We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip topped off with amazing hotel”
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #37 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing trip topped off with amazing hotel”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife and I travelled to Washington, DC from March 8-11, 2014. We arrived at State Plaza mid afternoon and were greeted like royalty. Having never been to the city we were welcomed with open arms and provided with maps and help on what to do and where to go. The front desk staff was excellent. Always smiling and willing to help. We used the valet service and it couldn't have been better. They were always willing to answer questions as well. The valet service was approx. $32 + tax per night, it seems like a lot but by Washington's standards it was very good. We were located in the tower off F street (you can access both towers by going in either side). We were in room 429 in a newly renovated suite. The room was excellent. Very modern and spacious. The kitchenette was a great touch and the bed was comfy. The room was always very clean and well kept. The hotel is in a very quiet neighbourhood right near the University. The hotel itself has a 24 hour CVS right next to it and it came in very handy getting home late at night. The hotel is very central to everything. We were within walking distance to almost everything in the city. The hotel helped us book a tour through a company called Zohery Tours. We did the night tour and it was a great experience, a definite must-do. Overall, we couldn't have asked for a better hotel and location. It really made our trip even better than it would've been.

Room Tip: Tower off F street has newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breezer2535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Breezer2535,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are pleased to know how much you enjoyed our hotel, from our excellent guest service to our extremely spacious rooms. We love to hear such positive feedback and will be sure to share it with our team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    696
    199
    53
    31
See reviews for
468
469
110
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to go to Washington DC for the weekend as a kind of last minute thing. We stayed at the hotel this past Friday night before meeting friends to sightsee on Saturday. We booked the hotel on Monday for only $99! All of the rooms are suite-style and ours was one with a king bed. The staff is friendly and helpful. They valet your car upon arrival. The cost for overnight was about $37, which is better compared to some other prices in the city. Our room was very clean and spacious. There is a little kitchenette (which we didn't use but would be great if you were staying for a few nights) There was a stove, fridge, and small table (even pots, pans, and all that good stuff) The bathroom is small side, but very clean. There was a dressing area separate from the bathroom with a mirror which I love as a girl. The bed is super comfy too! If you're looking for a bite to eat, you can take a walk through the campus of George Washington University to a place called Burger Tap Shake. Yummy burgers, beer, and milkshakes and they're open late if you arrive late like we did. You are not far from some
Of the sightseeing attractions in DC, but we didn't walk. You can easily hop a taxi and save your legs alittle walking to get to where you want to go.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njemmie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear NJemmie8,

Thank you for such a nice review. It is good to know that our competitive rates and accessibility to the sites were an added plus for your spur of the moment trip. We understand that it is important to find a great deal and also have the service and cleanliness to match and I am pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate you with both. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
251 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A hotel conveniently located near the State Department and GWU, but in fact offering rather basic, although spacious, accommodation. Rooms are OK but nothing more, and the windows are of cheap quality, so that you are ensured to hear each and every noise coming from the street, if your room overlooks the street. The heating is old and very noisy, so that you are guaranteed to be woken up every time the heating will turn on. Service was good, the staff was ready to help, and this partly made up for the quality of the room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfredoLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Alfredo P.,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. I am glad to hear that you found our rooms to be spacious and our associates to be helpful. In light of the concerns that you have mentioned, we are delighted to let you know that we have started to undergo renovations and are very proud of our new product. We urge you to come back and stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the nation’s capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Extra large room, though basic. They give a few nice frills, and staff are very helpful. This hotel is in a good location near GW, the DAR museum and the Lincoln Memorial. Walk to the White House and National Mall. Lots of restaurant choices nearby. Good spot if you are flying into Dulles Airport.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Scruff761,

Thank you for posting your review. It is nice to know you found our location to be convenient. It was also great to hear that our associates were helpful and attentive to your needs, as we pride ourselves in giving great guest service. We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you again on your next visit to Washington D.C.!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in a newly renovated room in the old tower. Actually it was a suite with a king size bed. The bedroom was very large. The eat-in kitchen was large. The bathroom had an attached dressing room. All rooms were immaculate. The bed was so comfortable, that my wife made me look for a label, so we can purchase one for our home. I didn't find one. The kitchen came complete with a smaller full size fridge, pots pans silverware dishes and glasses. All spotless. A coffee maker with coffee and water bottles, all complimentary. Location is great, walking distance to most. If you need or forgot anything, there is a 24hr CVS right next door. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. Ritz Carleton watch out.

Room Tip: get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear David K,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are very proud to be one of few hotels in D.C. with extremely spacious rooms and attached kitchenettes, we are happy to hear that this was a nice surprise for you. We are delighted you decided to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My teenage daughter and I spent two nights here while visiting GWU. I chose the hotel for its location and reasonable price and was pleasantly surprised. Although we stayed in the older tower and our room certainly could have used a renovation (including re-carpeting), it was clean, spacious, comfortable and quiet. There's a Metro stop, CVS, Dunkin Donuts and Whole Foods nearby and we were very comfortable walking around the neighborhood at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the newer tower. If that's not possible, get a room away from the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewRocMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear NewRocMom,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. We are in a very central location, just minutes away from the national mall as well as many other attractions and it is nice to know that this was helpful to you throughout your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our nation’s capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Had a great stay here in June 2013 and I was amazed at how nice the hotel and room was for the price we paid.

The location is really close to the White House, and the National Mall where many of the main sights are. Bring your walking shoes though as it's more convenient to walk between these than get the Metro. It's a few blocks to walk to the Metro, but pleasant as it's a nice area around GWU.

We had a double double room which I thought was a very generous size, bathroom was lovely, and the kitchenette was really handy for breakfasts and snacks. There's a CVS next door so it's very handy to pick up groceries.

I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dajaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear dajaffa,

We are so happy to have read your review. It is great to hear that our location was the perfect fit for you during your stay, and we hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Washington D.C.

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#44 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#40 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Property: State Plaza Hotel
Address: 2117 E St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing