We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capital Hilton”
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #93 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Capital Hilton”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

nice hotel ; great location ; some hall noise in mornings; staff very helpful ; room was a little hot one night and air would not come on. I was told the outside cool air kept the room air from engaging ?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your comments and observations while you were with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    1,094
    539
    220
    98
See reviews for
692
625
128
1,122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The friendly staff arranged for our early check-in (after an all night red-eye flight) and we had a room waiting for us with a nice view of the the area in front of the hotel. I think our window is in the photo shown with the hotel name. This was a very short business stay and everything was smooth from beginning to a seamless check out. Most of all, every staff member, from doorman to bartender, was terrific and professional. We would stay there again without any hesitation. HOWEVER, it was odd to us that nobody knew how to make a Spanish Coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanieandWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I chanced upon a really good rate for this property and took it having read the good reviews. Hilton does not disappoint. It's probably not as new as others, nevertheless, the rooms are clean and spacious, with nice amenities, and friendly staff (front desk, housekeeping, bell desk). I was fortunate to have been given a corner room so I had a good view of 16th Avenue. The hotel is also around the corner from Starbucks, two blocks (about) from the back of the White House, about a block a half from the National Geographic Society, and near CVS (the 24-hour CVS though is about 2.5 blocks away). What is also convenient about this hotel is its accessibility to the Metro's Red, Blue, and Orange lines. I took the Metro to and from Washington National Airport and took just one train to the McPherson Square station.
Just a quick note, for those of you who need a refrigerator, they didn't have one in my room but you can request one to be set up in yours during your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if you can get the same. And on the higher floors too. Quite far from the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Could not fault this hotel. Arrived after a very long drive with my family on a busy Friday evening. My vehicle was valet parked with no fuss. I am silver HiltonHonors and was offered complimentary breakfast and complimentary wifi in room. We had room 419 which was very spacious, very clean, comfy beds. Staff were very helpful and hotel was only a 5 min walk from the White House which we strolled to as a family. We had a meal together in the hotel bar area which was excellent, staff prepared my daughter a pasta meal (not on menu) with no fuss whatsoever. Left at 4am and valet parking ensured our vehicle was waiting for us at the hotel lobby. Would definitely stop at this lovely hotel again. One of the very best hotels in North America in my opinion.

Room Tip: Think all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for the outstanding TripAdvisor review. Your gracious comments certainly made our day. We are delighted that our convenient location, room accommodation and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We look forward to hosting you again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We found the Capital Hilton to be a well located and very comfortable Hotel The Service was excellent, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The room, a Deluxe King, was very spacious and the bed excellent. Everything was very clean. The bedroom was well finished and appointed. The heating/cooling worked perfectly, but was a little noisy. My only negatives were: The shower didn't get hot enough during peak periods, fine other times. They charge $15 to use the Gym, which is unacceptable. I ran around the block. Parking is valet only at $45/day, but that is normal in the inner city. We got the parking/breakfast package which was good value. There are no nearby restaurants, so we used the bar. The staff and the food was excellent and surprisingly well priced. There was no coffee/tea making and there were not even any cups, except paper ones. We bought our own. Unacceptable. Except for a couple of minor niggles, we were very happy at the Hilton.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank osspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nation's Capital. We appreciate your comments and also, we would like to inform you that we do have complimentary coffee in the rooms; the coffee maker is in the cabinet where the Television is. We hope to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Capital Hilton is within walking distance to the White House. The Staff is professional, helpful and caring. I can't think of a better hotel to stay at in D. C. You won't be disappointed! Conceirge provided excellent restaurant suggestions and tour information.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nation's Capital. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our family enjoyed a wonderful 3 night stay at the Capitol Hilton. Frank Poku greeted us upon check-in and was an outstanding front desk agent. We appreciated the courtesy and helpfulness.
Great hotel with wonderful accommodations and super location. We will definitely stay here if we return to the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#60 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036-5794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing