We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice if you want quiet end of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #38 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good choice if you want quiet end of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My meeting was just around the corner from the hotel. So you couldn't have a better choice. The room is large, with separate kitchen and dressing room. The bathroom is slightly old fashioned but functional. The beds (2 doubles) are very comfortable. Internet worked well. Newspaper is delivered in the morning, and a nice umbrella was offered when the rain started. Help with hailing taxis in the rain was efficient and successful. The main problem is that this is a quiet neighborhood. The closet metro is 10-15 minute walk away. In the immediate vicinity, there are only chain fast foods and convenience stores - Starbucks, subway, CVS, 7-11, etc. it would have been nice if the hotel had a list of nearby cafés and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivian2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Vivian2010_10,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. It is nice to hear that our convenient location was a perfect fit for the meeting you came to attend. As you know, we are right in the middle of the city, which makes us very accessible to many different attractions. I am happy to hear that our spacious rooms also helped to make your stay enjoyable, we thank you for choosing the State Plaza and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    684
    198
    51
    31
See reviews for
463
462
109
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I came to DC for a very important event at the Kennedy Center. The hotel was quaint and clean, and the staff was very attentive and professional. It was like stepping back in time, in a good way. The State Plaza is perfectly located near all of the monuments and important sites, and also offers easy access to great restaurants and shops. Everything we needed was in walking distance. The rooms were clean and well maintained. I felt as though I was in a studio apartment rather than a hotel. Both my wife were treated with respect and courtesy by the entire staff. We will be back again. Thanks State Plaza team!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Rob D,

Thank you so much for such a nice review. I am delighted to learn that you had a great experience at our hotel and found our location to be easily accessible and near all the important sites. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were surprised by just how nice the State Plaza really is, which made it an even bigger value. Huge updated room, great bed, linens and shower, warm and helpful staff, in-house restaurant with well-prepared, reasonably priced dishes. The location is WONDERFUL -- GWU neighborhood, easy 7-8 minute walk to the metro station, restaurants and a Whole Foods, 15-minute walk to the Lincoln Memorial, easy walk to the White House. The daily bottles of water were such a nice touch.
Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Room 621 is a corner room -- great window light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Cheryl B,

We are so happy to have read your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel from our spacious newly renovated rooms to our warm and helpful staff. We are very proud of your high recommendation and we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to the nation’s capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spacious, well appointed room with a charming bathroom and lovely amenities. Great location. Clean and comfortable. Was initially offered a room on ground floor which was not to my liking as it was close to meeting rooms clearly set up for use later that evening and was offered another room on a higher floor immediately. Has the feel of a boutique hotel. Pleasant neighborhood with interesting restaurant choices.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tampatrraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Tampatrraveler,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that our great location and spacious rooms were a good fit for you. We appreciate you choosing the State Plaza and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

State Plaza Hotel dates back to the early 1950s. The only sign of age now is an elevator slow as molasses. All other features are definite signs of comfort. The staff was incredible. There is even a doorman! Any questions we had about the area were immediately answered, some came complete with maps. The hotel is a mere 6 blocks from the White House. We walked everywhere. This was a wonderful place to stay while in DC. It is conveniently located to stores, attractions and restaurants, including one in the hotel.

Room Tip: Make your reservations early. This is a popular hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Daruth,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is always great to hear such positive comments regarding our hotel and associates within it. Our team works very hard to ensure that our guests feel comfortable and it is nice to know that their hard work is being noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Washington D.C.!

Best Regards,


Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The State Plaza is a typical city hotel with few frills but in a great location to view Washington's monuments. It sits in a quiet area of the town, but only a short stroll from "The Mall" where all the war memorials are, together with the Lincoln memorial and Martin Luther King's. Downtown is about a 20 minute walk away, for a range of restaurants, etc, the White House about 15 minutes.
Reception is small but the staff attentive. Two blocks make up the hotel rooms, and to access the second you walk through the covered car park which doesn't set the right tone, but isn't really a problem. Our room was a recently refurbished one and was excellent, with two very big comfortable beds. The new bathroom wasn't enormous but more than adequate and there's a fully supplied kitchen too! If you were staying any length of time here you could easily self-cater, using the nearby 7/11 store for provisions. The breakfast was reasonable although a little expensive for what was available. Free wifi in the rooms, together with water and toiletries.
All in all, this was a good choice for an overnight in Washington, honest, clean and roomy. Car parking was enclosed and cost $35 per night, which isn't bad for a US city.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Peter H,

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. It is great hearing how convenient our location was for you during your stay. We are very close to the monument and other major attractions and I’m glad to know that this helped when touring D.C. We can’t wait for the next opportunity to welcome you back to our nation’s capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived earlier than check in time and were given an available room straight away. This was greatly appreciated after a night of travel. The room was big and having kitchen facilities meant we could keep a few things in the fridge. Housekeeping very attentive but if you don't like interruptions for a morning newspaper or bottled water at night just hang the do not disturb.
The location was great. A few blocks from national mall, the White House and a metro stop. Also the capital city bike share has stands really close by.
Overall we found this hotel modern, close to everything you need and the staff friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mousey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mousey87,

Thank you so much for your review. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed our spacious rooms, location and attentive service. Thank you for choosing the State Plaza and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#40 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Property: State Plaza Hotel
Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing