We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #32 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

On arrival we were asked if it was our first time in Washington DC and when we replied it was, we were immediately upgraded. Check in was a breeze and we were astounded when we saw our "room". The bedroom was large but we also had a enormous separate lounge and dining area as well as a kitchen. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is only a 10 minuter walk from the White House and The Mall area. Staff were very helpful with information. There is a convenience store next door and as breakfast was not included we just bought a few basic supplies and had it in our room. The restaurant was reasonable priced and the food good. Can recommend if looking for a comfortable place in easy walking distance to all the tourist sites.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Geoffrey J,

We are so happy to have read your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade given by our front desk associates, as our team strives to make each guest’s stay as comfortable and as pleasant as possible. It is also nice hearing that our convenient location contributed to such an excellent experience. We hope to see you again, the next time your travels bring you to Washington D.C.!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 1,771 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

I felt compelled to give this hotel the highest rating possible simply because it exceeded my expectations by so much. It is a three star hotel, based largely on facilities, but its service and value means that it is much more. I was upgraded to a suite which was more like a very comfortable and roomy one bedroom apartment with separate bedroom, lounge, dining area and kitchen. The kitchen was fully equipped with large fridge, stove and microwave. What was remarkable though was the degree of helpfulness and just plain friendliness exhibited by all the staff. I saw them go out of their way to assist tourists in planning their visits. The location in 'foggy bottom' was very convenient being a short walk from all the major tourist spots. If you take a shuttle from the airport it is also likely to be the first hotel stop which means that even traveling in from Dulles should take no more than 30 minutes. The price was a real steal. I would definitely think of staying here again.

Room Tip: The place was very quiet. Rooms on the upper floors are always preferred but in this case I had a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cfreedma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Cfreedma,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is awesome to hear such positive comments regarding our spacious rooms, convenient location, competitive prices and excellent service. We all work hard to ensure that our guests have a very lasting and memorable experience, and it’s nice knowing that you were able to enjoy all of the amenities that we provide. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to our nation’s capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My meeting was just around the corner from the hotel. So you couldn't have a better choice. The room is large, with separate kitchen and dressing room. The bathroom is slightly old fashioned but functional. The beds (2 doubles) are very comfortable. Internet worked well. Newspaper is delivered in the morning, and a nice umbrella was offered when the rain started. Help with hailing taxis in the rain was efficient and successful. The main problem is that this is a quiet neighborhood. The closet metro is 10-15 minute walk away. In the immediate vicinity, there are only chain fast foods and convenience stores - Starbucks, subway, CVS, 7-11, etc. it would have been nice if the hotel had a list of nearby cafés and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivian2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Vivian2010_10,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. It is nice to hear that our convenient location was a perfect fit for the meeting you came to attend. As you know, we are right in the middle of the city, which makes us very accessible to many different attractions. I am happy to hear that our spacious rooms also helped to make your stay enjoyable, we thank you for choosing the State Plaza and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I came to DC for a very important event at the Kennedy Center. The hotel was quaint and clean, and the staff was very attentive and professional. It was like stepping back in time, in a good way. The State Plaza is perfectly located near all of the monuments and important sites, and also offers easy access to great restaurants and shops. Everything we needed was in walking distance. The rooms were clean and well maintained. I felt as though I was in a studio apartment rather than a hotel. Both my wife were treated with respect and courtesy by the entire staff. We will be back again. Thanks State Plaza team!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Rob D,

Thank you so much for such a nice review. I am delighted to learn that you had a great experience at our hotel and found our location to be easily accessible and near all the important sites. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were surprised by just how nice the State Plaza really is, which made it an even bigger value. Huge updated room, great bed, linens and shower, warm and helpful staff, in-house restaurant with well-prepared, reasonably priced dishes. The location is WONDERFUL -- GWU neighborhood, easy 7-8 minute walk to the metro station, restaurants and a Whole Foods, 15-minute walk to the Lincoln Memorial, easy walk to the White House. The daily bottles of water were such a nice touch.
Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Room 621 is a corner room -- great window light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cherylburnside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Cheryl B,

We are so happy to have read your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel from our spacious newly renovated rooms to our warm and helpful staff. We are very proud of your high recommendation and we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to the nation’s capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spacious, well appointed room with a charming bathroom and lovely amenities. Great location. Clean and comfortable. Was initially offered a room on ground floor which was not to my liking as it was close to meeting rooms clearly set up for use later that evening and was offered another room on a higher floor immediately. Has the feel of a boutique hotel. Pleasant neighborhood with interesting restaurant choices.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tampatrraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Tampatrraveler,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that our great location and spacious rooms were a good fit for you. We appreciate you choosing the State Plaza and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

State Plaza Hotel dates back to the early 1950s. The only sign of age now is an elevator slow as molasses. All other features are definite signs of comfort. The staff was incredible. There is even a doorman! Any questions we had about the area were immediately answered, some came complete with maps. The hotel is a mere 6 blocks from the White House. We walked everywhere. This was a wonderful place to stay while in DC. It is conveniently located to stores, attractions and restaurants, including one in the hotel.

Room Tip: Make your reservations early. This is a popular hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Daruth,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is always great to hear such positive comments regarding our hotel and associates within it. Our team works very hard to ensure that our guests feel comfortable and it is nice to know that their hard work is being noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Washington D.C.!

Best Regards,


Declan Kealy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#35 of 142 in Washington DC
2,187 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
517 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
2,691 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#53 of 142 in Washington DC
509 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#31 of 142 in Washington DC
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £92 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek and sophisticated, with impeccable service, the all-suite State Plaza Hotel offers a new standard of comfort to visitors to our nation's capital. These downtown Washington DC hotel suites provide spacious lodging in a fashionable, convenient setting, adjacent to George Washington University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing