We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #95 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The Capital Hilton is well located within a short walk to the White House - perfect to use as a base for sight-seeing activities.

Rooms were clean and service was normally prompt (we did experience a few times that the front desk wouldn't answer phone calls). The room we were given didn't have a view, but was very spacious and well designed. They appear to have been relatively recently refurbished, so were modern and well fitted out.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieMark95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,682 - 2,688 of 3,153 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed here in May- fantastic location ( one block from the White House), great rooms ( albeit a little small) and out of this world breakfast ( especially the omelette station).
This hotel had a nice, friendly vibe- I would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We spent the weekend here for a family event - and this hotel has not one redeeming quality. The parking for starters was full - at $42 a night - but the garage 25 feet away is $17. The elevators are the slowest things ever. We waited 15 minutes each time we wanted to come down from our room. But the worst part is the staff at the restaurant. 1- they are not properly trained - and there restaurant manager speaks very little english. We were with a group of people that the manager refused to serve - for no apparent reason - he claimed we were falling down drunk and underage - when they youngest person in the group was 30+ (and showed ID) and no one had more then 2 drinks prior to arriving at the bar!!! The manager had no idea how to handle the situation and instead of saying he made a mistake - he called hotel security. We then proceeded to the St. Regis hotel (right around the corner) where they were more then happy to serve us food and drinks. I asked the restaurant manager for a card so i could contact hilton directly - and he wrote his name down on a piece of paper. For $225 a night - i expect more. I have called the GM of the hotel - i will update accordingly should it be addressed properly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Fantastic location, but NOISY!

I was here for a three night stay for business. Walls and doors are paper thin! Many disruptions throughtout the stay. Small rooms, decently appointed.

Had plenty of hot water, but had no bathmat or washcloths for first two nights. Fees for internet in rooms, though free in lobby... when we pay this much for rooms, internet should be included! Front desk staff was difficult and unpleasant, but some of the best doormen I've encountered in the city.

My recommendation: spend a little more and stay at a hotel that has good service with decent ammenities. I will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyupnorth03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Excellent location, large and well appointed room. Parking very expensive but lots of much cheaper public parking places around (but many of which seem to be closed at weekends- beware!).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed recently at the Capital Hilton and enjoyed our stay very much. The response from the desk clerk was excellent - the room, while rather small, was well- appointed and we very much enjoyed the breakfast buffet both mornings.
The location is excellent to the White House - an easy walk as well as to Dupont Circle. The Mall is a bit of a hike but the metro is just a block away.
If our travels take us back to DC, we will definitely stay at the Capital Hilton again!

Room Tip: The room was well-appointed but rather small. The bed was excellent and the room and bath were imma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I enjoyed my stay very much. The lobby has a traditional style, but the room appeared updated and was very comfortable. You can't find a better location for sight-seeing: near the metro, mall, and White House. We found a great deal on Hotwire, which made it even better.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#55 of 142 in Washington DC
929 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 142 in Washington DC
1,295 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £83 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing