We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service, and facilities”
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The River Inn
Ranked #12 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed four nights at this hotel. The location is really good. It is within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to see. It is also located near a grocery store (Trader Joe's), drug store (CVS), good restaurants, the Kennedy Center, the mall, the Smithsonian and other places of interest. We walked almost everywhere and if we were too tired to walk home, we took the Metro to Foggy Bottom that is only 200 yards from the hotel.

The service was also very good; all the staff were really accommodating. We had no cold water during the last day of our stay and didn't want to change room. They let us use the bathroom of the room(that was vacant) across the hall from us.

The kitchen in our room was really useful. We made our breakfast and brought a packed lunch with us when we left in the morning. This not only allowed us to save some money but we were also able to eat healthy. We also ate in most evenings. Trader Joe's had good prepared fish that we cooked ourselves. The hotel provided coffee, tea, and basic seasonings like salt, pepper, and sugar. There were also pots of various sizes, a frying pan, and crockery and silverware for two. If you have more than two people staying, you can ask for more.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Thank you for your kind review. We especially find it pleasing that our staff was attentive and assisted you properly with the cold water incident, for which we apologize profusely. This day in age cooking saves alot of money and it is great to know we could help with that as well. Come back and see us the next time you are in DC. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,417 - 1,423 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2010

Stayed here for six nights with my wife on a trip to see the sights in Washington and environs. The hotel is very well situated in a leafy residential neighbourhood. Foggy Bottom metro station is a 5-8 minute walk and Georgetown is a 10-15 walk. If you don't mind walking further afield, it is about a thirty minute walk to either the White House or the Lincoln Memorial. The suites in the hotel are a good size and are well equipped as are the kitchen areas. The only slight negative is that the decor in the rooms is a bit tired and could do with refreshing. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant a couple of nights and were pleasantly surprised at how good and reasonably priced the food was. It could be regarded as rather idiosyncratic that the hotel had turned off its air conditioning for the winter when we arrived even though the temperature was 24C. Overall a good hotel that we would return to.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDW_Wimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to the States. We are happy to hear you found our location convenient and our rooms well equipped. We have had some feedback regarding the condition of the rooms and are working towards improving that. I hope you had the lambchops in our restaurant as they are my favorite dish. Accept our apologies for the room temperature. Being a historic building, we have to switch back and forth in accordance to weather predicitions. We hope the next time you are in town you give us a call. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Booked two one bedroom suites for two families. Loved the hotel and the location makes you feel like you are living in the inner city. For the three nights we parked the car and walked every where or took the subway. Lot's of restaurants nearby in Georgetown and kids loved the TGI Friday's restaurant nearby and the adults enjoyed the frozen margarita specials after a DC summer heat wave and dealing with small children and crowded but brilliant museums. Reception helpful. One bedroom a perfect size for family of four. Highlight was getting up early to beat the heat and running down the Mall, past the monuments and around Capitol Hill - has to be one the great runs of the world.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaribbeanDakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

Hello there:

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I have to agree that the metro is the best way to travel in DC. And what better way to finish off than with some frozen margaritas!!! I have to mention that you have inspired me to jog again. Please come back and see us the next time you are in town. Thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The River Inn had several significant issues that made a recent trip intolerable:

1) No AC -- the air conditioning was "turned off" for the year -- so in early fall, when the temperatures were hitting 80+ degrees outside, our room was too hot.
2) Poor response of the management -- we reported a siginificant health and safety issue to the management early in the morning. It took more than twelve hours for it to finally be resolved -- well, sort of resolved. We were given a new room but never heard if the underlying health and safety issue was actually fixed or the next person will face the same issue.
3) Slow internet access -- my cellular aircard was faster.
4) Don't bother with the breakfast room service...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2010

Hello:

Our apologies for the issues encountered while staying at our hotel. As front office manager and representative of this hotel, I feel the need to address your issues promptly. Our building is a historic building and can only function either on heat or AC. We base this decision on upcoming weather and area forecasts. During this last period, said sources indicated that the temperature was going to be substantially low and hence our need to convert to heat. In regards to the issue mentioned, I remember it clearly. We are sorry for the lapse in hours, but we were and are generally sold out and needed to ensure that rooms were in fact clean before moving you to the other room. Rest assured that we have taken care of the issue. We have done a diagnosis of the internet based on your feedback and it seems to be working perfectly as of this moment. Finally as far as the breakfast room service is concerned, I will forward this over to our restaurant manager to see if he recalls any recent issues and we will take the necessary steps to correct all of these actions. We thank you for your feedback and again, are sorry that your stay was not enjoyable. Please contact us if you have any further questions. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We chose the River Inn for its location, close to Georgetown and also close to a metro station, in this case, Foggy Bottom Station. It was an easy ride from Reagan Nat Airport on the blue line to Foggy Bottom, and then an easy 2 block walk to The River Inn. We bought a Smart Trip Card good for the metro, metro buses, and the DC Circulator bus at a CVS Pharmacy a few blocks from the River Inn in the Watergate complex. We could then put on added value as needed at kiosks in the metro stations. The metro is easy to use and not threatening at all. We also found out that walking a couple blocks to Pennsylvania Avenue, we could easily catch a bus to Georgetown for dinner, which was nice even though Georgetown is within walking distance of The River Inn, after a long day of sight seeing, it was nice to just ride over.

The River Inn is located on a peaceful residential street. It was quiet at night, and a nice retreat at the end of the day. We got the bigger room which provided a separate bedroom. It was very spacious, with a full wall of windows and a nice view. We were on the 6th floor at the back of the hotel. The carpet and couches were somewhat soiled, but overall, a nice place to stay. The bed was very comfortable.

The front desk and all the staff was very friendly. There were a few quirks, such as an ad in the room folder about a pizza place, which when we called for delivery, was out of business. The front desk confirmed it, but really didn't have an alternative. Before we arrived and I called, we were also told we could purchase a Smart Trip card at Foggy Bottom Station, but that was not true; we had to walk to a CVS pharmacy for the initial card. We did have a nice dinner at Dish, the hotel restaurant the first night, and the staff was very nice.

Overall, it was a good stay. It felt good coming back to what felt like "home" after a busy day sightseeing. The location was great, and we were very comfortable at The River Inn. The price was not the cheapest, but we felt for the location, we did OK.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdahoMaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2010

Hello there:

We are happy you found your stay with us enjoyable. We are additionally pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and felt like "home" when coming back into our property. We apologize for the state of the furniture in your room. We are looking into a renovation very shortly. We will certainly correct that issue with the pizza place in the directory and look into having some more information available regarding metropasses and smarttrips. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Close to Georgetown and Dupont Circle, comfortable a spacious room, a quiet location,and very helpful and friendly staff. Good relaxing spot to touch down for a few days and take in the sights and sounds of DC.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wimbledon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

Hello there:

Thank you for your great review. It seems you enjoyed our location and our rooms as well. We are always pleased to hear that our staff was friendly, mainly because that is why we embrace hospitality in the first place. The next time you are in town we hope you will stay with us so that maybe we may even surpass your stay this time. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Thought it was fantastic.. The service was amazing, room spacious, and location really good.. Metro 2 blocks away and easy to use and shops and restaurants close in Georgetown... We travelled Europe and states for 6 weeks and river inn was the best we had.. Highly recommend it.. And good price!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeePNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

Wow...Thank you for your kind words. It is certainly fantastic to hear that in 6 weeks of travelling the USA and Europe, we were the best that you encountered. What means the most to us is the fact that the service was beyond your expectations. We hope you will come back and see us soon. Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
1,589 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
579 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,393 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
496 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £70 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing