We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely exceeded our expectations”
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #38 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Excellent spacious room with the added facility of the kitchen meant that we had a choice of dining in or out - kept exceptionally clean on a daily basis. A special mention for Malcolm on reception who was always friendly and very helpful - even let us stay in our room a little longer on the last day even though the hotel was fully booked. Excellent location for walking to all the sites but also near Foggy Bottom Metro for those who prefer to let the train take the strain. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimmY894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear KimmY894,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our spacious rooms, excellent location and our wonderful service. Please come back and see us the next time your travels bring you back to the nations capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    701
    201
    53
    31
See reviews for
471
475
112
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Ma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I'd expected something along the lines of a Days Inn or Comfort Inn, but this was on a higher plane! Very spacious, clean room - a suite, actually - at a very good price (in mid-February). The whole wing of the hotel seemed to have been renovated recently, so everything was sparkling clean and bright. The fixtures and furniture are all high grade - no IKEA furniture here.

Great location in Foggy Bottom - walking distance to the Mall, to Lincoln Memorial, etc., and four short blocks to the metro. And very accommodating, helpful and friendly staff - from the bell captain to the front desk.

We would certainly come here again.

Room Tip: Be aware that this hotel is really two separate buildings. You have to access one from the other via...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryJohnKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear HenryJohnKerr,

We are so happy to have read your review. We are currently undergoing renovations floor by floor and I am happy to know that you were able to enjoy one of our renovated rooms. It is also great to hear such nice comments about how helpful our associates were to you during your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

After a lot of research, i decided to take my chances with this Hotel. being my first visit to Washington DC, i was a bit skeptical of what lay in store for me. However within the first 30 minutes of my arrival in the Hotel all my fears were laid to rest. I think for the location and the standard offered by the hotel ..it is a great value for money. Infact in my entire US trip and staying in assortment of hotels, this was one of the best hotels. If you are visiting DC for touristy reasons (as i was) these hotel is very conveniently located to most attractions. Depending on your inclination you can walk to the White House then do the entire Smithsonian strip down to Washington monument and further down to Jefferson Memorial. The room was beautiful and large and so was the bathroom. The only thing that i felt a bit quirky was that I had to cross a parking area of some sort to reach my tower, but really i think it is more of a issue of the way the building has been constructed so really there is very little the management can do there...(but it was hardly an issue anyway). For those who love their drinks...there is a liqor store right next door as well as a CVS pharmacy where you can also pick up stuff to eat or drink!! There is a Starbucks in the vicinity (In the Elliot School Campus) as well as a Dunkin Donut. The nearest landmark is the RED CROSS building!! I loved the stay and hopefully i will be back :-)

Room Tip: no inputs here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariz_rizvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Ariz_Rizvi,

Thank you for such a great review. I am glad to hear how much you enjoyed the convenience and accessibility of our hotel. We are minutes away from all the attractions and it is nice to know that this was helpful to you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed only for one night (since we had been accepted to visit the White House) and needed a clean, affordable and centrally located hotel in near the mall. This hotel fits those items. We were given a VERY spacious room (plus: overlooking the street in the 4th floor and with a view of the Washington Monument!). The staff was very professional and all the areas including the room very clean. It was a short walk to the Lincoln Memorial or the Foggy Bottom metro station.

Room Tip: Try to book directly or through AmEx...I have had better experience than booking from general websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foghesino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Foghesino,

We really appreciate your great review regarding your recent stay here at the State Plaza. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed our location and associates of our hotel as well. We can’t wait to see you on your next visit to our nation’s capital.

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is one of the best experience we've ever had in a hotel.

Location: it is in walking distance from everything important - 5 minutes from the Lincoln Memorial (and I am considering traffic lights).

Hotel & Room: it is clean and easy to find. There is a CVS 24h pharmacy next door. The neighborhood is safe (i have not seen a single worrisome thing and i have a well developped spidy sense). The room was very big - it had a kitchen and a dressing/makeup room on top of the classic bedroom & bathroom. Everything was spotless. The furniture had this antique design about it, but it was all in perfect order. The bathroom was interesting (the light display was unique) and hot water was always available. The bed was comfortable. Regarding spa, gym or swimming pool - i do not know, it was not on my to-do list.

Service: Everyone was extremely nice, especially Mike and Manny. They helped us with finding restaurants on Christmas Day and because of them we saw places that were not on our initial itinerary (and we would have regretted not seeing). Also, their help meant that we did not have to split a baggy of pretzels until restaurants resumed normal business. They also gave us indications of what to do, what to see, answered all my silly questions and told us stories from their part. They asked us about our experiences (for instance with restaurants) so they can recommend to other guests - so it shows that they put effort in their work. I was actually looking forward to coming to the hotel at night because they always had something meaningful and uplifting to say. Thank you, it was a wonderful stay and whenever we will come in DC, we will choose this hotel.

That was a wonderful experience and I am sure that it will take a very long time until someone equals it. Thank you, Mike and Manny for making our stay even better than we though possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatWaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear GreatWaffle,

Thank you for posting such nice review. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel. I will be sure to inform Mike and Manny on how outstanding their service was for you during your stay. Our main goal is ensuring that each guest receives a memorable and pleasant experience. We love to hear such positive comments about our associates, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in both the new tower and the old one. The rooms in the new tower are great, very comfortable and neat. The rooms of the old tower are a bit worn down and look somewhat outdated. They did tell me that those rooms in the old tower were being renovated. Service was excellent, no complaints at all. You cannot get a better combination of service/location/room quality/price in DC.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Raybla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Raybla,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. It is great to know how much you enjoyed our location, service and rooms. We are currently undergoing renovations for all of our rooms and I am glad to hear that you were pleased with our new look. We are very proud of our new product and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

From the time you arrive to the time you leave the State Plaza you are treated as a very important guest in every way. We had a suite with 2 queen sized beds, lounge with dining room and a kitchen with microwave and coffee machine and were so comfortable, I felt I didn't even want to step outside to see the sights.

The only downside was our bedroom wall was shared with that of the lift shaft, so every time the lift was used throughout the night we heard it, as it went up and down. Ask for a room as far away from the lift as possible.

There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and, I believe, a metro stop close by. We used neither as we made use of the hop on hop off bus tour, which was also a short walk away, which took us to all the historical sights we had time to visit. Lots of places to eat in the vicinity, plus a large convenience store right next to the hotel, which was great.

We had a wonderful meal at the hotel restaurant and were sorry we hadn't used it more, but wanted to experience the neighbourhood as well.

A lovely hotel experience and I would certainly stay there if I'm ever in DC again.

Room Tip: The noise from the lift can be a problem, so ask for a room as far away as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WendySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear WendySouthAfrica,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! I am happy to know that you were pleased with your stay here at the State Plaza. One of our main priorities is to make each and every guest feel like they are at home, and it is nice to hear that our hard work is being appreciated. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
472 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
297 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#41 of 141 in Washington DC
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
727 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Property: State Plaza Hotel
Address: 2117 E St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing