We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Follow up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Ranked #88 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I had a poor experience in the restaurant a few weeks ago.. I reported it to the Assistant Manager who sits in an office behind the desk. She was apologetic and promised to report to the manager. She took my name and room number. Three weeks later, I haven't heard from anyone. The manager apparently doesn't follow up on guest concerns. The room, with tax, cost close to $400 a night. Not the service I would expect of a hotel in this class or price range.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dan1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Senior Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for sharing your experience with the Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations with follow-up to any challenges that you experienced while here with us. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued guest and everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. Please contact the hotel asked to connected with me so that I can resolve this matter for you.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is an excellent hotel in a perfect location. Though I was in town for a meeting and not sightseeing, this hotel is the perfect combination of first class boutique hotel in close proximity for all the sites. The STAFF is excellent and they genuinely want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Kudos to Emmanuel at the front desk for going above and beyond with his customer service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Here for three nights while doing all the sightseeing stuff. The staff were very friendly indeed from the front desk through to the staff on the doors, always a cheery hello and a how are you.
We had a room for two adults and two kids with two double beds and found the space to be fine. Location is good, about a fifteen to twenty minute walk to the White House and perhaps ten mins to the metro at Foggy Bottom and Farragut West or North. A few restaurants around the hotel with three right across the street. Would stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Found this searching for a hotel on the Metro Red Line. Very friendly staff, clean rooms, convenient coffee shop and bar in the lobby. Did not use the restaurant but nice to have that choice. Smaller rooms - boutique style - but nicely done for the space. Walked to the Kennedy Center and the Mall area but we don't mind long walks.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Similar to an earlier post, I too was checked in by Cory who was very friendly and offered several helpful reccomendations throughout stay.
Examples of outstanding service: fast and attentive room service, server noticed I was having a problem with the TV and took initiative to have someone call me to make sure I resolved (which I had). Room service very friendly and attentive; the maid noticed an almost empty tube of toothpaste on vanity and replaced with a new, large tube. The bellman ran out in rain and accross street to secure cabs during peak traffic.
The room was bright, comfortable and clean.
Very enjoyable stay for business.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I checked in with Cory who was most helpful and personable. His dining suggestions were right on the mark. Fine reception.
I went to my room - clean,colorful, small but certainly adequate, comfortable with nice Aveda products.
The internet $16.95 per day for their fast connection! Marriott: get over yourself! You don't charge extra for hot water or the TV. This is the 21st century. "It's free in the lobby." The very noisy lobby which is also the bar and dining room and the connection came in and out. Forget it! Starbucks is just around the corner with reliable connection.
Don't use their parking at $40+ per day. On the weekend Colonial charges $7... right across the street!
So if you took a plane or the train and don't use a computer...it's pleasant enough.
Sorry Renaissance...the "boutique" chat just doesn't cut it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happytravelers19348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Senior Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hi Happytravelers19348 -

Thank you for your review. While we are delighted to hear the Cory was able to help you discovery something wonderfully new, we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectation with regards to internet speed, connectivity, price, and valet parking rates.

Please accept our sincere apology for your experience not being satisfactory. We are currently in the process of upgrading our internet system in the hotel to correct the challenged that you mentioned with regards to speed and connectivity. There indeed are a few other parking options around the hotel however, our valet parking is offered at a comparable rate to the other hotels that are in the area with in and out privileges.

We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer and everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is an average hotel with average accommodations and amenities. The heating system is loud. I could hear through my walls very clearly to the room next to me. It was clean, the service was average. The fitness center was nice for a hotel center. The location is what would make me chose this hotel again. You have to pay $12.95 for wifi, seems pricey considering there is a Starbucks across the street where you could grab it for free.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neonsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Senior Operations Manager - Rooms at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hello Neonsafari -

Thank you for your review. Please accept our sincere apology for your experience not being satisfactory. Some of our guestrooms are unique in size and we make every effort to set the expectation during the arrival process. We would be delighted to have our Engineering Team inspect the guestroom that you stayed in, if you could provide me with that information.

We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer and everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Washington Marriott Georgetown
Washington Marriott Georgetown
#100 of 142 in Washington DC
142 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,292 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#41 of 142 in Washington DC
705 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Address: 1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £69 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, relaxed elegance awaits you at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel. We welcome guests with thoughtful amenities and a prime location near some of the city's most popular landmarks. All of the 355 rooms and suites at our hotel in Washington, DC are stylishly designed and boast luxurious Aveda bathroom products. Stay connected with in-room Internet access and Marriott's innovative Plug-In technology panels, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. M Brasserie, M Bar is the perfect spot for a drink after a day spent exploring Dupont Circle. Planning a meeting or event in Washington, DC? Our innovative and flexible event space allows us to specialize in small meetings and ensure we cater to your unique needs. And be sure to ask our hotel Navigator for a few insider tips to help you experience the best of Dupont Circle and DC, the way locals do. Discover something new and exciting with every stay including the National Mall, White House and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Splitty, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing