We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place but hard to find in the dark with construction”
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The River Inn
Ranked #12 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Don't let this comment make you not stay here. It is a lovely little oasis away from the craziness that is DC...very close to lots of local restaurants, and very importantly, the Metro. Room is very nice sized, all are suites, I think. Full kitchen. Decent bath. Having dinner at The Dish this evening before the theater at Kennedy Center, which we plan to walk to. Just try to get here before dark...lots of construction make it tough to out maneuver Google maps.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Roanokefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Greetings Roanokefoodie!

Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your experience with us at the River Inn! We could not agree more that our location is so close great dining, shopping and transportation but tucked away to create a true home away from home experience. Glad you had a chance to experience DISH as well. Amazing restaurant that offers incredible fare and is a local favorite as well! Thanks again for sharing and look forward to the opportunity to host you again!

Warm regards,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

The River inn is within walking distance of both the Georgetown area and all the museums and memorials in the Capitol area. The rooms are huge..and the prices were very reasonable. The staff was very friendly and helpful..the doorman always gave us easy directions (better than Siri's!). I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to D.C.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Greetings Dawn C!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the River Inn! It’s always wonderful to see that our team took such good care and that our location made for a relaxing stay. Our team here is so focused on our guests and their individual needs, can’t wait to share this great feedback with them! Thank you for spending time with us and hope to see you soon!

Best,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Small hotal, very well located (close to George Washington University), staff is very nice and very pleasant. However, watch out for the room you have reserved and the room they finally get you. We have reserved a big room (two double queen size beds + kitchen); finally we got a single queen bed + kitchen. And they did it twice!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria_Alava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Greetings Victoria_Alava!

Thank you so much for spending time with us at the River Inn! I am so happy to see that our team was able to make your stay such a pleasant one. I am so sorry that there was confusion on our end in regards to your guest room and ensuring the proper type was given. I would greatly appreciate an opportunity to make this right for you. Please feel free to reach out to me directly so we can discuss. Thank you again and I look forward to connecting soon.

Best,

Lee Seiler
General Manager
The River Inn
202-337-7600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the River Inn for a week in between a move out of a rental and a move into a coop apartment we had renovated. It was a perfect location nearby our new place, the staff was great, the room had everything we needed, and the restaurant Dish is wonderful. Dish even catered a lunch for our contractor's workers and our movers, who were all one big family on move day! In sum, it was a great experience. Highly recommend this wonderful little hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Greetings Joanne A!

Thank you so much for staying with us at the River Inn! What an absolute pleasure to host you while you were renovating! We really do have an amazing team here and all are focused on creating memorable stays for our guests. I am so thrilled that we took such good care during your time with us! It’s great to see the team in DISH took such great care as well! Thank you once again for the nice words hope to see you very soon!

Best,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I was in DC for a 2000+ person conference, which was held near Metro Center. The hotel prices were ridiculous, so I found this and read the rave reviews on TripAdvisor. What a nice break from the mega-hotel! I arrived on a bitter cold, snowy night and was welcomed by the green lights on the trees in front. The place was very pretty and friendly. The room was large and comfortable, with a kitchen -- more like a studio apartment. Great design, and comfortable furniture. Steps from the Foggy Bottom metro, but on a quiet residential street. I didn't get to try the restaurant, but next

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Greetings saraholy!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us at the River Inn! I am so pleased that our team here and beautiful property provided the ideal stay for you. We strive on delivering a personalized level of service to ensure our guests have an amazing experience. Our guest rooms really offer so much space to spread out and create a true home away from home feeling. We are the perfect escape from the ordinary and we thrive on creating memorable stays for all of our guests. Thank you once again and make sure to stop into our phenomenal restaurant DISH on your next visit!

Warm regards,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We booked through booking.com and got a junior suite, it was amazing, full kitchen and the room was huge. Only a few minute walk to George Town and not far from Lincoln memorial.
Parking cost is a joke but standard for washington unfortunately.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melheness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hello melhenness!

Thank you for spending time with us at the River Inn during your visit to DC! I am thrilled that you found our guest accommodations so comfortable! It’s great to see our location was so conducive to your stay as well! Since we are tucked away right between Georgetown and The National Mall, we truly are steps away form the best DC has to offer.

All the best and hope to see you in the near future!

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We chose this hotel after finding it on Tripadvisor, and for us, it lived up to all the hype. We were looking for a reasonably price hotel in a convenient location to the metro (5 minute walk) and within walking distance to the various monuments (we're walkers) if we chose. We were able to walk to the war memorials, the White House, the Capitol, Georgetown, and more. Our suite was a nice size, clean and comfortable. And the service were great...all staff were friendly and more than willing to help.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thedime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Hello thedime!

Thank you so much for spending time with us at The River Inn! I am so pleased to see that your stay with us was a great one! Our location cannot be beat as we are nestled on an amazing tree lined street in Foggy Bottom but just steps away from DC’s beautiful monuments and Georgetown as well! Our guest suites provide our guests with wonderful space to create that home away from home feeling. I look forward to sharing your thoughts with the whole team here. We pride ourselves on providing a unique and memorable guest experience, so happy we could make your journey to DC a fantastic one!

Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon!

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,587 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
573 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,385 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#44 of 141 in Washington DC
495 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £70 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing