We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Offers Comfort and Convenience”
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #38 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hotel Offers Comfort and Convenience”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

State Plaza Hotel dates back to the early 1950s. The only sign of age now is an elevator slow as molasses. All other features are definite signs of comfort. The staff was incredible. There is even a doorman! Any questions we had about the area were immediately answered, some came complete with maps. The hotel is a mere 6 blocks from the White House. We walked everywhere. This was a wonderful place to stay while in DC. It is conveniently located to stores, attractions and restaurants, including one in the hotel.

Room Tip: Make your reservations early. This is a popular hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Daruth,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is always great to hear such positive comments regarding our hotel and associates within it. Our team works very hard to ensure that our guests feel comfortable and it is nice to know that their hard work is being noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Washington D.C.!

Best Regards,


Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    700
    201
    53
    31
See reviews for
471
475
112
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The State Plaza is a typical city hotel with few frills but in a great location to view Washington's monuments. It sits in a quiet area of the town, but only a short stroll from "The Mall" where all the war memorials are, together with the Lincoln memorial and Martin Luther King's. Downtown is about a 20 minute walk away, for a range of restaurants, etc, the White House about 15 minutes.
Reception is small but the staff attentive. Two blocks make up the hotel rooms, and to access the second you walk through the covered car park which doesn't set the right tone, but isn't really a problem. Our room was a recently refurbished one and was excellent, with two very big comfortable beds. The new bathroom wasn't enormous but more than adequate and there's a fully supplied kitchen too! If you were staying any length of time here you could easily self-cater, using the nearby 7/11 store for provisions. The breakfast was reasonable although a little expensive for what was available. Free wifi in the rooms, together with water and toiletries.
All in all, this was a good choice for an overnight in Washington, honest, clean and roomy. Car parking was enclosed and cost $35 per night, which isn't bad for a US city.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Peter H,

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. It is great hearing how convenient our location was for you during your stay. We are very close to the monument and other major attractions and I’m glad to know that this helped when touring D.C. We can’t wait for the next opportunity to welcome you back to our nation’s capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived earlier than check in time and were given an available room straight away. This was greatly appreciated after a night of travel. The room was big and having kitchen facilities meant we could keep a few things in the fridge. Housekeeping very attentive but if you don't like interruptions for a morning newspaper or bottled water at night just hang the do not disturb.
The location was great. A few blocks from national mall, the White House and a metro stop. Also the capital city bike share has stands really close by.
Overall we found this hotel modern, close to everything you need and the staff friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mousey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mousey87,

Thank you so much for your review. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed our spacious rooms, location and attentive service. Thank you for choosing the State Plaza and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I will get the small glitch out of the way: upon check-in, I was asked for my credit card. I specifically asked if this was for incidentals (I wanted to use a different card to pay for the entire stay). I was told "yes, just $60 hold". After checking in I received a message to come to the front desk as soon as possible, because my card was declined. Turns out they attempted to use THAT card to pay for my entire stay. I am used to paying upon check-out, but I guess this is becoming a new trend, paying the full stay upon check in...just something to keep in mind.

Now the good stuff! Great location, right on the edge of GW University, and just a 10 minute walk to the National Mall. There is a Metro station a few blocks away (and a few more blocks further we were able to catch the DC circulator heading into Georgetown (great food!).
The hotel itself is nothing fancy, but VERY clean and comfortable. Had a kitchenette with a full size fridge (they even wash the dishes for you!) Excellent water pressure in the somewhat small bathroom, but a very slow exhaust system leads to (multiple) foggy mirrors!! Pleasant staff, this place is highly recommended!

Room Tip: We were in the section facing GWU, it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlielonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Charlielonnie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding you experienced upon check-in but I am happy to know that it was resolved. It is great to hear that our spacious rooms, pleasant associates and convenient location helped to make your stay a great one. We are so happy to know that you highly recommend us and we look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to our nation’s capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I am a repeat customer (2nd stay since last year), and I plan on staying here once a year as I visit DC from Canada on annual basis. The rooms are very large, with a full size kitchen (full size range, fridge, microwave), large main room, large foyer of sorts and nice bathroom. Service was nice. The one thing that could use improvement is the breakfast, in my opinion. There should be some fresh veggies and healthier options. The best thing about this hotel is the value. If you book in advance, you can get great deals. I always compare notes with colleagues who travel and the State Plaza is usually the cheapest. It is also close to Foggy Bottom Metro, US State Department, National Mall (10 mins walking) and the IMF and World Bank.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbresearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Jbresearcher,

We’re happy to have read your review. I would like to thank you for choosing the State Plaza as your choice D.C. hotel for the past two years. It is our pleasure to continue to provide you with great service and we look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here for the astd conference last week. Only a 30 minute walk to mt Vernon square. Service was excellent. Value was outstanding. The only two "complaints" I have are rooms are outdated and hotel restaurant isn't very good.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabesta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Jabesta123,

Thank you for posting your review. It is great hearing that you enjoyed our excellent service and competitive prices. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We are a mature couple travelling with a group of seven friends and visiting Washington for the first time. We chose the State Plaza on the basis of TA reviews and were not disappointed.
Check-in was quick and efficient with the help of polite and friendly staff. Indeed this is a strength of the hotel---everybody we met was cheerful and helpful.
It is a bit of a sprawling building with two separate entrances and lobbies which can be confusing when your group is spread out in different areas. There is a strange walk through the car park/service area from one part of the building to the other but we managed to work it out quite quickly!
Our room was great--quite spacious with a huge comfortable king bed, nice bathroom with a nice dressing table area just off which my wife really appreciated. It was very quiet in and around the hotel--we hardly heard any noise and enjoyed some restful nights as a result.
The big plus was the kitchenette area which could be closed off with folding doors. This was a great bonus with fridge/freezer, hob, coffee maker and sufficient crockery etc for four people.
This would be brilliant for those staying more than a few days and on a budget.
We had our own breakfast there most mornings, having bought supplies from the store right next to the hotel--very convenient.
We did try the hotel breakfast on the first day but it was nothing special and not good value so the kitchenette gives you a great option.
NB---one of our friends staying in a single room did not have the kitchenette or even a fridge in the room so be careful that you get what you booked.
We did not eat dinner in the hotel so can't comment on the food or service. There are plenty of places a short bus ride away in Foggy Bottom and Circa near the metro was very nice.
The bus does actually stop virtually outside the hotel but it didn't seem to run to the timetable provided by the hotel so allow yourself extra time if using this option.
We found that the easiest way of using the buses and metro was with a smart card which you can top up as necessary. Like the Oyster card in London it saves the hassle of looking for change or using ticket machines.
The area around the hotel is pretty much all related to George Washington University and there was a nice vibe around with the students making it a good area to walk around.
Unfortunately, one of our party needed to visit the Emergency department which was handily located just near Foggy Bottom Metro station!
Overall, the State Plaza is a good base to stay at. The White House is only a 10minute walk away, as are other monuments which are easier to get to on foot rather than by public transport.
If you need a taxi, the hotel staff will call one for you and the friendly doorstaff will help with luggage and bags. We used the hotel's recommended taxi ( a comfortable sedan) for our trip back to Dulles. The quoted price was $68 dollars which is what the driver asked for so although it wasn't cheap, we weren't ripped off. The taxi arrived early and the driver was courteous and helpful which made for a smooth ride back to the airport.
We would quite happily recommend the State Plaza as a good hotel to stay at in Washington. Thank you to all the staff and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterwilliam_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Peterwilliam_8,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel from our spacious rooms with a kitchenette to our easily accessible location. We are a short walk away from the National Mall and White House and I am glad that this helped in making your trip a memorable one. We appreciate your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
471 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
286 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
2,068 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Property: State Plaza Hotel
Address: 2117 E St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing