We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful place to stay in Washington!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The River Inn
Ranked #12 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to stay in Washington!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The suites in the River Inn are attractive, comfortable, spacious, clean, and quiet. The location is optimal, convenient to the Metro, the Kennedy Center, national monuments, universities, and restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent, and the hotel's staff is professional and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZeldaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    499
    88
    36
    19
See reviews for
523
457
79
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotts Valley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel was just beautiful !!! The place was close to the many attractions in Washington dc. The had a very good tour package that we took. The Lincoln Memorial, George Washington monument, Airospace Museaum and walking around the white house was very nice. It was a little busy when we had visited and a little chilly but otherwise a great visit and a great hotel to stay in Washington.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

From the moment we walked in until the time we left the staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. After one very warm day of touring we walked in to be greeted by name with a glass (or two) of champagne compliments of the hotel. We loved our spacious, clean suite with expansive views of Washington. It was only a twenty minute walk to the White House but in that twenty minutes you leave the business of the city into a pleasant, tree lined residential street. The restaurant was excellent as well (try the scallops). I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darlenetes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for four nights in April with my family of four. It's a little off the main DC attractions but right on a subway line in a quaint neighborhood in the university area. I really like how close it was to Trader Joe's and whole foods, just two blocks. The rooms are spacious. The staff is extremely friendly. The rates were affordable for a DC hotel. I will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emerald_City_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two days great location large rooms and great service from Ben in the bar. Walkable distance to all of the museums and monuments and seconds away from foggy bottom metro station for all those that don't like to walk

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A 4-night city-stay here was a delight. Decently priced suite with galley kitchen including 2-ring gas range suited our needs perfectly. Crisp white bedlinen, super comfortable bed, spacious airy roomwith good seating. Staff extremely helpful and the greeting with cool sangria at the end of a hard days sightseeing just topped things of beautifully. A three minute stroll to the nearest Metro was really convenient,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I needed a place to stay for 4 nights while attending our son's graduation in DC and booked The River Inn on Trip Advisor recommendations. We couldn't have been happier with the choice! With a clean, quiet, spacious room and safe location, great air conditioning, along with decent prices, we will certainly stay again and recommend it to others. We were within walking distance (about 20 min) of the Lincoln Memorial and Mall, but the Metro was closer and certainly convenient. We also walked the two blocks to Trader Joe's to stock up on snacks and drinks for the kitchen. I never felt unsafe and we walked everywhere, even in the evening. There were many nice touches, such as cold, lemon water near the reception area. Very refreshing after a long day of sight seeing! We also loved the coffee beans, grinder and coffee maker provided to jump start the mornings. I am very happy that we chose The River Inn and look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and found it exceptionally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Property: The River Inn
Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing