We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Ranked #79 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location, Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Just spent the weekend at this hotel. The Dupont Circle area is a great place to base your visit to DC. Walking distance to many places or a short metro ride away. The hotel was quite nice and felt trendy. The room could use a few special or signature features. I asked for a higher floor, but i also should have asked for a view of the street. I ended up looking into office complex instead.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and a view of the street (not the back)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mybincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    469
    194
    48
    34
See reviews for
228
220
67
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

A few blocks' walk from Dupont Circle Metro station this hotel offers stylish rooms in a convenient location. Expect the usual Marriott Renaissance comforts and color palette of muted reds, beiges and browns, even Aeron chairs at the desks. Looking at the floorplan some of the standard rooms might be on the small side. In a room with eight light sources, it could still do with one behind the armchair - and perhaps even a small coffee table. But these are minor points. There is a pleasant bar/lounge area with an attached Illy café. The good breakfast buffet with omelets and waffles cooked to order is served in the Brasserie. The staff in this hotel was exceptionally friendly and welcoming; it's always a pleasure to be greeted when returning. I wonder whether they had in fact all received Ritz-Carlton training. The management certainly seems to have the right answer.

Room Tip: Ask how big the room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This hotel is nicely updated with very chic, modern decor (particularly in the lobby and bar area, but to some extent in the rooms as well). Nothing to complain about in the room (not particularly large, but what do you expect for a good location in DC?). I booked a special, non-refundable rate and was a bit worried when they gave us the room by the elevator (in the past, I've stayed at other hotels where that location is very noisy), but I didn't hear any elevator noise at all, making it very convenient.

While the hotel itself is nice, it's nothing you can't find at several thousand other hotels worldwide. Clearly what sells this one is the location, which is pretty hard to beat. A few minutes walk from both the red line and the blue/orange line gives you quick access to all of DC, and the area around the hotel itself is quite nice (easy walk to Dupont Circle, and not all that far to anywhere you'd want to go in DC).

Bottom line, a nice hotel in a great location, I'd happily stay again, especially for the deal I got!

Room Tip: Views on the interior are nothing special (brick wall), but the elevator noise is well insulated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The global hotel cuality is good but there are two points to make the difference:
1.- Location: walking distance to downtowon, monuments and George Town. Walking distance to the the metro/undergroung (A great city facility)
2.- The employees are really friendly and helpful.

A free gift: Special for europeans, the small Illy Cafe, excelent great coffee, expresso, of course.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sobas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Was here three days for business and left quite happy. Not really something to remember but no let downs either. Room was of adequate size, clean and quiet. Bathrom was fine aswell. Location is very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Was here for business and the hotel is within walking distance of most of the memorial sites that Washington D.C. has to offer. The room has a nice modern decor with a stand up shower.

Nearby you can find various coffee houses (illys, starbucks, etc..) and great variety of restaurants. The only drawback that I could think of is that the music in the lobby is a bit too loud to my liking. Sometimes, it is hard to have a conversation because of it. All in all it was a great stay...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spotmenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

This is a nice hotel within walking distance to many of the tourist attractions in DC. However, if I had gone there as a tourist, I would have stayed closer to the mall. I lived in DC for five years, so I know my way around quite well. The lobby of this hotel is very nice and stylish. The breakfast in the morning is great with lots of options. The rooms are great - plenty of room and great storage. I did find the beds to be just okay though. I was surprised by this, since I typically love a Renaissance bed (ie the shelbourne in Dublin). Overall, I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Address: 1143 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1522
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, relaxed elegance awaits you at the Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel. We welcome guests with thoughtful amenities and a prime location near some of the city's most popular landmarks. All of our 355 hotel rooms and suites are stylishly designed and boast goose-down bedding and luxurious Aveda bathroom products. Stay connected with in-room Internet access and Marriott's innovative Plug-In technology panels, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. M Brasserie, our signature hotel restaurant, serves fresh and flavorful American fare; M Bar is the perfect spot for a drink after a day spent exploring Dupont Circle. Planning a meeting or event in Washington, DC? Our innovative and flexible event space allows us to specialize in small meetings and ensure we cater to your unique needs. And be sure to ask our hotel Navigator for a few insider tips to help you experience the best of DC, the way locals do. Discover something new and exciting with every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing