We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient and Cordial.”
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The River Inn
Ranked #17 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient and Cordial.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Ideal autumn weekend in Nation's Capital, glad sister chose this lovely inn, felt like we had our own apartment, and appreciated how close it was to the Kennedy Center, Georgetown, transit, an even a Trader Joe's!

Room Tip: I liked all the ambient sunlight on street side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kacem O, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Walter M,

Thank you and your sister for choosing the River Inn on your recent visit to Washington DC. Our apartment-style guest rooms are indeed unique and we are so glad you found them comfortable during your trip. Having Trader Joe's right up the street is so convenient...especially for us as our rooms have kitchens in them! We look forward to your next visit with us at the River Inn.

Best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    523
    94
    37
    21
See reviews for
559
477
83
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was my second visit to The River Inn. It is a short walk from the Foggy Bottom metro, which in DC is a huge bonus. The neighborhood is filled restaurants and a Whole Foods. There was even a farmers market on Wednesdays. The hotel staff is exemplary - incredibly friendly. The rooms are quite large with a kitchen. The rooms are clean and newly remodeled. The price is exceptional for the amenities and the location. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2013Lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kacem O, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
2013Lauren,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell all of our friends here on TripAdvisor about your recent experience at the River Inn. I must agree that the Whole Foods is great to hear nearby and the weekly farmer's market is always a great time! I have passed your great comments onto our entire staff who were elated to hear how appreciative you were of their hard work.

Best wishes and thank you,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I needed to find a hotel at fairly short notice near George Washington University, and, of course, checked TripAdvisor first. I found many favorable reviews of The River Inn, and also found that there was a special rate offered for the dates I needed. I am very pleased that I made this choice, and will add a very favorable report to the others!
The property has been recently renovated, and the resulting rooms are very lovely - mini-suites with both a Queen bed and sofa bed, restroom and kitchenette with full-size fridge and microwave. An unusual perk, which I have only previously found in a Sydney hotel, was a little coffee grinder and fresh coffee beans, rather than the usual packaged stuff. The bed and pillows are very comfortable; the pillows exceptionally so.
My only mild complaint was that the room was a little chilly the first night, and turning on the heat did not help. Upon mentioning this at the front desk, they explained that the central heating had not been turned on, because of a recent warm spell in the city, and they had a small space heater sent up to the room in case the chill continued.
The River Inn is located only two blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro station; exit the station and turn right on the pedestrian extension of "I" street which goes between the GWU Hospital and the Medical School. Cross over the diagonal New Hampshire Avenue, and continue one short block to 25th Street; turn right and the hotel is right there. Very convenient, and easy to reach from Reagan National Airport on the Blue Line Metro.
I did not try the restaurant, but prices seem quite reasonable for downtown Washington, DC.
I highly recommend the River Inn, and would return gladly!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maestrolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kacem O, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
maestrolms,

WOW! A 5-star review from an experienced traveler like yourself means the world to us. It always makes us feel so good when guests read about us on TripAdvisor and then decide to come stay with us. Thank you for noticing the little details such as coffee grinders and beans rather than your regular hotel coffee maker. We look forward to your next visit with us at the River Inn.

Best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at the River Inn for 4 nights in October 2013, and enjoyed it very much. Easy to get around without feeling land locked amongst high rise hotels. We really enjoyed the walk to the"Foggy Bottom" train station and we were given a short cut that made it even more enjoyable in the neighbourhood. We just wanted to knock on someone's door and see inside the homes.

Easy to catch a cab each day just outside the hotel. We took a cab to Mount Vernon and trained it home. It was shorter driving then trains but both were enjoyable and when you return to the hotel you are always greeted by a friendly voice from staff.

We were in a junior suite that worked very well for us as our daughter was travelling with us. The
kitchen allowed us to have dinner in as we were to tired to go out. We picked up something to eat
at Trader Joe's one night and Whole Foods another night.

We found we were fairly central to everything we were doing. We would definitely return.
Great staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seven7up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kacem O, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Seven7up,

High marks from a TripAdvisor "Top Contributor" makes us feel wonderful! I must admit - even as someone working in this neighborhood; I am still tempted to knock on the doors of our neighbors to see inside the beautiful homes. The kitchens inside our suites do indeed make our guests feel at home and I am glad that it did the same for you.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for your great comments.

Best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This reminds me of a boutique European hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff was excellent, especially Will. The neighborhood is very nice and safe with many resyaurants to select from. Even though, the hotel restaurant,Dish is excellent. Great food with excellent service. The rate was quite a value. I look forward to many more visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kacem O, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Lawrence G,

The River Inn does indeed resemble a beautiful European boutique hotel! Thank you for taking the time to mention Will who is a fantastic front desk employee. Positive comments from experienced travelers like yourself reminds us that we are headed in the right direction towards our goal of service perfection.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in early October 2013, and loved our location just a short walk away from Georgetown or the Foggy Bottom train station. It was a short train ride to the Capital Hill area, but we ended up spending more time in Georgetown due to the government shut down and all of the museums being closed. We loved that area! Fun shopping and so many different food/bar options. We went to a show at the Kennedy Center one night, and that is just a short walk away as well. The room was spacious, we loved the desk space and the kitchen...we even stocked up on drinks and snacks at Trader Joe's (also just a few blocks away!) It felt like a little apartment. The staff was always very welcoming, the room was clean and quiet. We were thrilled with our decision to stay here, and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kacem O, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Melissa J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the River Inn with all of our friends here on TripAdvisor! We do indeed get a large number of guests attending shows at the Kennedy Center due to our proximity to the venue. While the government shutdown did close some of the museums in DC, it is great to hear that you still had a memorable visit. Come back and see us soon at the River Inn!

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

If you are looking for a hotel as a base for exploring the sights, look no further!
Situated in residencial back streets, gives you a quiet peaceful nights sleep.
Location is great for walking to Lincoln Memorial and onto the rest of the city's sights, also close to Georgetown and its quaint restaurants.
Our room was clea, spacious and well equipped.
Staff were friendly and efficient.
Parking is an issue in DC so valet parking was very convenient.
I would recommend this hotel for price, location and comfort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilson1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kacem O, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
wilson1966,

The unique, residential location of the River Inn is indeed perfect for a peaceful night's sleep after a long day in Washington DC. While just walking distance to Georgetown and the monuments, our serine environment feels more like coming home rather than back to an ordinary hotel. We thank you for your wonderful comments and look forward to your next visit with us at the River Inn.

Best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,471 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
351 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,358 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
1,798 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Property: The River Inn
Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing