and so we have come back to America, one of our favourite places.
The River Inn was spotlessly clean, staff friendly and helpful. Each day we arrived back after
sightseeing and our room was perfect. There was a small kitchen attached to the suite which was very handy for hot drinks etc. The restaurant was excellent with a good choice of delicious
foods. We would stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiRowcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Congratulations on your 40th wedding anniversary! I am glad that you two spent this special occasion with us at The River Inn. Thanks for your compliments to our staff, I'm glad that you liked the way our housekeepers left your room nice and clean. It's great that you were able to utilize the kitchenette during your stay as well, it is nice for those times when you don't want to go out for food. I'm sure the local grocery stores helped to keep your kitchen nicely stocked! Also, thanks for trying out our restaurant, Dish + Drinks. I'm glad that you enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to having you come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    521
    94
    37
    21
See reviews for
557
476
82
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We just finished a wonderful stay at The River Inn. The location is perfect, just blocks from the Metro and Georgetown, the staff are helpful, friendly and knowledgeable, and the price is right! In addition, the restaurant DISH located on the property provides a friendly place to meet friends, enjoy a drink or dinner and they are open for breakfast too. The large rooms with mini kitchens are great, feels like you have your own apartment in the heart of DC, truly a home away from home. Our stay was great and we made reservations for a return visit before we left.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TN_Traveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Hello there, and thank you for saying such great things about The River Inn! As you stated, the location is perfect. We are so close to public transport, and we are walking distance to a lot of DC's sights, including Georgetown! Also, I appreciate your compliments on the hotel's staff, we work very hard to ensure that you enjoy your stay. I'm glad that you had the chance to enjoy Dish + Drinks as well! They have great food and the atmosphere is perfect for hanging out with friends. It is funny that you say that being in our suites is like having your own apartment in DC, our hotel actually used to be an apartment building! When you stay here, you feel right at home. We are looking forward to your next visit at The River Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Great location for city holiday. Handy for many sights but also very quiet. Staff helpful.
Did not use restaurant, trader joe less than 5 minutes away. Rooms in need of upgrading
but clean and spacious.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Greetings! Thank you for your visit to The River Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. The location is perfect for our guests: close enough to get to DC's sights, but far enough away to have some peace and quiet! It's nice that you found the local Trader Joe's as well, it's a great place to go to stock up your kitchenette. Perhaps on your next visit, you can try our in-house restaurant Dish + Drinks! You mentioned that the rooms are in need of an upgrade, so I wanted to let you know that later this fall we will be renovating our suites (new furniture and carpeting). We would love to have you come back so you can see our changes! Thanks again for staying at The River Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Staff are very helpful and friendly. Doorman help you getting bags in and with finding parking. Desk staff help with directions, and the restaurant staff are very friendly and flexible. Rooms are spacious, and the sofa and easy chair make it easy to relax and have guests.

Room Tip: We were on a driving trip and the fridge helps you keep food safe and lets you freeze the freezer pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhlincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Hi, and thanks for your comments on your stay at The River Inn! We appreciate your compliments on our front desk and restaurant staff, as well as our bellmen. We do what we can to ensure that you are comfortable during your stay, and to make sure that you have plenty to do! I'm glad that you enjoyed the size of the suites as well, especially with the full kitchenette! It is great for entertaining guests and for making your own meals if you don't feel like going out. Thank you again, and hopefully we'll see you again soon at The River Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed here in September 2012. Chose the hotel mainly for location, which is great. Shame that can't be said for the hotel. Despite getting upgraded to an enormous 2 room suite, the room was very average. The decor is dated, the room cold and noisy from other residents and for a floor space so huge they managed to make the bathroom tiny. Shower ran tepid in the morning and the blind in the bathroom wouldn't close properly.

Breakfast was good if you want a cooked meal, poor for someone who wanted cereals (there weren't any).

Staff were helpful but overall for this price range I'm sure DC has better to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haddock2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Greetings, and thank you for your feedback on your stay at The River Inn. I'm glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, it is great for sightseeing since it is walking distance to many of the city's sights as well as public transportation. I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your suite though. I hope you were able to report the issues with your shower and blind to our front desk staff so we could get those issues resolved quickly. Either way, I will be passing this information on to our engineering staff. Also, I just wanted to inform you that within the next month or so we will be undergoing room renovations, meaning new furniture and carpets. We would love for you to come back and see our newly renovated suites! Take care, and we look forward to your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I had the recent fortune of staying at the River Inn. From the time of Check in which was 130am I knew my friend and I chose the right place to stay. Chris who checked us in was extremely helpful and friendly for that time of the morning. Our suite was more than I expected at did not want to leave. We had lunch the next day in the hotel Restaurant, Dish. and can only say the food and service was wonderful. Hats off to Adrienna and Kacen at the front desk. They gave me directions every time I needed and made sure I would not get lost. Always had a friendly smile when I would return and made sure everything they told me went well. I can only say each time I return to Washington I will stay at The River Inn. I feel it is like my home away from home.
Thank you all.

Room Tip: You will miss out if you do not stay at River Inn. Amazing Location, and great service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Hello there, and thank you very much for your compliments on The River Inn! We really appreciate the nice things you said about our front desk staff, we take pride in their ability to do all they can for our guests. I'm glad that you enjoyed your suite, as well as the in-house retaurant, Dish + Drinks! This means that you're going to have to come back and visit us again sometime. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Great location & service. Just a couple blocks from the metro, Kennedy Center, trader joe's and whole foods. The hotel is in a residential area so it feels more like home. The rooms are large with room to spread out and they have mini-kitchens. I had a view of the Washington Monument & the infamous Watergate.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenwondergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Greetings, and thank you for your recent visit to The River Inn! Sounds like you had a good time with us, especially with a room that has a view of both the Washington Monument and the Watergate complex! The suites are very spacious, I'm glad that you were able to utilize the kitchen during your stay. It comes in handy, especially with two grocery stores within walking distance! Like you, I love the location of the hotel, it is so quiet and peaceful, yet so close to the sights of DC. Thanks again, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,467 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
342 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,351 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,794 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Property: The River Inn
Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing