We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, comfortable room, Excellent Staff!”
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #39 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convenient location, comfortable room, Excellent Staff!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here on a weekend for sight seeing. Thought the room was spacious and comfortable. Totally made use of the small kitchenette for breakfast. Wish the selection of pots was better for making tea, but we made do. Got a complimentary bottle of water per person each evening, which was a nice perk. Though we did not try it, the on-site restaurant looked nice and pricing was reasonable for a hotel restaurant. Can't say enough nice things about the staff! Extremely helpful and pleasant!

Convenient to the Foggy Bottom station on the Metro (about 4 - 5 blocks) and equal distance to the Lincoln Memorial (which we did not figure out till later - darn!)

My only negative comment would be the cost of the parking. At $35/night I thought it was a bit steep. Unfortunately, most neighborhood parking is closed on weekends, so we had no choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keltik01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Keltik01,

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad to know that our spacious rooms and our turndown service in the evenings were a pleasant addition to your stay. It is also nice to hear how highly you speak of our associates, as we strive for customer excellence. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to The State Plaza!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    713
    206
    53
    31
See reviews for
490
489
114
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights for a conference in DC. Location is nice as it's in George Washington University grounds and a couple of blocks from the shared bike service (great way to get around DC).

The room was okay, we had a suite with two queen beds, a separate room for the kitchen, and there was a make up room in between the main room and the bathroom -- this was kind of a weird waste of space, would have been nice if the sinks were in that room.

There was a loud humming noise from the building outside, we unplugged our fridge and turned off the air conditioning to lessen the noise, but it didn't really help since it was from some machinery outside that ran all day and night.

The housekeeping service taps loudly on all doors and you can hear them the entire morning once they start tapping down your hallway. We had the do not disturb sign up, but were disturbed even though they skipped our room. For some reason, they do not deliver your bottled water at the same time as making up your room, so if you're napping in the early evening after your room is made up, be prepared for the tapping once again for the water delivery.

The elevator was a bit slow so we ended up taking the stairs most days.

There are two buildings with similar looking lobbies, one on E street and the other on F street. It's a bit of a trek if you check in on E street and have your room in the other building. You also need to bring your bags up the stairs to get to the lobby and up another flight of stairs to get to the elevator in both buildings, so I wouldn't call this a very accessible building.

Staff were pleasant but don't go out of their way to assist you with anything. Laundry needs to be brought down to front desk, simply leaving your clothes in the laundry bag, hanging it on the front door and filling out the paper won't get you anywhere -- and the instructions aren't clear.

Decent hotel for the price, but I think I would rather stay at the Marriott Courtyard around the corner next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Sad69,

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and great associates, and I would like to let you know that we have looked into the concerns that you’ve mentioned and we are working hard to ensure that they do not reoccur. We urge you to give us another chance and stay with us again. If you would like to speak with me directly please email me at generalmanager@stateplaza.com Thank you for choosing the State Plaza and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is actually a converted apartment building. We stayed in #701 which was essentially a 1 bdrm apartment with a full kitchen, very big, very clean and well maintained albeit a bit aged.
Also their Bistro Restaurant was EXCELLENT, food was very inexpensive and the service was very good......JimU

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwuleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Jwuleo,

Thank you for your review. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay and the different amenities that we provide here at State Plaza. We are happy you chose to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Washington DC!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The wife and I stayed here for a 3 day trip to DC and it was great. Upon arriving the doorman and gentleman at the front desk were super friendly. They provided us with a map of the city and other brochures. It was a great way to start our trip.

The room was very clean with all the standard amenities like a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, and a microwave. It also had a small kitchen area with a table for two, full size fridge, stove top, and sink. The bathroom was a good size. The shower had great water pressure. There was a little foyer area off of the bathroom with a vanity and desk for my wife to get ready while I used the shower. There was a complimentary bottle of water each morning. The bed was comfortable with nice sheets.

Also, our room was in the back tower of the hotel on the first floor, closest to the elevator which was fantastic. We were literally the closest room to the back lobby which takes you out onto F St. And the hotel is next door to a CVS in case you needed to pick up medicine or toiletries. But the hotel does provide shampoo, conditioner, soap, hand lotion, and shower caps in the room already.

We had breakfast one morning in the hotel restaurant and chose the continental which was around $11 and included what you'd expect for a continental breakfast. You could pay more if you wanted eggs, bacon, and french toast. The server at the restaurant was very attentive. I don't think my coffee ever got below half full before it was topped off.

With all of this being said, I think my favorite part of the hotel was the location. It's right in the middle of the foggy bottom district and is basically equidistant to the White House and National Mall. My wife and I jogged a 4 mile loop one morning that took us around the Washington Monument, Jefferson Memorial, FDR Memorial, Korean War Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, and Vietnam Memorial. We took our cameras with us and were able to knock out a bunch of sites in a couple of hours due to the location of the hotel. It's only a few blocks away from the Metro as well.

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel if you're stopping by for a trip to DC. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the location was fantastic. It's not the fanciest hotel, don't expect the Ritz, but if that's not a problem for you I say you should definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Greg P,

Thank you so much for such a nice review. It is great to hear such wonderful feedback. Our team works very hard to ensure optimal guest service is being provided to everyone, and it’s great to know their work is being recognized. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to our nation’s capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a very good time in this hotel, the quality/price ratio was very good.
- Clean, big and well equiped rooms, with comfortable beds and a big kitchen. Bathrooms clean too.
- Good location (not the best though)
- Good staff

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorRp1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear VictorRp1982,

Thank you for posting your review. I am happy to hear that everything from our friendly staff to our great location helped to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I often travel to business meetings in Washington. More often than not I stay at the State Plaza. The place is very good value for the price and the service is great. I want to commend the exceptional service of one of the front door concierge staff named Bekele. Bekele can always be counted on to go out of his way to help a traveller out. Thanks very much. Al Panico

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Ajpan,

We are so happy to have read your review. It is always nice to hear such wonderful comments regarding our associates and the excellent service they provide. I will be sure to let Bekele know how thankful you are to him for being so helpful throughout your stay. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to the State Plaza Hotel.

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

fantastic hotel especially for the price you pay. i guess its been recently refurbished, the rooms are huge with two queen size beds a kitchen and dining plus a nice bath. the rooms are clean and location is unbeatable its a ten minute walk to the national mall. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tricunfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Tricunfos,

Thank you for posting such a nice review. I am delighted to know that our competitive pricing, spacious and clean rooms, along with our convenient location helped in making your stay excellent. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and we hope to see you again, the next time your travels bring you to the nation’s capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
387 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
2,117 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
746 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Property: State Plaza Hotel
Address: 2117 E St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek and sophisticated, with impeccable service, the all-suite State Plaza Hotel offers a new standard of comfort to visitors to our nation's capital. These downtown Washington DC hotel suites provide spacious lodging in a fashionable, convenient setting, adjacent to George Washington University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing