We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable rate and Spacious for downtown DC”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #37 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Reasonable rate and Spacious for downtown DC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a weekend stay to DC. Great location just blocks from the White House and national mall. Rooms are very well kept and furnished and even include a small kitchenette. One thing to keep in mind is parking; hotel has limited parking and I think around $30 a night. There is free weekend street parking on nearby streets so it was not an issue for us, but on a weekday trip this could be an issue. Staff is friendly and was very helpful. Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank nctravlr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    684
    198
    51
    31
See reviews for
463
462
109
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the State Plaza Hotel in August of 2013. This hotel is convenient to my office in Washington and is the hotel of choice for the company.

Pros:
Location - The hotel is located on the south side of the Foggy Bottom area. It is about six blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro. There is a 24hr CVS Pharmacy next door where you can get snacks and some microwaveable meals at any time. In addition, the hotel is a few blocks from some sites in the area. The Lincoln Memorial is south a few blocks and the Kennedy Center is to the West. If you are willing to take a nice walk, you will reach the mall and the White House. The hotel is also on the south side of the GWU Campus.
Room Size:
This hotel is a suite style hotel. Each room has a full size kitchen, gas stove, and refrigerator. There are some cooking utinsels and dishes for your use. If you ask for a corner room, those rooms also have a living room and small dining room. This is nice if you have a few people staying and plan to stay for some time.
Bedding:
The bedding is well kept. I have never been in a room with a poor mattress. The hotel has made a diligent effort in ensuring this is up to date.

Cons:
Dated Cosmetic Design: While the room is nice in size, it is very dated. The sheers, table skirts, and furniture is straight out of the early eighties. The rooms are highlight in the baby blue and pink colors. This could be an easy fix for management.
Dated Bathroom: The bathroom is very dated. It is in need of a renovation. The toilet is small and the sink is adequate. The floor has pink tile and an 80's design. The tile in the tub is cracked and my room allowed for mold growth. The tub has had a new insert placed in it - water has gotten between the new insert and the existing tub. You can hear the water move around under your feet as you stand in the shower.
Cleanliness: On the surface the room is clean. When you start to look in detail - you will notice that the room needs a deeper cleaning. For example, there is a bench in the vanity area. A small fix would be to recover this bench; however, it has not been addressed and stains are evident. I can say this is apparent in several rooms (I have stayed in many rooms at this hotel).
ADA Complaince:
If you are in a wheelchair - tough luck. There is an option to access the floors; however, you must walk outside, down the alley and enter near the parking garage. This is not convenient if the weather is bad. Both lobbies (E Street and F Street) are located at street level. You can enter the lobby; however, you cannot go any further unless you can walk up a few steps. There are about 6 steps before you make it to the elevator. There is no ramp in either lobby. The bell staff will go out of their way to walk with you down the alley. I recommend that the hotel address this issue.

I look forward to hearing from the hotel on how they plan to address the the concerns above.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CSalas98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear CSalas98,

Thank you so much for your insight. We always look forward to guest reviews, both good and bad. We appreciate yours, especially as you are a regular guest.

We are pleased to inform you, earlier this year State Plaza hotel started renovation project of the guest rooms. This project includes all corridors, guestrooms and bathrooms starting in the F street building. As our Guest, we look forward to your next stay in one of our renovated rooms and see for yourself the changes we are making. Our lobbies both north and south are also included in our renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Very close to the main attractions in DC, about half way between the White House and the Lincoln Memorial.
Nice big rooms, clean, kitchen, nice TV.
Booked on internet, very good prices and the taxes were lower than I expected.
Staff very helpful.

Bonus tip: for breakfast head half a block to the left, American Red Cross cafeteria. Very good prices, good selection, quick, kid friendly. And nice pictures on the walls!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great hotel for the money. Very close to all the sites. The kitchen was a added bonus for breakfast. Could have been a bit better if a microwave was in the room. The room it self was spacious for a family of 4 with 2 older children.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills
Level Contributor
247 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

DC is a great tourist town - full of great attractions, restaurants, and everything a tourist could want. Typically you have to choose between cheaper places that are far from the key attractions and usually require a bunch of time and expense on transportation, or expensive places that you can walk everywhere from.

We found the State Plaza to be a great compromise - not a fancy place with a giant lobby and swimming pool, but ideal for a family trip - close to the main attractions if you like walking, clean rooms with enough space for a family. The rooms do look a bit older, but are being renovated slowly. Since its right next to GWU, there aren't a lot of eating options, but walking a few blocks opens up a lot more. Its also very safe to walk around at night, and is an easy cab ride or metro ride to the attractions that aren't within walking distance. The money we saved by staying here paid for a bunch of meals!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank visual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

The people here were so helpful and nice!! It was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are great with full kitchens and there is a 24 hour CVS next door with tons of food options. The staff have us tips on where to go and what to see as well as directions and maps. I would highly recommend this place to all my family and friends!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bmoore2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Bmoore2267,

A big thanks for taking the time to give us your review. Our focus as employees here at the State Plaza is all about Guest service and we're so glad you as our Guests are experiencing it in a most positive way. Our location and convenience to almost everything is always recommended and we truly appreciate your own personal recommendations based on your experiences having stayed with us. Take care and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I read several reviews prior to booking a room and the hotel did not disappoint! Great rooms, friendly staff and location, location, location. It might be unassuming on the outside, but inside you will find lovely suites which include a full kitchen. The décor might be older but the room was spotless and ideal for a family visiting DC. Last but not least, there is a Drugstore right next door stocked with items you can buy and prepare in your room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rstd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#39 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Property: State Plaza Hotel
Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing