We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #39 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We recently visited DC for a mini break and stayed in the State Plaza hotel in Foggy Bottom, for us it was a great location within walking distance of all the main attractions we wanted to see. State Plaza is an older hotel that looks to have been recently updated, the room was clean and the bedroom and bathroom were modern. The small kitchenette in the room was clean with fresh paint but the unit and appliances were a little dated. This wasn't a modern luxury hotel but if you are just looking for somewhere comfortable and clean to rest then I would definitely recommend it especially at the great prices.

This is a real hidden gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    709
    204
    53
    31
See reviews for
479
485
112
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Looking to stay in D.C then this is the perfect place. It's not far to walk to the memorials and the metro is right there too. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. There is a mini kitchen if you need it and didn't want to venture out for dinner. Complimentary bottled water and newspaper was given everyday. The hotel staff always went above and beyond for us. Check in and check out was painless too!! This is a hidden gem in the city that is a lot cheaper than the big fancy hotels. I'd definitely stay here again and recommend here to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

State Plaza in Foggy Bottom is a great stay. I have stayed there twice since 2011 and never have had a negative experience. My idea of a great stay is a small, quiet, nice place to rest. State Plaza is classy. Check-in/check-out was painless. Friendliest people. I have nothing but good things to say about this place. If you love the corporate chocolate of my pillow type place then don't stay here but if appreciate classy quality and hospitality then this is a great place.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Nicholas C,

So good to read that you had a great stay with us and thank you for your review. Our aim has always been to be the friendliest hotel in town in our very own unique way being an independent hotel. Thank you for recognizing our efforts and we definitely hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buffalo
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Found this hotel in a Google search and and what a find it was!! It is less than a mile from the WWII monument and Lincoln Memorial. The rate was unbelievably great for Washington, DC (actually for most places) but the only negative is it cost $38 for valet parking. If you don't use valet parking, you are on your own to find a place to park. It was definitely more convenient to use valet parking and still makes the rate more than reasonable. Would stay there again without hesitation! Restaurant left a lot to be desired. Food was cold and mediocre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djlamlBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear djlamlBuffalo,

We're glad you found us on your google search and that you enjoyed our location. We always make sure we're very competitive value wise with other surrounding hotels including our valet parking fees which remains lower than our competitors. Sorry. I know that doesn't make it less expensive for you. Would love to have you back and I have already shared your restaurant opinion to the restaurant manager so that we can continue to improve in all aspects of our food services. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Nothing on the web site indicated an additional $32 per DAY for parking + the $155 per day rate = $187 per night total. Kitchen had only 1 pot, 1 SMALL skillet, no kitchen towels or hot pads and very limited cooking utensils, and some provided didn't work properly. The hotel staff went out of their way, but even they are limited. No air-conditioning, but we were provided 1 small fan. No ventilation in the bathroom. Furniture and such was out dated. Nice clean bedding and flat screen tv. Bldg was an old apartment complex, with outdated amenities.

Room Tip: Even on 6th floor, only view is of other office buildings -- we can see the people working in their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwalter1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Room very spacious and well maintained.

Cleaners polite and good English, free paper delivered in morning.

Staff helpful in foyer providing maps, organizing taxi for airport and suggestions for our time in DC.

Walking distance to monuments and pick up stations for Big Bus and Old town trolley tours. We found a great restaurant Founding Farmers (walking distance) and their review on trip advisor #9 out of over 1000 well deserved.

My girlfriend was also impressed with hotel and she is hard to please.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaye Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I had traveled 24 countries, the 6 times to visit US, but the first time to have a wondeful place, convinent to walk, confortable, spacious, quite to sleep at reasonable price, with a wonderful kitchen room and small a study room. Really love the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel6506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Angel6506,

WOW! We're sure glad you loved our Hotel. What an uplifting review to read and share with our employees. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
486 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
352 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#41 of 141 in Washington DC
2,090 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
738 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Property: State Plaza Hotel
Address: 2117 E St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing