We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #99 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The location can't be beat--it's close to major tourists sights, three Metro stations--and the service is also very good. My only complaint about the room is that the entrance is extremely cramped--but that's a relatively minor gripe.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueDKruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to note that our location worked well for your visit in Washington DC. We hope to have a future opportunity to host you here in Washington DC.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,072 - 2,078 of 3,247 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

We booked this hotel as referred by a friend of us but we were overwhelmed with the way Frank assisted us, right from check in to all the basic help we needed in terms of planning our sight seeing trips, local commute on metro and the museums that has better proximity from the hotel.

We were booked in this hotel for three nights and glad with the services of the the people in the front office and Frank has taken special care of us to make our stay delightful. We got a good room. My husband was very fascinated by Frank's assistance... Directed us to good hotels to have dinner. Overall we enjoyed our thanksgiving holidays and got good picture of Washington DC. The gym looks very interesting although we have not visited it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff, but nothing could make us happier than to hear great compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Best of service from all staff especially front reception staff . Frank Poku in particular
Was extremely knowledgable and helped with local directions etc. very comfortable room
And pleasant staff even when we needed assistance after mid laying keys to suitcases!

Room Tip: Upper floor room but avoid direct view of intersection. Police cars have sirens on no matter what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Having visited Washington DC twice before and used the Metro to get in from Virginia this was the first time I stayed so close to the major sites – only three blocks north of the White House. It seemed expensive for Brits but this trip was my grandson’s early 21st birthday present so I splashed out. Was it worth it? Well, I discovered that we’d been upgraded to a junior suite and it was splendid. Well equipped with two giant TVs (one in a small sitting room and the other in the bedroom) with a study desk area too. The hotel is a bit characterless on the outside but wears its ‘history’ well and has a good display in the airy foyer to explain the construction and development of the building. Spotlessly clean and with very considerate staff – especially at breakfast - it started off the seven-state holiday very well. Breakfasts were among the best I have ever had in the thirty-three States I have visited so far. A very wide selection of cereals, fruit and breads and almost every hot food you might require in the morning – much of it cooked in front of you by efficient chefs. Highly recommended for sightseeing unless on a budget.

Room Tip: In a city like Washington DC the lack of view proved not to be an impediment as so little time was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EximiousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel just seemed tired. The lobby and public areas were plain and in many aspect old-looking. The room was small and outdated too. I expected more for the rate and it being a Hilton and especially its location as the lead Hilton property in DC. The people were nice, it was clean and comfortable but just overall ok.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Gatoraggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed here for only one night.
Check in was fast and easy. The front desk staff was very attentive.
Room was large and clean. Plenty of storage space if needed.
King size bed was comfortable and sheets were not like paper.
Toiletries were excellent and plenty of hot water.
Check out was simple through TV. Receipt of charges was slipped under the door waiting for me in the AM.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvmybasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for the outstanding TripAdvisor review. It makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that found our room to be clean and comfortable. We look forward for the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

efficient, clean and welcome -good space for meetings good quality of food at meeting breakfast and lunch rooms quiet and accommodating beds very comfortable lobby bar good place to network and talk would recommend for other meeting as good venue

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Capital Hilton and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to hear that our convenient location, room accommodation and breakfast were a plus factor during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Nation’s Capital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#106 of 141 in Washington DC
4,049 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,393 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036-5794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £80 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing