We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hotel”
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #93 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ok Hotel”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I think there are better choices in the Washington area, the executive lounge is small and outdated, breakfast was ok but nothing special by any means. Location was great, in walking distance to the metro station. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    1,092
    538
    220
    98
See reviews for
690
625
128
1,121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Doubl queen bed room, which was sufficient for the 3 of us. The Hotel is nicely appointed within walking distance to the White House and several restaurants.The subway was close as well,handy to visit the Museums. It was cold, raining and dark on arrival. We welcomed the nice room, unfortunately it only had views over a roof with air conditioning ducts which were noisy.
No courtesy umbrellas were available initially,eventually we shared one they could find.
Breakfast was nice enough and included in our rate , which we had booked via a wholesaler.
Check In and out were efficient. Unfortunately free internet was only available in the lobby.
Staff were polite but certainly did not go out of their way to be helpful,which we found was unlike most of the other places in the US we have visited.
Having said that, there was nothing wrong with the hotel itself, apart from a room in the ugly part of it, where we could not really see sunlight.

Room Tip: Tryto obtains room with more than hotel roof views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug21stC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a deluxe king and we got a small queen room. We had arrived a day earlier than planned and asked if we could book the same room for both days. The concierge said it would be no problem, but she gave us a queen. She was misleading and we got ripped off in terms of room and parking. We were told the Hilton valet parking was a better deal than local parking garages. As visitors from out of state, we took her word and got valet parking for $47.20/day. Later we found out local garage parking goes for about $12/day.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank qotsagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
First of all, Thank you for your review regarding your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including areas of opportunity. Our front desk department goes through a lengthy process each day to ensure that our guests receive exactly the room expected, however at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. Again, we apologize for all of the inconveniences and we do hope that the next time you travel to the area you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We routed through DC on our way to Louisiana for a family wedding so we could meet friends in DC. Chose the Capital Hilton because it was only a few blocks to the Whitehoiuse and Capital Building. The hotel treated us very well. The rooms were large and clean. The guy in the bar where we had snacks was very firendly. The people in the restauarnt where we had breakfast were friendly and talked to us about their experiences in the UK and other countries. They were good to our young daughter and entertained her during breakfast. Prices were resonable. Exchange rates were also good. When we go to DC again we will be sure to return to the Hilton. All in all they set up our visit very well

Room Tip: Book well in advance. Join the hiltonhonors club online and get even good rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff, but nothing could make us happier than to hear great compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

I spent here two nights for an international conference. It was great. The elevators are fast! The food was delicious and the location is great. Just two blocks away from White House. The only weird thing was that there was no fridge or minibar in my room. The floors have vending machines free ice machines. It was sure a great experience to stay there and explore the capital.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hasan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and want you to know that we do have refrigerators available upon request, and at no charge. We will be happy to deliver one to your room. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome and serve you at the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Hotel service and rooms were fantastic. Desk staff and bell staff were ready to serve enthusiastically. Watch for the bar area, however. There seemed to be less team cohesiveness on the food and beverage side of the house as you could tell there was tension from the server and the bar tender, often vocal and the food and beverage service manager on duty didn't seem to think it was a problem when addressed to him. Otherwise, it is a great facility and close to all attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stanley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank for you for your posting. We always appreciate candid feedback from all of our guests, and we will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management. We look forward to having you back in the future. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We had many places where we could have spent our anniversary at but we picked D.C we were unsure of where to stay but stumbled upon capital hilton on the web and saw it had pretty good reviews. Let me start off by saying our stay was more then we ever expected. I asked for an upgrade and did not expect that much of an upgrade we got passes to the executive lounge for breakfast every morning (toast hard boiled eggs, cereal, muffins juice yogurt fruit etc) and drinks throughout the day (non-alcoholic) We were in room 756 which first off is HUGE and faces 16th st. We couldn't see directly to the white house but that didn't even matter because the accommodations were stupendous ! We got to wake up and open up our shades to beautiful white falling snow which we do not have here in Florida so that was definitely a treat. Our housekeeper Hong was so sweet and friendly and made our stay just that much more pleasant ! She definitely deserved a HUGE tip she cleaned our room everyday and when i say clean it was spotless !!! Felt great to know we could just go downstairs and catch a cab or metro or walk. Everything was so close in distance but we did take the cab often only because we were there during a pretty cold time and us Floridian's are not used to that cold climate ! We walked from the capital building back to the hotel and i don't recommend it in the winter (about 2 miles or so) however had it been warmer outside it would have been a breeze! But there were some times when we walked to took the train or to eat, if you love Starbucks don't worry they literally have one every corner ! Cab ride from Reagan airport was about 15$ plus tip so not bad at all. Front Desk was very friendly and they had a beautiful tree on display in the lobby which just made it feel so much more like the holidays for us. Overall if you are looking for a place to stay in D.C then capital Hilton is the way to go !

I think the ONLY negative thing i could say was it did get a bit hot throughout the night about 80 degrees according to the thermostat in the room, could not adjust the AC due to the HVAC but it was an easy fix by just opening up the windows ! So that did not bother us at all.

Room Tip: Call in advance and Ask for an upgrade of some sort especially if you are celebrating something spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandyy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for the outstanding TripAdvisor review. Your gracious comments certainly made our day. We are delighted that our convenient location, room accommodation and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff but nothing could make us happier than to hear great compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#60 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036-5794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing