We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the heart of DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Ranked #74 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Livonia, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of DC”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stay here each March for a weekend business meeting. They hardly let us out of the building! The rooms are pretty standard for a Renaissance and the meeting rooms are all in the basement, excuse me, garden level. Don't plan on getting much sunlight but the wifi signal is strong wherever you are. Great place for a meeting and the concierge has running maps if you want to escape for a while.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TK2012114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Hi TK2012114,
Thanks for the great review! Next time, hopefully you will have some time to explore the local area a bit because there is plenty to see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    476
    194
    48
    34
See reviews for
231
222
69
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Renaissance Dupont Circle for two nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was excellent. We were able to walk to plenty of shops and restaurants. It's about a 2 miles from the White House and some of the major museums so it's an easy cab ride or a good walk on a nice day. The room was clean and modern-looking but very small, especially the bathroom. Their parking garage was also closed for construction so they offered valet which was pretty expensive. We found a public garage a few blocks away on 22nd Street next to the Whole Foods which was more reasonable at $11/day on weekends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Hi Erin P,
Thanks for the candid review. It sounds like you had a great stay at the hotel! Our rooms do run a bit on the smaller side, but with so many different room shapes and configurations, please feel free to request one of the larger rooms that we have in the hotel and our team will do our best to accomodate you. And when you come back, hopefully the garage renovation will be complete so that you can take advantage of the convenience of the valet service! Feel free to reach out to me if you do decide to come back to the DC area.
Thank you,
Mike Horowitz
202-498-4873
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I really enjoyed my interaction with the staff at the Renaissance Dupont Circle. Ali works the bar/lobby area at night, and he is awesome. The concierge is skilled and knowledgable. I also loved the lobby, it is extremely functional for relaxing, eating, drinking, working, etc.

I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Hi 1Stutzman1,
Thank you for the great review! Excellent service is what we are all about. I will make sure to share this feedback with Ali and the rest of the team here at the Renaissance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is well located, but you will need 15 minutes walking to reach metro.
The hotel area is quiet and clean, no problems walking at night.
The bedroom is comfortable and the bathroom is clean.
There is AC, tv, refrigerator, iron and locker in room.
Staff was helpfull. They had concierge to help you if you need.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caproni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Hi Caproni,
Thank you for the great remarks! We pride ourselves on offering a clean, quiet place to stay just a few blocks away from Dupont Circle, Georgetown or the National Mall. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

On our first day we arrived we did as many would and walked around and explored the clean, amazing streets of DC. After our hours and learning the basics of the city, we were not bothered to go in a deep search for a restaurant as we were exhausted after our 7500 mile flight and DC exploration, so we settled to go with the food in the hotel, outcome was we were in awe! Food was amazing and cheap, but we did not go there every night of our 3 day stay as we fell in love with the nearby Luna grill & diner! Overall this hotel is a must stay as it is luxurious, cheap, clean and a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Probably should bring children to the city ages 10+ but still sources of brilliant entertainment all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFCreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Hi LFCreviewer,
Thank you for the fantastic review! I'm so glad you thoroughly enjoyed your time in DC with us. Come back and see us soon!
Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel is nice and funky in a good way, in a good location for the Dupont area, easy Metro access, very friendly and attentive staff, and good pricing. The rooms were reasonably clean and had a nice and interesting layout. However, two major problems affected my stay at the Renaissance DC. (this is essentially the same review I provided on a survey the hotel sent to me after my stay)

The first was the unbelievable amount of noise made by the house keeping staff that started around 9AM every morning and continued until about 6PM each evening, every day. It was a cacophony of loud bangs (like boxes and pallets being slammed on the floor), crashes, slamming of doors and carts, and unbelievably loud talking, shouting and socializing of the staff in and around the hallways near my room. The noise was enough that it would periodically make the door to my room shake and the walls of my room would vibrate. It made the room very difficult to enjoy during the hours noted. I have stayed in many hotels and have never experienced this sort of noise level. I think part of it was just overall poor noise insulation of the rooms in general.

The second issue, which is ironic given the frenetic activity of the cleaning staff noted above, is that my room was only made up once by house keeping during my 4 night stay. I had to grab clean towels off a housekeeping cart one time (this hotel is very miserly with the towels for some reason, get ready to ask for towels), and I called the front desk for clean towels another time. It was so disappointing to come back to the hotel in the evening after being out and about in DC much of the day to find that the room had not been made up. Part of the enjoyment, in my view, of staying in a nice hotel is coming back to a refreshed room every evening after the day's activities. Thankfully I know how to make a bed. By the third evening, my trash cans were overflowing, and used towels were piling up (I tossed those out into the hallway to be picked up).

The nightly rate of the hotel was good (DC is generally an expensive place), though the room internet charges per day are silly high. I might try the hotel again during a future visit to DC.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the elevators and house keeping storage room as you can to reduce the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hi S K,
Thank you for the candid review. I was very disappointed to hear about your experience with us. A quiet night's sleep is essential for our guests and we take this very seriously. This will certainly be used as a training opportunity for our Housekeeping team to ensure that other guests do not have the same experience. If there is any way that you could provide me specific information so that we can address the issue with regarding the insulation and noise control. Please feel free to reach out to me.
Mike Horowitz
202-498-4873
michael.horowitz@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed one night at Renaissance Washingtion DC Dupont Circle Hotel. Overnight was awaken by noisy guests in hallway as well as the slamming of doors throughout the night. Reported issue to the Front Desk but noise in hallway persisted. Left dining card on exterior of door for morning room service but breakfast was never delivered. Was glad to check out of the hotel for my flight home. Got more rest and sleep on flight home than at the hotel. Would not recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hi Cathy K,
I'm so sorry for this poor experience. We pride ourselves on giving our guests a quiet, comfortable night's sleep, and clearly this did not happen. It is disappointing also that you reported the issue and that it was not resolved. We have a 24 hour on site security team that takes these concerns very seriously. If you could provide some specific information of dates or times, as well as what room you stayed in, we can potentially have a better understanding of what happened that night and how this can be prevented in the future. Thank you for your feedback.
Mike Horowitz
202-498-4873
michael.horowitz@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,241 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Washington Marriott Georgetown
Washington Marriott Georgetown
#110 of 141 in Washington DC
70 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
3,078 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Address: 1143 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1522
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, relaxed elegance awaits you at the Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel. We welcome guests with thoughtful amenities and a prime location near some of the city's most popular landmarks. All of our 355 hotel rooms and suites are stylishly designed and boast goose-down bedding and luxurious Aveda bathroom products. Stay connected with in-room Internet access and Marriott's innovative Plug-In technology panels, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. M Brasserie, our signature hotel restaurant, serves fresh and flavorful American fare; M Bar is the perfect spot for a drink after a day spent exploring Dupont Circle. Planning a meeting or event in Washington, DC? Our innovative and flexible event space allows us to specialize in small meetings and ensure we cater to your unique needs. And be sure to ask our hotel Navigator for a few insider tips to help you experience the best of DC, the way locals do. Discover something new and exciting with every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing