We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The River Inn, Washington DC”
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The River Inn
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I have just come back from my 2nd stay at the River Inn (1st was in August 2013), and I am so pleased I did!
My first comment has to be the friendly staff ( special mention to Will and Kacem) they were so kind and helpful, they definitely 'went the extra mile'!
The rooms are lovely, big, comfortable, clean and well furnished! Ps the beds are really comfy!!
Brilliant touches are the fresh coffee beans and grinder, salt and pepper in the cupboard, ice cubes in the large fridge/freezer, washing up liquid and sponge, dining plates, saucepans ect, all means that when you travel with your family these touches just make life easier!
The hotel is very well placed, lovely tree lined road and very close to the metro, close to Georgetown and not far from Lincoln memorial.
I will be back to the lovely city of Washington and when I do, I will stay at the River Inn!!!

Room Tip: Both rooms that I have stayed in have been equally good, on sixth and forth floors!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager924, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hi Jo L! Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate your kind words and your second stay with us. (And hope there will be more stays!) Our staff takes pride in customer service and being genuinely caring and friendly from check in to check out. We are so glad you enjoyed our rooms as a relaxed environment with great amenities and a comfortable room. We hope you were able to check out all the monuments and museums just walking distance from our hotel! My name is Michael and if there is anything I can do for you, please let me know!
We cannot wait for you to come back and stay with us at The River Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,719)
There are newer reviews for The River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Everyone was very accommodating from check in to check out. Room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We needed a cab and the bell hop went all the way to the comer to grab a cab for us. They really know the importance of customer service. The restaurant is great for an easy breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager924, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello carol m! Thank you so much for staying at The River Inn. It's so nice to hear that you noticed some of the advantages we have to offer! We take pride in offering our guests' a relaxed environment with great amenities and a spacious room. We really do appreciate your stay with us and we're glad to hear that our staff showed that during your visit. The restaurant is also here for our guests for a great breakfast, lunch, and dinner! We look forward to seeing you soon carol m!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have stayed at the River Inn many times, and it just gets better. Rooms are in great condition; maintenance is great; staff are uniformly professional and friendly.
The restaurant is always inviting and the food is excellent and well-priced. The big plus, of course, is that the River Inn has kitchens, including coffee pots that make real coffee. And they supply the beans and a grinder!

Compare this, for example, with the companion Avenue Suites, with its mediocre Keurig one-cup semi-coffee makers. if you are staying for a few days, isn't it nice to be able to make a pot of coffee.

Room Tip: Are there any bad ones?
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager924, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hi swinseattle! It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and so happy it gets better and better! We really appreciate your kind comments and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed the kitchen and amenities in your room, especially great with 2 major supermarkets in walking distance! We hope to see you soon swinseattle! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were treated very warmly and professionally. Check-in was easy, and our room was clean and cool and large. I especially enjoyed the whole coffee beans and grinder so that I could make my own fresh cup in the morning. We put our leftovers from dinner in the fridge and enjoyed being able to reheat them in the microwave the next morning. Walking distance to all major attractions or a short metro ride away. Biggest shower head I have ever seen! And if you arrive on the weekend, you can avoid valet parking and find a spot on the street since permit parking only runs during the week. We have found our new favorite hotel in DC!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessieViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager924, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Hi JessieViolet, thank you for calling The River Inn "A Gem of a Hotel", we really appreciate your kind words and we're glad you chose us. Our staff takes pride in being genuinely caring and friendly; not only at check in but throughout your entire stay. The fact that you stated you've found your new favorite D.C. hotel only adds merit to everything you said about The River Inn and we cannot wait for you to come back. Please make The River Inn your second home!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The River Inn is a nice alternative to the fuss of large chain hotels. Rooms, service and amenities are great. We stayed for one night while in town for the Nation's Triathlon. The receptionist greeted us warmly and check in was a breeze. All the rooms in the hotel are apartment style and are quite large. We had one of the smaller rooms and still had plenty of space. The coffee beans and grinder in the kitchen was a nice touch - MUCH better than instant coffee!

Free two-hour bike rentals and a later happy hour are additional bonuses. I highly recommend this hotel - it really exceeded all of our expectations.

Room Tip: Check out their "Suite Upgrade" special - info is on the website.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClintonHiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager924, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Greetings ClintonHiller thank you for staying at The River Inn. Being a lifestyle hotel, it's nice that you noticed some of the advantages we have to offer vs. large hotel chains. We take pride in offering our guests' a relaxed environment with well-placed amenities, dining opportunities, beautiful scenery, and complimentary bike rentals. Please come back and stay with us for your next Triathlon; we look forward to it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for our first visit to DC. Couldn't have been happier with the location or accommodations. Clean room, excellent shower, comfortable bed, full fridge, and kichenette, even had coffee beans and a grinder which was a nice treat. Trader Joes is just a couple blocks away, as is the metro, which was great for getting to the sights. Nice quiet location in residential area. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank riverroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager924, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Hi riverroxy, we love that you "Loved It". Thank you for the fantastic review of The River Inn as it will reach many people around the world. My name is Michael and please let me know if there is anything else I can do to make your next stay even better than this one; I look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My family had a lovely stay at the River Inn. The hotel has done a great job hiring quite a few friendly, cheerful staff members (cleaning, valet, front desk and management). Time after time, the staff had great 'can-do' attitude. When we checked out, for instance, we accidentally left some personal items. Elizabeth at the front desk helped me retrieve these items, and Wilson took the time to follow up and let me know my items were on the way. On check in, we also requested a room switch (we had forgotten to ask for a room with two beds), but a member of the front desk quickly came upstairs to give us new keys and help move a crib to our new room. The next day we had to rush out of the room to make an appointment, and we left the room a mess. When we returned, we found that the cleaning staff had put away many of our items away for us.

Rooms were spacious for our young family and having the full kitchen was very helpful. Decor is pleasant and modern (though, there are places where our room could have been touched up: kitchen countertop was slightly worn; there was rust on a small adjustable bathroom mirror, and there were some cut off pipes near the ceiling in the shower that looked like they were left over from the building conversion), but the room itself was kept very clean. Location is excellent (two blocks from Foggy Bottom Metro, two blocks from Trader Joe's, 10 to 15 minutes walk into M street in Georgetown). It is within close walking distance to a couple of the big brand hotels. There is little to no wait time when you request your cars from valet. The staff makes the River Inn a great value gem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comfortinnhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager924, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Hi comfortinnhf, thank you for your review! It sounds like you really enjoyed your visit with us. We really appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel and how friendly the staff is. I'm glad the staffs' "I can do attitude" impressed you; it tells us that our staff is doing an amazing job making you as comfortable as possible. The suites with kitchens are great aren't they? It allows you to make your own meals (especially with Trader Joe's and Whole Foods in close proximity to the hotel). We're glad that you had a positive experience with us, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
1,502 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
434 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,527 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
364 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
3,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2152
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £90 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing