We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Staff But Could Use Upgrade”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The River Inn
Ranked #14 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Northwood, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Location and Staff But Could Use Upgrade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent 4 days in Washington, DC for one of our short family getaways. We chose The River Inn based on all the great reviews. We were not disappointed with the great staff. We arrived a few hours before official check-in time, but our room was ready and we were given our card keys without delay. Originally, our room was to have a kitchenette. The room we got initially did not have a kitchenette. Izzy, one of the great staffers working the reception area, addressed that issue immediately and before we knew it, we were in a 2-room suite with a kitchenette. Any time we needed a car service for transportation, the front desk arranged it without delay and the car service was always prompt. We had an issue with the business center printer but the front desk staff remedied the situation and our boarding passes were printed within minutes. The hotel is clean and comfortable. Amenities include free Wi-Fi (with an excellent signal), business center, laundry room (one washer, one dryer and each wash/dry costs a total of 12 quarters), fitness center with a handful of cardio equipment and physioballs and a tv, and a restaurant on site. No pool. We did not dine in the restaurant, Dish, but the menu is displayed in the elevators and included many appealing offerings. Housekeeping was quite good during the week (zero complaints), not so much on the weekend (kitchen trash not emptied, bed not entirely made, some used towels not removed). The room was comfortable. The AC is noisy clicking on and off but you get used to it. Effective room-darkening shades. The kitchenette had a microwave, fridge, a 2-burner gas stove top, and garbage disposal. Dishes, glasses, utensils, pans included. Coffee beans, grinder, coffee maker. The bathroom was tiny for a 2-room suite and the bathroom door almost needed to be slammed to stay closed. The sink was cracked. Peeling ceiling. The tub was tiny and was made to look even tinier with the huge rainfall shower head. Much of the laminated furniture had gouges and scratches. The beds were comfortable and firm with plenty of pillows. Our son was able to stretch out on the pull-out sofa bed and sleep comfortably. We were on the 8th floor and had some great views. This Inn is located in the midst of a residential street. Front desk staff were very professional and generous with their time, giving us maps and recommendations for area restaurants and attractions. Georgetown/the waterfront was a comfortable walk as was Washington and Dupont Circles. Many great eateries in the area including SweetGreen, Whole Foods Market, Circa, and Devon & Blakely. Many Starbucks locations in the area!! Wish they would add a pool and update the furniture and bathroom, but we would stay here again. Great staff, service, and location!!

Room Tip: From our 8th floor room we could see the Washington Monument.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ptmd2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    504
    92
    37
    19
See reviews for
534
458
81
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkville, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I searched many different Hotels and locations around DC and am so glad I chose the River Inn. The location is excellent. My husband and I took our daughter and granddaughter on this trio and couldn't have been happier with our room. We were on the eighth floor and our room faced the Potamac. We had a separate bedroom, living room and dining area, and a small kitchen. It was great to have a fridge in case we wanted to keep food or drinks and snacks. The view was awesome. It was 2 blocks to the metro which was so easy to use. We used it every day to visit the White House and all,the Smithsonian Museums. At night we walked to Georgetown. Great shops and restaurants. The hotel arranged for a limo to get us and take us back to Dulles. The driver was so friendly and gave us great tips. We opted for the hotel breakfast and it was great. There is also a small bar and they serve dinner too. Small foyer with fireplace. Staff was very helpful, room clean and modern. We have booked there again for this October due to the great experience we had on our first visit.

Room Tip: Eighth floor suite facing the river was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The River Inn is a nice Hotel with very friendly staff and we were welcomed warmly with the offer of a refreshing drink after our flight from Montreal. The reception staff offered maps of the area and marked the nearest supermarkets and the metro which is only 2 blocks away. The suites are huge, more like an apartment, well set out with the bedroom well away from the living and kitchenette area. The only downside was the condition of the furniture with so much of the laminated edges off it made it look a bit shabby and the doors in the kitchenette desperately need attention as they are so badly fitting, Bathroom a bit small for the size of the suite. The area around the hotel is mainly residential and called Foggy Bottom, it is within walking distance of the old and trendy area Georgetown and the White House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We travelled with our three grandchildren, 11, 10 and 6 years old. This hotel could not have been more perfect for our purposes - monument touring and good restaurants.

The room was a outfitted with a queen bed, bunk beds in a small, but adequate room, and a sofa sleeper. The bathroom was a two-room affair with a walk-through dressing room.

The whole space was kept clean and orderly through-out our stay.

The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were wonderful. When I got in bed and realized how comfortable they were, I decided I needed to look and see if there was a brand that I try to find for my bed at home, but before I knew it, I was out for the count - very comfortable. I had read that the AC was noisy when it turned on and off. Well, I was aware of it turning on one time. Again, I was out for the count.

The restaurant Dish was wonderful for breakfast. Presentation was wonderful with good tasting fresh fruits as garnish. Portions were actually enough for growing grandchildren with huge appetites.

The staff was very accommodating, friendly and professional.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's tucked into a quiet, tree-lined residential neighborhood, but very close to restaurants, the Metro, a Catholic church and an easy walk to many of the monuments we wanted the children to see.

I would have a hard time saying enough good things about the hotel and would recommend it to family and friends planning a trip to DC.

Room Tip: Room 310 worked well for us, but it did not have a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The River Inn is a regular destination for my trips to D.C. It is an older hotel but its strength is the staff and the location. It is located close to Georgetown, with its many attractions, and within walking distance of Dupont Circle. It is in the middle of a quiet residential area but close to bus routes. The staff at this hotel is outstanding - very friendly, helpful, and responsive. The hotel has a couple of drivers on call, including MK who is a treat to travel around town with. Keith, the bartender in the lounge is always entertaining and can converse on a variety of topics.
The rooms are very spacious with kitchenettes nicely tucked away in most. In some rooms the air conditioning seems to struggle to keep up on muggy days. However, my companion on this trip said the air conditioning in his room was more than up to the task. The hotel is not top-rank in terms of facilities and some aspects are showing their age but it is good value and I will gladly return with no hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights and couldn't fault this hotel. It was so quiet and peaceful yet only five minutes walk to the metro and about fifteen minutes to Georgetown and all the restaurants and shops and bars. The staff were very friendly and our junior suite on the top floor was large and spacious. It also had a full size kitchen hidden around the corner which we didn't actually use but would be very handy for a family. I liked that we had a desk and sofa and didn't have to always sit on the bed as is the case in so many hotels with small rooms.
I can't fault this hotel really as it was a very good price for such a nice comfortable hotel.
It exceeded my expectations and I would definitely stay here again when I return to Washington.

Room Tip: The higher floors may be quieter although it is in a quiet residential street so probably they would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmandaOZ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our first trip to Washington and after touring all over the US for a month, The River Inn was one of our favourite hotels of the whole trip.
Hotel is situated in a very quaint area of Foggy Bottom minutes away from Transport and selection of eateries. Upon arrival Reception staff Kiley and Will were outstanding, promptly checking us in after assisting us with our luggage out of the taxi.
As other reviewers have stated, rooms were more like apartments which were very clean, tastefully decorated and had a kitchen with fridge and tea/coffee making facilities.
Kiley's local knowledge was extremely helpful assisting us with directions to Metro(5 min walk) and monuments(15mins walk to Lincoln Memorial) as well as other points of interest.
In-house restaurant is called Dish....it was so good the first night that we returned the following night and it did not disappoint.

Thank-you to all the wonderful staff at River Inn for making us feel like we were at home.
Cheers
Happy Vegemites from Adelaide

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#7 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Property: The River Inn
Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing