We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location”
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #94 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Marysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“nice location”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed there for a conference that I attended in DC. The location is what it is about. Very close to everything. The accomodations are nice however the housekeeping was below what I consider top of the line. There were hairs in the bathroom from the previous occupant. The cleanliness could use a bit of improvement. Other than that, I was ok with the place and would consider returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahoorfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    1,106
    550
    223
    104
See reviews for
703
638
131
1,140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Great location. Walk to White House in 5 mins, and downtown DC is just around the corner. But the service and amenities is just average. The hotel doesn't offer bath foam. They take ages to answer a call when I had a query. Can also hear what's going on next door. Too so good service for the price you pay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Capital Hilton on K street, 2 blocks form the White House.
We liked the great location to walk down around the White House and the Washington monument.
We felt relatively safe walking around at all times.
The staff were all professional and courteous in our dealings with them.

The rooms were average size and very clean but our room did smell like mildew and I'm sensitive to any smells but I didn't ask to change rooms because the location seemed good.

We requested a room facing the main street as we saw recommended on Trip Advisor.
We had a great night sleep in the beds and the city noise didn't bother us at all (we were on the 6th floor)

We did miss not having a small refrigerator in the room and also a coffee maker...would have loved that! But I think the more expensive hotels tend not to have that service.

We would recommend if you have AT and T internet at home, to make sure you bring your user name and password because you can use that in the hotel and not have to pay the daily internet fee.

Tonight I walked by a garage 1/2 block away called K and L on K
street which the attendant said was 25.00 per day (overnight) I'm not sure if you can go in and out but alot less than the 46.00/valet hotel parking.

We had lunch at PJ Clarkes located diagonally across the street that we saw recommended in another Trip Advisor review and loved it.

Another fun place to eat and stroll was the Georgetown Wharf area where there are several restaurants with outdoor seating.

Don't bring any food or water on any of the tours of the capital or white house, they make you throw it out, even if it's not opened.

Room Tip: higher floor and facing street and the usual (not near any electrical rooms/vending machines/ice mac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M200789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We are frequent Hilton guests, get to see a variety of their properties, and have come to learn that some of their properties are getting old. It's a nice old, for the most part. My hangup is a bathroom in which mold is found along the grout lines where the tub meets the wall. My other complaint is when the bathroom door shows water damage. Is that silly? I don't know, but I just hold Hilton to a higher standard. Having said that, yes, the location is great. Walk out the front door, look to your left, and there is the White House. That's cool. Oh, and the executive lounge provides continental breakfast? Really? Yes. Okay, well then get the coffee right! Get the fruit right! The staff were efficient and helpful. A plus. The beds? A plus. The location is great, but there are other high-end hotels with better location, so maybe it's worth a few minutes of your time to look for alternatives. Room 799, where we stayed, a corner room, has a view of a wall on one side and a wall on the other side.

Room Tip: Specify a street-side location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamogordo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My wife and I stayed in Washington for 4 days. We were able to get these accommodations rather affordable through American Airlines. The biggest plus for us is that it was conveniently located near two metro locations. (farragut North red line and McPhearson Blue line). This made it easy for us to see the sites.

The hotel itself was adequate, it was clean and friendly. Our room was small and had one queen size bed. The room had a nice TV and a coffee Maker. The Hotel itself; no swimming pool and the restaurant was closed. We did order dessert from the bar and it was quite good. We paid 30 dollars for carrot cake, apple pie and two coffees. After that we decided to eat at other locations.

We are on a fixed income and this place was comparably one of the most affordable.

Final analysis, we would stay here again because of convenience, access to the metro, and in a safe location. Our disappointments was the fluff. For the price and location I give it an over all vg.

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor and overall it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Arrived after a long trip up on the train from Charleston, efficient check in and then to our room a little disappointing in size and looking a little tired around the corners. Dinner is now served at the bar which is okay but a very bossy server, good pork chop inedible asparagus.

Redeemed itself with a very good choice at breakfast and excellent service, overall a good location but tired rooms and variable service.

,

Room Tip: No idea but rooms on front last year was a much better deal than this year which was hidden in a rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imane-Bennani, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the condition of our property. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Great hotel, nice walk to many restaurants, bars, and short walk to White House. I recomend this hotel if you are staying in DC. The rooms are clean and the staff is amazing. Love the bar area expecially since it has free WIFI. Conference areas are roomy and comfortable. I gym is nice but was able to use this visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#54 of 141 in Washington DC
820 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
727 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036-5794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing