We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #34 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel is certainly value for money. The rooms are exceptionally clean, the bedding is excellent and the staff are extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel was well placed and it was easy to get to all the sights, Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Amber1937,

It was a pleasure reading your review. We take pride in our services and making our Guests feel the great value they are getting when staying with us. We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a great 3-night stay at the State Plaza over the 4th of July. It is only a few blocks from the White House and National Mall and also near the Metro. The staff was extremely friendly and responsive. The rooms were spacious and our suite contained a kitchenette (which they upgraded us to for free). Overall, we were extremely pleased with our stay and would love to return.

Room Tip: I would ask for a suite if you are traveling with kids.... just provides a little more elbow room fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rheinjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed July 6-9th. Superior service and cleanliness, though the hotel is older the bedding very modern as well as the quality. Extremely convenient to mall and sites. Really enjoyed our stay great value for spacious suite and service!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyclones3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Cyclones3,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the State Plaza Hotel. It is extremely pleasing to us to read that our Guests enjoy our location, facilities and most of all our services. We've been renovating the hotel which should bring all other items in our rooms up to date with the bedding soon. We hope you'll come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Had a wonderful July 4 at this hotel. Perfect location for fireworks on the mall...a short 2 block walk led to the most patriotic holiday ever! This hotel had nice small touches such as bottled water for guest on a hot day. Even though there was no valet parking available to us (lot full), the alternate parking was close and less expensive. Excellent customer service from front desk and doormen! Our suite was spacious and included a small kitchen! Very cute! The CVS next door was very convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leopardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located with just a 5 minute walk from the metro. The white house is situated just 10 minutes away. Our guest suite has a living room, bedroom and kitchen. The service was efficient and great! The only drawback is that the wifi can get pretty slow, especially in the evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Vincent L,

We're glad you found our location to be conveniently located and our services efficient and great. Thank you for pointing out the Wi-Fi speed in the evenings when many of our Guests are online. We are looking into improving the bandwidth of our Wi-Fi and at the same time increase the speed and we hope to have this in place within several weeks. Take care and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here from July 1-6th. Every employee we met was super nice and helpful. The location was great as far as being where EVERYTHING is. The national mall is three blocks away and everything else we got to from the Foggy Bottom Metro stop. Everything just worked out well. We also discovered UBER - a taxi service that you use an app to request a taxi and that was a great help!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Shelby W,

It was a pleasure reading your review. It's very rewarding for our staff to be mentioned favorably. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we can welcome you back here again should your travel plans bring you back here in DC. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Good location to the Mall, but not to restaurants or stores. Quiet area in the middle of George Washington University. Super nice hotel staff. Very clean rooms, but 1960's decor. Bathtub had the old two knob hot/cold controls. Haven't seen that for awhile. Closet doors would barely slide open. Older style TV remote control with no movies to purchase. HBO channel wouldn't even work. Elevators smelled like kitty litter. Somewhat disappointed.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
2,231 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
572 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#62 of 141 in Washington DC
516 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
2,738 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £79 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek and sophisticated, with impeccable service, the all-suite State Plaza Hotel offers a new standard of comfort to visitors to our nation's capital. These downtown Washington DC hotel suites provide spacious lodging in a fashionable, convenient setting, adjacent to George Washington University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing