We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good and the disappointing...”
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #98 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just returned from Washington, D.C., where we stayed at the Capital Hilton. Nice room with a comfortable bed. Very nice breakfast buffet and a really good dinner in the lounge. Great service from waiter and bartender. Ok, now the disappointments...price has gone up about $100 since our last stay a few months ago; thermostat and room temperature all out of whack...said 76 but felt like 65 with cold air blowing out of the registers; no magazines in the room; no morning newspaper; pretty crummy executive lounge; although the guest book says the restaurant is open for dinner, it's not. It closes at 2 p.m. Tried calling to get our car, 7 times, I think, no answer. Ugh. Need to find another place to stay when there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEHPIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,947 - 1,953 of 3,205 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel was very close to all of the wonderful monuments and smithsonians in DC. Loved the lobby and staff. The staff were all very accomodating and friendly. I wished we had a better view from our room as it was just looking out on to center of other rooms, but that is no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is in a great location, just a couple blocks from the White House. Staff and accommodations were great. I had 3 nights of excellent sleep as my room was very quiet (except for outside street noise) and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Attended a conference held at the hotel. My stay was pleasant, comfortable and satisfying. I had read some poor reviews, but my experience was quite positive. I think management may have taken some of those negative reviews to heart.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Hotel poplicies include non-negotiable fees for early arrival/let departure. Free wifi in the lobby, but they don't tell you that if you call from your room; they just advise you to charge $15/day to your room for wifi. My particular room overlooked a maintenance yard that was very noisy in the middle of the night. Room smelled a bit. Good quality pillows (trying to think of nice things to say).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We're very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are sorry for all of the inconveniences you experienced during your time with us. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience and your review will help us do that. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider giving us another chance.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at the Capital Hilton for a family wedding. A couple of days before our stay we had to cancel due to a health issue with my wife. At the last minute, my wife wanted to make the trip. When we arrived the staff honored our original reservation and rate. They even gave us a corner room that had extra space in the room! The hotel itself is in a great location, just 2 or 3 blocks from the White House and Metro stops.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khsu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located in downtown DC. Room was spacious, modern and in great shape. Loved the co-located upscale Mint gym though beware- entry costs $15 unless you're an Hhonrs member of silver level or higher

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank FrequentTraveler2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#104 of 141 in Washington DC
4,014 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036-5794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £75 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing