We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great Illy Cafe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Ranked #75 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel and great Illy Cafe!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my dad in March and it was my first trip to D.C. I decided to book this Renaissance property because there is an excellent Illy coffee cafe in the hotel lobby and we love good coffee. The hotel is clean and the rooms were comfortable. A bit smaller than usual, but this is also because it is more of a boutique style hotel. We enjoyed the hotel lobby for drinks in the evening and the bartender was very friendly and helpful! We also enjoyed the Illy cafe a lot in the mornings and evenings.

The hotel is in a good location in between Georgetown and all the monuments. We enjoyed walking everywhere. Georgetown is about a 5 minute walk so that is a lot of fun for shopping and restaurants. Also, you must go and eat at the Indian restaurant Rasika which is located right across from the hotel entrance. It was absolutely amazing (you have to try the Palak Chaat - so so so good!).

I would stay here again when visiting D.C.!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirjam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    476
    194
    48
    34
See reviews for
231
222
69
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Booked two rooms for our son's graduation.
While I appreciate that we were in the heart of DC; the room was incredibly small. Literally had to swivel the desk to get to the closet. And as is the custom in higher end hotels they charge for things that mid range hotels supply gratis. Examples: Warm bottled water: $5; Wi Fi: $12.95 for "fast" and $16.95 for "super fast" per day.
Perhaps those on expense accounts absorb these; I am offended by such charges after paying a premium rate for a supposedly premium hotel. Part of the Marriott family, but a major disappointment.

Room Tip: Shop for one of the many boutique hotels in the area instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkillDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that felt the room was incredibly small. We are a boutique style hotel, as it is listed on our web site. We would like to see you stay with us again if that was your only complaint and I will see to it that you get a larger room. As far as your comments about the internet; due to the competitive industry we do offer complementary internet in the lobby. The two price differentiations are for the varied speeds that can be used. Again, thank you for reaching out. If you have any further questions or concerns please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally. ashley.banks@renaissancehotel.com Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Excellent location and Best in Class staff from the moment you enter. Arrived during a rainstorm, as i walked through the doors, there were towels to dry yourself and umbrella bags to store your wet umbrella. Front desk was prompt, friendly and helpful. They recognized that i was a frequent traveler and noted that they gave me a preferred large room on a high floor away from the elevator and feather free as outlined on my profiled --WOW! Mentioned that i forgot my shaving kit and wanted to know how far was it to the nearest drug store. Gave me shaving cream and disposable razor. Room was indeed large by urban hotel standards. Lighting was also great by urban hotel standards. Bath area was clean and came with great Aveda products. Bed was comfortable and plush. Breakfast the next morning was a treat. A great well stocked buffet with an attentive wait staff. Given the price and location, this is a fabulous hotel in a city with many very good hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Although this is an older hotel, it has been well-maintained and carefully updated. The desk clerks go out of their way to help guests--from faxing homework back to a teacher to linking guests who need a cab to the same location. I have stayed here for four day periods each of the last two years as part of a very large high school competition. The event started with a banquet that left us all raving about the food and the level of service. It is a short walk down to the shops of Georgetown, close to the campus of George Washington University, and just two blocks from the metro that can take you anywhere in Washington. This would be the kind of place I'd pick to stay with my family if we were just going to sightsee within the capital area.
My only complaint would be the noise of hotel room doors closing early in the morning as people departed. The sound of folks allowing doors to slam was very audible and did wake me up early.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyC1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a nice hotel with great service and the nicest staff. The club lounge has an excellent tasty breakfast and evening snacks. It is centrally located for seeing the sights or working. The lobby area is very relaxing and inviting. The restaurant is excellent. The rooms are tad on the older side, but very comfortable. They could definately have softer towels. But overall it is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get any room that ends in 11 to 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Yes it was a fantastic stay:
location: walked a few blocks and could visit with Michelle had she been home------
Walked a few blocked and was able to have great food in Georgetown, food in the area as well.
Fantastic staff
Lively area
Close to freeway
Cannot wait to visit again.
Took the package that included breakfast and parking

Room Tip: Room faced the back of other buildings, was not here for the view. It was very quiet . Room 524
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is my favourite hotel in Washington DC. I really appreciate the kindness of the entire staff, the front desk and also the people who help with the luggage and in getting you a taxi.
They are all very patient and wonderful.

The best part is the lounge access where Gigi provides wonderful hospitality and always makes you feel at home!

I love this hotel and the staff here. Whenever I visit DC, my first preference is always to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanuja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,242 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Washington Marriott Georgetown
Washington Marriott Georgetown
#109 of 141 in Washington DC
72 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Address: 1143 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1522
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, relaxed elegance awaits you at the Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel. We welcome guests with thoughtful amenities and a prime location near some of the city's most popular landmarks. All of our 355 hotel rooms and suites are stylishly designed and boast goose-down bedding and luxurious Aveda bathroom products. Stay connected with in-room Internet access and Marriott's innovative Plug-In technology panels, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. M Brasserie, our signature hotel restaurant, serves fresh and flavorful American fare; M Bar is the perfect spot for a drink after a day spent exploring Dupont Circle. Planning a meeting or event in Washington, DC? Our innovative and flexible event space allows us to specialize in small meetings and ensure we cater to your unique needs. And be sure to ask our hotel Navigator for a few insider tips to help you experience the best of DC, the way locals do. Discover something new and exciting with every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing