We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem!”
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The River Inn
Ranked #17 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

This is an absolutely wonderful hotel! The suite in which we stayed had a fully stocked and immaculate kitchen. The clever room layout conceals it effectively and you don't even realize that there is an entire kitchen hidden in the corner. The room is very well decorated with nice dark wood furniture. The writing table was much larger than what you would normally find in a hotel.

Its in an excellent location; literally a block from the Watergate, GWU Hospital, Foggy Bottom Metro station, trader joe's and a lively M street area full of bars and restaurants.

As a business traveler i have seen my share of hiltons marriotts and crowne plazas. I have been absolutely delighted by River Inn's excellent accommodations and the helpful and friendly staff.

this hotel will be my first choice next time come to DC again.

The only downside has been the internet connection. While it is complimentary, it is very very slow. It is barely enough to load your webmail account page. Don't expect to be surfing the information superhighway on these airwaves.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenostrovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
Wow!! The title says it all!!! We appreciate the wonderful review and the kind words. Our kitchens are hidden but definately there. I see you explored the area well after all that is what DC is for. And of course, hearing that our staff has been extremely friendly and helpful always brings a smile to our faces. We do apologize for the speed of our internet. We are coming up with better ways of maintain bandwidth and we hope to solve that issue very very soon. Again thank you for your valuable feedback and we will see you the next time you are in our nation's capital!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    523
    94
    37
    21
See reviews for
559
477
83
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SYDNEY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Loved the location of this place. A short walk to the Metro so only minutes to all the main attractions. And a short walk to Georgetown with great food and shops. Trader Joes up the road is a bonus to get supplies anytime. The staff were always friendly and obliging and the rooms were a very good size with all the basic needs covered. While it was clean and comfortable, the property is showing its age a bit and for the price we paid we'd expect something a bit refreshed next time. Despite this, we would definitely stay here when visiting Washington again, assuming we could get a better deal.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJSSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
Greetings to Australia. Its great to read that you had an enjoyable stay. It is always fulfilling to hear you found our staff friendly and obliging. We are looking into a renovation of rooms sometime in the near future. We take feedback very seriously and want to please all our guests. We hope to have you back soon to offer you a great rate. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We (mother and daughter) enjoyed our stay here. Having a kitchen in the room saved us a lot of money on meals, and there's a Safeway and Trader Joe's close by for groceries. The neighborhood is lovely and the Metro station is an easy 2 blocks away. Perfect location close to everything. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZtravelerOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
Hello There:

Thank you for your great review. It was concise and very flattering. Trader Joe's is truly and asset to have in our neighborhood. We hope to see you sometime soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed four nights at this hotel. The location is really good. It is within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to see. It is also located near a grocery store (Trader Joe's), drug store (CVS), good restaurants, the Kennedy Center, the mall, the Smithsonian and other places of interest. We walked almost everywhere and if we were too tired to walk home, we took the Metro to Foggy Bottom that is only 200 yards from the hotel.

The service was also very good; all the staff were really accommodating. We had no cold water during the last day of our stay and didn't want to change room. They let us use the bathroom of the room(that was vacant) across the hall from us.

The kitchen in our room was really useful. We made our breakfast and brought a packed lunch with us when we left in the morning. This not only allowed us to save some money but we were also able to eat healthy. We also ate in most evenings. Trader Joe's had good prepared fish that we cooked ourselves. The hotel provided coffee, tea, and basic seasonings like salt, pepper, and sugar. There were also pots of various sizes, a frying pan, and crockery and silverware for two. If you have more than two people staying, you can ask for more.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
Thank you for your kind review. We especially find it pleasing that our staff was attentive and assisted you properly with the cold water incident, for which we apologize profusely. This day in age cooking saves alot of money and it is great to know we could help with that as well. Come back and see us the next time you are in DC. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Stayed here for six nights with my wife on a trip to see the sights in Washington and environs. The hotel is very well situated in a leafy residential neighbourhood. Foggy Bottom metro station is a 5-8 minute walk and Georgetown is a 10-15 walk. If you don't mind walking further afield, it is about a thirty minute walk to either the White House or the Lincoln Memorial. The suites in the hotel are a good size and are well equipped as are the kitchen areas. The only slight negative is that the decor in the rooms is a bit tired and could do with refreshing. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant a couple of nights and were pleasantly surprised at how good and reasonably priced the food was. It could be regarded as rather idiosyncratic that the hotel had turned off its air conditioning for the winter when we arrived even though the temperature was 24C. Overall a good hotel that we would return to.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDW_Wimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to the States. We are happy to hear you found our location convenient and our rooms well equipped. We have had some feedback regarding the condition of the rooms and are working towards improving that. I hope you had the lambchops in our restaurant as they are my favorite dish. Accept our apologies for the room temperature. Being a historic building, we have to switch back and forth in accordance to weather predicitions. We hope the next time you are in town you give us a call. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caribbean
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Booked two one bedroom suites for two families. Loved the hotel and the location makes you feel like you are living in the inner city. For the three nights we parked the car and walked every where or took the subway. Lot's of restaurants nearby in Georgetown and kids loved the TGI Friday's restaurant nearby and the adults enjoyed the frozen margarita specials after a DC summer heat wave and dealing with small children and crowded but brilliant museums. Reception helpful. One bedroom a perfect size for family of four. Highlight was getting up early to beat the heat and running down the Mall, past the monuments and around Capitol Hill - has to be one the great runs of the world.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanDakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
Hello there:

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I have to agree that the metro is the best way to travel in DC. And what better way to finish off than with some frozen margaritas!!! I have to mention that you have inspired me to jog again. Please come back and see us the next time you are in town. Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The River Inn had several significant issues that made a recent trip intolerable:

1) No AC -- the air conditioning was "turned off" for the year -- so in early fall, when the temperatures were hitting 80+ degrees outside, our room was too hot.
2) Poor response of the management -- we reported a siginificant health and safety issue to the management early in the morning. It took more than twelve hours for it to finally be resolved -- well, sort of resolved. We were given a new room but never heard if the underlying health and safety issue was actually fixed or the next person will face the same issue.
3) Slow internet access -- my cellular aircard was faster.
4) Don't bother with the breakfast room service...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
Hello:

Our apologies for the issues encountered while staying at our hotel. As front office manager and representative of this hotel, I feel the need to address your issues promptly. Our building is a historic building and can only function either on heat or AC. We base this decision on upcoming weather and area forecasts. During this last period, said sources indicated that the temperature was going to be substantially low and hence our need to convert to heat. In regards to the issue mentioned, I remember it clearly. We are sorry for the lapse in hours, but we were and are generally sold out and needed to ensure that rooms were in fact clean before moving you to the other room. Rest assured that we have taken care of the issue. We have done a diagnosis of the internet based on your feedback and it seems to be working perfectly as of this moment. Finally as far as the breakfast room service is concerned, I will forward this over to our restaurant manager to see if he recalls any recent issues and we will take the necessary steps to correct all of these actions. We thank you for your feedback and again, are sorry that your stay was not enjoyable. Please contact us if you have any further questions. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,470 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
351 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,357 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
1,798 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Property: The River Inn
Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing